BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sensual Surrender

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    I just finished Sensual Surrender by Katie Reus and I am so glad

    I just finished Sensual Surrender by Katie Reus and I am so glad I have found such an awesome romantic suspense author. I love that Katie can write both long and short stories with varying levels of suspense. Sensual Surrender was more about the characters than the suspenseful plot of the story. The story was laid out for us so there was not a lot of suspense, except for the little twist at the end. However, I enjoy reading different types of romantic suspense and this one fit the bill for a short, lighter romantic suspense story.

    Sensual Surrender is the second in The Serafina: Sin City Series and I really enjoyed it. There was a perfect balance of story and intimacy and fit the characters and plot well. Although this book is part of a series, it stands on its own. However, I always enjoy books in a series because I get to see what former characters are up to. It's like seeing old friends!

    Jay and Ellie are the main characters in this story and we see them a little bit in the first book of the series. In Sensual Surrender, Jay and Ellie are doing well in their relationship and Jay even wants to ask Ellie to marry him, until her ex comes into the picture and messes things up for them. Ellie feels the only way to keep Jay out of danger is to leave him. Boy was she wrong...

    Katie does a great job with novellas, which I would consider this one. She is able to develop strong characters making you feel as if you have known them for a long time. Her descriptions of emotions and dialogue are always great and I find myself flying through her books. The plot in Sensual Surrender was unique and almost seemed too easy, which, in part it was supposed to, but then she added a little twist at the end. The romance between Jay and Ellie was very sweet. I enjoyed the respect they showed for one another and the gentle passion of their relationship. The ending was absolutely perfect. If you are looking for a quick romantic suspense read, I highly recommend you give Sensual Surrender a try!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Loved it

    She is a great author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Good story

    133pgs

    Fast read...good story. At times I wished the story was longer and the romance scenes shorter, but all in all a good read. I recommend reading Wyatt & Iris' story in the Red Stone Security series before starting this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    I really, really enjoyed this book.  In fact, the length is the

    I really, really enjoyed this book.  In fact, the length is the only reason why I am giving it a four instead of a five.  I normally won't even read novellas, but I love Katie Reus so much that I make an exception for her.    Jay and Ellie are both likeable, real characters with great chemistry.  If you need something to do for an evening, pick up this book for a very hot, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Good

    Good book but a little too short....it felt a little but rushed at times....however i loved the characters and look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Sin City, Suspense and Sex - what an awesome combination! Sensua

    Sin City, Suspense and Sex - what an awesome combination! Sensual Surrender is the second book in the Serafina Sin City Series. This series began as a spin off from Red Stone Security’s Breaking Her Rules (Iris and Wyatt’s story) Sensual Surrender can be read as a stand-alone book. This book features Ellie and Jay. Ellie has created a new life for herself . But, mistakes she made in the past come back to haunt her. When Ellie’s past catches up with her rather than involve Jay (her longtime live-in lover) she decides to try and handle it on her own, basically leaving Jay a “Dear John” note. Jay will do anything to find her, help her and protect her. It was very easy to relate to Ellie and the stupid choices that she made as a teenager and when she did to overcome her past and build a new life for herself. She was a little frustrating in that she did not have more faith in Jay and had not shared her past with him – however it was kind of understandable why she did this when everything came to light. Jay is the ultimate alpha hero and someone you would want to have in your corner day or night. This is a well written romantic suspense book that will keep you turning pages until you are finished.

    Although I was provided an ARC of this book for an honest review, I also purchased the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Ellie works at the Serafina casino for the billionaire boss, and

    Ellie works at the Serafina casino for the billionaire boss, and lives with the boss's head of security, Jay. Jay and Ellie are in love, and Jay is about to propose. Then Ellie's past catches up to her. She feels she must solve her problem on her own. In order to keep Jay and her friends and boss safe, she goes on the run. 

    Jay soon finds her and her secret is revealed. They also discover that her trouble is even more deadly and complicated than they thought. Assuming they all survive, will Ellie and Jay be able to reclaim the happiness they once had?

    My thoughts:

    Although Ellie shows some backbone later in the novella, in the beginning she makes an unfortunate decision. Okay, a stupid decision. Okay, okay. She makes a couple of less-than-stellar, less-than-honest decisions.

    Jay is an admirable character. He's so protective of Ellie that it's downright sexy. I wish we'd heard more of the story from his POV.

    The plot moves along at a good pace. There's a twist at the end that's a nice surprise.

    All in all, this is a good romantic suspense with a hero, heroine, secondary characters, and plot that you'll enjoy for a quick read.

    ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The second book in The Serafina: Sin City series is a riveting r

    The second book in The Serafina: Sin City series is a riveting read full of suspense and romance.  The Las Vegas casino setting makes a great background for this series and group of characters, it adds depth and intrigue. I found this story to be a wonderful and enjoyable story with great charismatic characters that capture the heart and imagination and I definitely want to read more about the Serafina characters.

    See full review at:  The Jeep Diva .com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Totally enjoyed the second book in this series. It was action p

    Totally enjoyed the second book in this series. It was action packed and fast. The relationship between the characters was great. I love a book that has 2nd and 3rd characters that show up in following books. It’s like visiting old friends. I believe you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    In the tradition of her Red Stone Security series, Katie Reus wr

    In the tradition of her Red Stone Security series, Katie Reus writes another hot romance. Ms. Reus excels are writing characters with chemistry that sizzles off the page. Ellie and Jay are no different. The best parts of the story are when they are together.
    Coming from a disadvantaged past, Ellie has worked her way to become the personal assistant to one of the wealthiest men. When her past comes back to haunt her, she makes the decision to sacrifice her relationship with Jay and run away rather than involve her friends and lover. I hate to say it, but this is when the story becomes familiar. No good decision ever happens from running! Luckily, our alpha and friends are great at coming to the rescue and we have a satisfying HEA.  
    IN A NUTSHELL: This is a fun, if a little predictable, read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was able to finish Sensual Surrender by Katie Reus yesterday.

    I was able to finish Sensual Surrender by Katie Reus yesterday. Sensual Surrender is the second book in the Serafina: Sin City. Basically, Ellie and Jay actually got together after the incident that happen in Miami which would be in Breaking Her Rules, which is a Red Stone book. Anyway, back to Vegas.

    Here's a quick sum up of the story:

    Ellie did some stupid stuff when she was younger. Yes, who hasn't. Anyway, the past starts rearing it's ugly head and Ellie feels she needs to make a run to protect her friends. So, she makes an impulsive decision to abandon her boyfriend and her job. Now Jay and her boss, Wyatt are going to let that happen. Oh no, they want to help Ellie get out the trouble she's in. However, Ellie is a bit stubborn and doesn't want to drag them in. Yet, Jay and her friends are just as stubborn.

    I liked Sensual Surrender, because you have Ellie who wants to protect her friends from the bad people she use to hang around. Yes, her actions are a bit misguided, but it all stems from a good heart. Good thing Jay isn't going to let go the best thing in his life. Oh no, he's going to fight for Ellie and prove that she belongs with him. As I said, her past is starting rear it's ugly head when a ex-boyfriend wants her to help get certain possession from her job. I love how all her friends rally around her when she didn't believe she deserved their help. 

    Overall, I enjoyed Sensual Surrender. Yes, there are some sensual moments and suspense ones. However, I love how Jay and his friends are willing to go out on the limb for someone they care about. Now I'm curious who will be the next one who will need help from the team at the Serafina. So, if you like quick read with some suspence, you might like Sensual Surrender. The great thing about this story it can be read as a stand alone. 

    Copy provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I¿m ready to move on. Please don¿t search for me. Please just le

    I’m ready to move on. Please don’t search for me. Please just let me go.
    ~Ellie




    The note on the kitchen table shatters Jay Wentworth’s world into bits. Ellie is his lover, his soulmate, his best friend…she’s the woman who stood by him through the aftermath of a horrible explosion, the woman he’s planning to propose to. He’d do anything for her…except let her go. With his fierce protectiveness kicked into overdrive, he teams up with Ellie’s Hotel Serafina boss, billionaire Wyatt Christiansen, to find her. Ellie is family at the casino and they take care of their own.




    Ellie is devastated when her secret past finally catches up with her. Stupid to think she could bury the mistakes of her youth and find happiness with a good man. Leaving Jay rips her heart to shreds, but it’s the only way she can protect him from the dangerous people she once ran with. And deep down, she fears he’ll never be able to forgive her for hiding her past from him.




    The closer Jay gets to the truth about Ellie, the deeper he plunges into danger. He’ll move heaven and earth to save her, but if she can’t trust in Jay’s love it might be too late for both of them.




    Review:




    I was so Happy to receive an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review that I did a little happy dance :)




    I love Katie's work, but I had not read the first book in this series.  I have to say it did not detract from my enjoyment of reading the story to not have read First Surrender before Sensual Surrender.  I do definitely plan to go back and read it though!




    I really connected with the emotion of this story.  Jay and Ellie come together after Jay almost dies in an explosion and she nurses him back to health.  Then the day that Jay is going to propose Ellie is called by her ex-boyfriend and to protect Jay and all those she loves from her past, Ellie she tries to run away.  Well, those awesome Alpha Males in this story are not going to let that happen.  They all rally around Ellie and put a plan in motion that is full of intrigue, action and suspense.  But around it all is the great romance of Jay and Ellie and how they overcome her past and betrayal.




    This story will keep you entertained from beginning to end with its romance, sexiness, action, and intrigue.  And you will love the ending!




    4 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I recieved a ARC in exchange for hontest review This can be rea

    I recieved a ARC in exchange for hontest review

    This can be read as a stand alone
    This was a great read, steamy sex scenes, lots of tention and supense, past secrets revealed and some edge of your seat moments.
    I loved Jay, he was a great character.
    Ellie it was interesting learning about her past and what made her the person she is and seeing her react to certain situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1