BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 734 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(372)

4 Star

(199)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Sense and Sensibility

In Jane Austen¿s Sense and Sensibility, the classic tale of love and its consequences is told through the lives of the young and beautiful Dashwood sisters. Marianne, an imprudent and impulsive young lady, immediately falls in love with the handsome, yet unpredictable M...
In Jane Austen¿s Sense and Sensibility, the classic tale of love and its consequences is told through the lives of the young and beautiful Dashwood sisters. Marianne, an imprudent and impulsive young lady, immediately falls in love with the handsome, yet unpredictable Mr. Willoughby, scandalously displaying her affection for him. Elinor, although always reserved and collected, also falls in love, but unlike her sister, keeps her affection for her admirer concealed even from those she dearly loves. Through the opposite characterization of the two main characters, Austen criticizes the folly of not leading a balanced lifestyle, whether it is cold and distant or spontaneous and brash. The novel also depicts the troubles caused by love in a society where wealth and social standing are top priorities. Through a variety of characters ranging from a frantic, gluttonous sister, to a humble and kind colonel, Austen condemns the social institutions of her time that encouraged the priority of wealth and status when forming an opinion of a person. Throughout the novel, readers are hooked, held in suspense as they eagerly await to discover the results of the Dashwoods¿ adventures with love. Humorous, heartbreaking, and humbling, Austen combines lessons of life, love, and society defining Sense and Sensibility as a classic.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sense and Sensibility

This is the 2nd book that I have read from the B&N Classic list, but the first Jane Austin book. Some people have told me that her writing style is difficult to read, but I found that I had no problems. It is a classic tale of love and pain. I find it surreal that peopl...
This is the 2nd book that I have read from the B&N Classic list, but the first Jane Austin book. Some people have told me that her writing style is difficult to read, but I found that I had no problems. It is a classic tale of love and pain. I find it surreal that people fall in love so quickely! Or maybe the book doesn't give an accurate interpretation of the timeline. It is neither hear nor there, I actually enjoyed the first Austin novel and looking forward to the next one on the B&N list. I am curious to find out if all of her novels are about the trials of love or is there a surprise in store for me?!?!? I am a firm believer in the classics always being a perk in any book club, but reality is that I believe this is a wonderful book for a raining day, curl up with a warm blanket and a cup of hot cocoa:)
Stay tuned for my next book review from the classic list: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

posted by Bookjunkie40 on February 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sense and Sensibility

    This is the 2nd book that I have read from the B&N Classic list, but the first Jane Austin book. Some people have told me that her writing style is difficult to read, but I found that I had no problems. It is a classic tale of love and pain. I find it surreal that people fall in love so quickely! Or maybe the book doesn't give an accurate interpretation of the timeline. It is neither hear nor there, I actually enjoyed the first Austin novel and looking forward to the next one on the B&N list. I am curious to find out if all of her novels are about the trials of love or is there a surprise in store for me?!?!? I am a firm believer in the classics always being a perk in any book club, but reality is that I believe this is a wonderful book for a raining day, curl up with a warm blanket and a cup of hot cocoa:)
    Stay tuned for my next book review from the classic list: The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Sense and Sensibility

    This was not one of Jane Austen's best works. It was fairly enjoyable, but the other novels were so much better. The story was very slow. The best parts were the last few chapters. I did like how Elinor became more passionate, and Marianne became more sensible. The love story was very good, but hardly worth the tedious pages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Hello everyone!!

    It's Jessica stan. I don't know if you have heard of me but I post reviews about stoping bullying. Please stop bullying you know who you are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sense... .was there any?

    I read this book with great expections of story that would educate me on the history of the time while telling a beautiful love story. It did educate me, and at times I was completely captivated in the story. Marianne's fall out with Willoughby was one of those occasions, and while reading the chapter describing it, it was hard to hold back tears and relate her feelings to my past relationships.
    With all that sad, I became frustrated with Mariannes character, and grew to deeply respect the character of Elinor. The ending of the story caused me EXTREME frustration because I felt that Marianne did not deserve such a happy ending, and Elinor was superior to the ending she recieved.
    Overall, decent but I don't think it was a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Not Austen's best but good

    It wasn't as exciting as Pride and Prejudice but interesting enough that I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Girlie book - great read

    I think it is a must read for all young ladies, even now. The actions of all the women in it can be applied to today's women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So

    After reading this book, I have realized the importance of DIALOGUE in a story. The story was interesting, but got slow at times, because Austen concentrated too much on descriptions. I didn't bother finishing the ending. The last 30 pages felt like I had 100 more to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Austen is always good for a read

    One of the reasons I love Jane Austen's books is her characters. I always feel as if they were based on actual people she's met or known. Best of all is the way she puts all their faults and idiosyncrasies before us without being mean about it. Case in point is the contrasts between Mrs. Jennings, her daughters and their husbands personalities. I was amused by their behavior and attitudes but I also feel a certain affection for them. That, I believe is because its the way the author feels about them.

    Of all the characters though, the one I identify with most is Elinor. In part, because I see some of myself in her. But mostly because I'm seeing the story unfold from Elinor's eyes and so understand her thoughts, reasoning and feelings.

    Inevitably, certain similarities in the characters will bring up comparisons with Pride and Prejudice. The Dashwood sisters at times reminds me of Jane and Elizabeth Bennet. Mr. Palmer's behavior seems to arise from the same malady as Mr. Bennet. Younger sisters in both tales are silly though the Dashwood sisters appears to have drawn the better lot. In the end, Pride and Prejudice remains my favorite because it has both a better storyline and far more interesting main characters. This doesn't mean that Sense and Sensibility is bad, just that its not as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Somewhat enjoyable, but not enthralling

    I very much enjoy reading historical fiction. I like to read literary classics every so often, but usually find them rather dull. Sense and Sensibility was one such novel. There was very little depth to the plot. I did enjoy reading the views of the sisters and the contrast between their personalities however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Potentially a Brilliant Read

    I believe, the reason I rated this book so low, was because I expected a lot more than what was produced. I was eager to read this book, after I had finished Pride and Prejudice with high spirits. Though the plot was semi-pleasing the overall picture of it was quite disappointing. I expected more. Pride and Prejudice was a briliant piece of work. Perhaps my criticism stems from the ending not pleasing my hopless romantic scope, that Pride and Prejudice fitted. This was more of a reality book, fitting how real life doesn't always have happy endings that fit what one wants. All in all, it was pleasant. Some parts more interesting than others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4