Customer Reviews for

Sensei

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

The characters and plot were well thought out and written. I would highly recommend it. I wish his other Conner Burke novels were available on the Nook, I would buy them in a second!

posted by readerJo on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Asian Fight Fans

If you enjoy all the aspects of the far east martial arts, this book is for you.

posted by 1811808 on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Excellent read

    The characters and plot were well thought out and written. I would highly recommend it. I wish his other Conner Burke novels were available on the Nook, I would buy them in a second!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    perfect for all ages

    I loved this book with a passion. You will be glad you read this book if you have got it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! ! ! I love how the book teaches us gaiji

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! ! !
    I love how the book teaches us gaijin a little bit about martial arts stuff. I love the sudent/sensei relationship. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great read

    Well crafted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Good read

    As a martial artist enjoyed the combination of the crime story and the martial arts without any cheesy fight scenes. Cannot wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    highly recommend

    The author delved into a culture through the martial arts and explained a lot of the personality of the Japanese culture. The plot was interesting and the characters real. It is an interesting mystery and I enjoyed reading it. And the use of the English language and not four letter words was wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Worth the time

    A really good read. Once you pick it up, you won't want to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Awesome book

    Story is as only a first class writer could do. Beautiful and enlightning as the Oriental way of beliefs and life are shown. Must READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Anon

    Excellent story. Well written and an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended for Mystery Buffs and Martial Arts Aficionados.

    With Sensei, John Donohue lays fundamental groundwork for learning the martial arts both physically and philosophically. At the same time, he manages to thoroughly entertain and include thoughtful insights on Japanese culture in general. Thus he proceeds with layer on layer of what is at core a clever murder mystery embellished by solid character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Great Book

    I'm not a martial arts type so it was fascinating to read a well-written, yet exciting book on the subject. The author is an excellent writer, his style is flawless for the subject and he really makes you feel the dedication devoted to the lifestyle of a serious student in martial arts, and gives you a glimpse into the psychology of those who choose to teach and to learn such a discipline. He does this while telling an exciting story, so you are highly entertained and then realize when you've finished the book - you actually learned something! I finished the book with a new respect for those who choose a path to learn an ancient art, to respect it and and dedicate themselves to the the philosophy behind it. The author is knowlegable about his subject and highly articulate in his writing style. You don't have to love martial arts to enjoy the book and learn to respect the sacrifice and dedication needed to gain skill and wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Good read!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Sensei

    GREAT READ! I loved this book! Am looking for more from this author! Noreene

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Sensei downloaded fine

    I ordered the Sensei book through my NOOK for PC and it appeared on my PC. In the Color NOOK, I went to the Library and pressed the synch icon (that twirling two-arrow circle) and it appeared immediately in the reader. The download worked just fine but the the proper steps to take must be followed.

    Try Kage by the same author, another wonderful book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book for Martial Artists

    This book is a breath of fresh air for someone who actually trains in the martial arts. The main character's training experiences, relationship with his sensei, and the fighting that he describes ring true for dojo rats like me. The author writes from a base of experience that martial artists can believe, have experienced, and enjoy discussing with others who are following the path. While the story is not complex, it is believable and a good read. After I read this book, I looked forward to Deshi which came out sometime afterward. We need more martial arts fiction authors who capture the spirit and intensity of training which you will find in Sensei.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    'SENSEI' KICKS BUTT!

    Great story that incorporates a lot from the martial arts world including culture, fighting styles, and weapons. Excellent fiction debut by Donohue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2