Customer Reviews for

Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

HAHA to the person who gave this 1 star

the whole point of this is to have a good laugh. if you are going to read this to get the "romanticism" of real jane austen books youre in the wrong place. go read a jane austen book. if you want a fun mish mash and love sea monsters and tentacles like h.p. lovecraft an...
the whole point of this is to have a good laugh. if you are going to read this to get the "romanticism" of real jane austen books youre in the wrong place. go read a jane austen book. if you want a fun mish mash and love sea monsters and tentacles like h.p. lovecraft and the rest of us, this is going to be awesome.

posted by 1619661 on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

intriguing

Firstly, for all those complaining that this book "ruins the romance" of a J.A. novel, it's important to remember that Austen did not intend for any of her works to be romances. Sure, there's romance in them, but they are NOT romances. If you want that, go read the Bron...
Firstly, for all those complaining that this book "ruins the romance" of a J.A. novel, it's important to remember that Austen did not intend for any of her works to be romances. Sure, there's romance in them, but they are NOT romances. If you want that, go read the Bronte sisters. Austen was more a commentator on society - she watched those around her, added in some satire and wrote her lovely novels. So, even though we have no idea what she would think of this and P&P&Z, I'd like to think she would view it as a product of the times, and not an insult to her work. What I hope these books do is turn readers on to her actual works. I was introduced to Austen via Emma Thompson's S&S movie. After I watched it, I wanted to read all of the Austen I could. Maybe it takes sea monsters and zombies to get readers interested in the original herself. And if that works, then I'm all for it.

posted by ABitBookish on September 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    HAHA to the person who gave this 1 star

    the whole point of this is to have a good laugh. if you are going to read this to get the "romanticism" of real jane austen books youre in the wrong place. go read a jane austen book. if you want a fun mish mash and love sea monsters and tentacles like h.p. lovecraft and the rest of us, this is going to be awesome.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't you take a joke?

    Come on, folks, it's supposed to be funny. Juxtaposing hideous monsters with quality literature is a good time (or would be, if some people didn't take it so terribly, terribly seriously)! It's OK to laugh at the things we love. Really. Laughing at the immortal Jane Austen doesn't hurt the quality of her books. They're still awesome. They're still comedies (or did you all forget that?). These books aren't meant to be a literary challenge. This isn't Wilkie Collins versus Charles Dickens. It's a joke, guys! It just has zombies and sea monsters as well as annoying socialites and shallow relations.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    J

    Ela u here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    hahaha i loved pride and prejudice and zombies! anyone who think

    hahaha i loved pride and prejudice and zombies! anyone who thinks these are books by Jane Austen then look for her books! sense and sensibility and sea monsters has NOTHING in common with Sense and Sensibility except for the name! Buy this book because it is hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    The Best of the "New" Austen Novels

    Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters / 978-1-594-74465-5 I never got around to reading "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" (by the same publisher, but a different author than this novel), but I found the idea delightful and when "Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters" came out, I knew I had to take the plunge. "Sense and Sensibility" being, of course, my favorite Austen novel, I was looking forward to re-reading a classic and seeing a touch of sea monster fun and humor thrown in. Make no mistake about it: this book is delightfully funny. The superb Jane Austen prose is all here, but set in such a world where sea monster attacks are brutally common. The exquisite and seamless weaving of this tale (it is truly difficult to separate out the Jane Austen writing from Ben Winters', so thoroughly has he mimicked her style), will lead to a deeply humorous rendition of Austen's high society - where fatalities at beach dinner-parties are a common occurrence and it is the highest breech of manners for a gentleman or lady to acknowledge the death throes of a mere servant, trailing the water behind their pleasure boat. Certain scenes, such as Miss Steele's confession to Elinor Dashwood, are immeasurably enhanced by a concurrent attack on the boat by a vicious sea serpent, and Marianne's rescue by Willoughby is heightened greatly by the addition of an angry octopus. What I did not expect, however, was just how good the story would be. Rather than make a Jane Austen book with throw-away sea monster jokes, Winters has written a complex and fascinating science fiction sub-plot within the Austen narrative. Though the book is hilarious from front to finish, I found myself laughing out loud less and less because I was more and more drawn into the actual story and I didn't want to waste a moment, even to laugh, before turning the next page. These additions are so superb and true to Austen's original characters - such as Elinor's brave stand against pirates whilst Marianne languishes ill below - that it is difficult to imagine that she would be any less delighted with this novel than I. If you like Jane Austen and enjoy a touch of morbid humor interlaced with hoity-toity upper-crust social commentary, check out "Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters" - you'll come for the sea monsters, but I wager you'll stay for the story and become as swept away as I was. ~ Ana Mardoll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such A Fun Read!

    Quirk Classics has done it again! I absolutely adored "Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters"! I wondered if the blend of classic with humor would not be as good this time around, but it was even better than "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies". I found that the storyline flowed much more smoothly, with no sudden appearances of monsters that felt like they were just stuck in the story as fillers. The characters were fun and I found myself cheering some on while wanting to see others be eaten by sea creatures. There, of course, was a bit of blood and gore and the humor was dark and really quite funny. Sadly, the book ended much too soon, as I really enjoyed reading "Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters". I hope Quirk has plans for more of these in the near future.

    If you haven't read this book yet, please add it to your must reads. It is a nice fun read that will certainly perk up those winter doldrums!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2009

    Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

    What happens when you combine a Regency romance with a science fiction book? The outcome surely must be similar to Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. I had a fantastic time reading this book. It has all the romance you would expect in a Regency story but is coupled with giant lobsters, pirates and hideous monsters.

    This is the story of the Dashwood sisters who are sent to live in a mysterious island. The island is plagued by all variety of sea monsters and strange creatures. During the course of the story, both sisters fall in love in true Regency style and are menaced by all sorts of sea monsters and of course that leads to being rescued by handsome men.

    This book is truly hilarious and is a fantastic combination of a classic novel and a comedy. Not only did I enjoy it, as soon as my sixteen year old daughter saw it she pronounced that several of her friends had read it and enjoyed it and the book was hers when I was done with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent fusion.

    I loved the story of Sense and Sensibility. Some reviewers are probably mad because the creators of this book "violated" Austen's work. Don't take them seriously. If you take Austen way too seriously, steer clear of this book. If you want to laugh and have a good time reading what is, otherwise, a fairly dry book, then pick this up. The book seamlessly blends Austen's classic story with a sea monster sub-plot without sacrificing the characters' integrity. This book was better written than Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. All in all, I greatly enjoyed this book and look forward to future books from Quirk Classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2