Customer Reviews for

Sensei (Connor Burke Martial Arts Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The characters and plot were well thought out and written. I would highly recommend it. I wish his other Conner Burke novels were available on the Nook, I would buy them in a second!

posted by readerJo on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Asian Fight Fans

If you enjoy all the aspects of the far east martial arts, this book is for you.

posted by 1811808 on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Excellent read

    The characters and plot were well thought out and written. I would highly recommend it. I wish his other Conner Burke novels were available on the Nook, I would buy them in a second!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    for thrillers readers.....go for it!

    if you like mistery, oriental martial arts and a good plot, this book is for you, and it´s worthwhile to have.
    Enjoy it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Asian Fight Fans

    If you enjoy all the aspects of the far east martial arts, this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    perfect for all ages

    I loved this book with a passion. You will be glad you read this book if you have got it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Great reading

    Connor Burke was a college teacher with a passion for the martial arts. His brother, Micky, was an NYPD detective on a murder case and asked for his help. Someone calling himself 'Ronin' was murdering Masters of the martial arts in America. Connor and his sensei began following the killer's trail only to find it all went further than anyone had ever expected. .......... **** Author John Donohue knows his stuff! This is a suspense filled story that tackles a field that is seldom seen in a thriller novel, the world of martial arts. .......... The author was able to teach me SO MUCH about the culture without me even realizing I was learning. Those, like myself, who know very little about this topic will NOT be hindered. The story flows evenly and all is spelled out so you can easily understand. For those of you, like my husband, who DO know the topic, do not worry. The author does not insult your intelligence. You are likely to find yourself nodding while you read. However, the author does not write unnecessary details so you will not feel the need to begin skimming pages. Recommended reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    well thought out

    character development was very good and the story was solid. The build up to the excitement was captivating and it didn't let down when the action occurred.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    It was ok

    I didn't hold much interest to me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Awful

    I didn't make it very far before dumping this free book. It wasn't even worth the free download.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! ! ! I love how the book teaches us gaiji

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! ! !
    I love how the book teaches us gaijin a little bit about martial arts stuff. I love the sudent/sensei relationship. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great read

    Well crafted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great job! A must-have for a martial artist!

    I had to finish once I got started. Author makes you really feel the values of tradition and respect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Good read

    As a martial artist enjoyed the combination of the crime story and the martial arts without any cheesy fight scenes. Cannot wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Very Good

    Very good storyline which I enjoyed, my only criticism is that the content could have been beefed-up a bit more to make it a longer read which in turn would have made it more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    highly recommend

    The author delved into a culture through the martial arts and explained a lot of the personality of the Japanese culture. The plot was interesting and the characters real. It is an interesting mystery and I enjoyed reading it. And the use of the English language and not four letter words was wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Worth Reading

    Enjoyed this book - think many others will as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Worth the time

    A really good read. Once you pick it up, you won't want to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Awesome book

    Story is as only a first class writer could do. Beautiful and enlightning as the Oriental way of beliefs and life are shown. Must READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I really enjoyed this book. Lots of action. Lots of character development, especially for the main character. I would enjoy reading sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Anon

    Excellent story. Well written and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just missing that "something"..

    Perhaps it's the predictability of the storyline as it moves on (any good reader sees the hook coming very early into the story) that keeps this book, which is otherwise well written, from being anything more than a "perfect average".

    It's a solid action-crime book (heck, you could call it a very good book-noir style of writing), but it's just not a 4 or 5 star-rated book to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4