Customer Reviews for

Sentinel (Covenant Series #5)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars - OMG what a perfect end to an incredible series tha




    5 stars - OMG what a perfect end to an incredible series that I adored!


    I will admit to being terrified to read this book. The ending of this incredible series that I have loved so much - would things work out? Would Alex and Aiden get a HEA? Would Ares get his butt kicked? Was there any way this brilliant author could make things work out? Oh, I can't tell you any of that but I will tell you that I stressed. I cried. I screamed. I gasped. I sputtered. WTH? Really? OMG! Did that just happen? Are you freaking kidding me? Yep, that just about sums it up. It's an emotional ending to a brilliant series.


    Alex is broken from her fight with Ares. She's not the same and something is really wrong with her. She's not sure she's the one to lead the army of awesomeness and she may be right. She steps out of character a lot but with good reason. One, she had been through a lot and two, something was definitely up. And that is the brilliance of this last book. Armentrout keeps us guessing and hopping throughout. It's not just leading up to one big bang near the end, no the unexpected is popping up everywhere - especially with Alex.


    Aiden. Hot damn, I didn't think I could love this boy more but I do. He stands by Alex. He sacrifices for Alex. He's totally jealous, which is super cute. He takes some serious licks in this book but that boys love knows no end. I was proud of him. I fell all over for him. I want to hug him and cuddle him and....yeah I know he's Alex's but I can dream can't I?

    I have to say something about Seth. I have never been a Seth fan. I saw through him from the first time I met him. Shallow and self-centered, I never thought he cared for Alex. I never saw the self-sacrifice that Aiden constantly showed. But Seth has redeemed himself. That is all I have to say about that.


    The story is fast paced and, oh, so good. I couldn't put it down. Really, this book kept surprising me. Every time I thought I had something figured out, things would turn and I was stunned. My beloved characters went through so much and I right along with them. This whole world evolved and I admit to liking the result. I freaking LOVED the ending. It's perfect. Just perfect.


    My fear about reading it was justified and unfounded. While I hate to see this series end, I love the way it does it. And as long as I can re-read and have more JLA books, I'm a happy reader.


    If you have been reading this series, then RUN and get this one NOW. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading the Covenant series, then start. It's great paranormal YA.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT END TO THE SERIES! This was one of my most anticipated 20

    GREAT END TO THE SERIES!

    This was one of my most anticipated 2013 reads and despite having the ending spoiled for me just hours before release, I am HAPPY to say I was not disappointed!

    SENTINEL was fast-paced, action-packed, delivering an Olympus-sized kick in the feels. Overflowing with love, sacrifice, redemption and plenty of Aiden St. Delphi, SENTINEL was everything I hoped for and a fantastic way to the Covenant Series!

    Alex is still courageous, brave and full of badarsery! Aiden amps up the awesomeness and even Seth gets a chance to show what he's truly made of. There is a battle of EPIC PROPORTIONS leaving no one unscathed, the gods included, and the ultimate sacrifice is paid. HOWEVER, this ending makes sense, serves a purpose and most importantly - it will not leave you rocking back and forth in a corner. READ IT.LOVE IT.HAVE A CUPCAKE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Couldn't have been better!!!!! I LOVED THIS SERIES

    Couldn't have been better!!!!! I LOVED THIS SERIES

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    My Rating: 5 Stars Average Good Reads Rating: 4.57 stars Serie

    My Rating: 5 Stars

    Average Good Reads Rating: 4.57 stars

    Series: The Covenant Series #5

    Genre: YA Fantasy/ Paranormal Romance

    Pages: 297

    Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

    Check it out: Good Reads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon


    Good Reads Summary:

    It's a beautiful day for a war.


    As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.

    And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.

    In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.

    I love these books. My best friend recommended them to me a few years ago, back when I had no idea who Jennifer L. Armentrout was. I read the summary and thought, “wow, this sounds a lot like Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy” of which I was already a huge fan. Granted, the first book is pretty similar to VA, but many of the ‘similar’ elements are unique in their own way (I know, that sounds like a major contradiction; just go with it). This series is without a doubt, the best YA series dealing with Greek Mythology that I’ve read. Instead of making the gods silly, archaic, and ridiculous, Armentrout makes them powerful, adaptive, entertaining, and some of them are downright terrifying.

    I really love Alex. She’s spunky, brave, and frequently stupid (which makes her a very real heroine). And I adore Aiden, so I obviously really enjoy the two leads of this series. There are plenty of fun and interesting secondary characters as well: Apollo, Aiden’s brother Deacon, Marcus…the list could go on for a while, but lets just say Armentrout is the queen of writing witty and interesting characters.

    There is no lack of action here. JLA is a self-proclaimed lover of writing kissing scenes, but she can write really great action sequences as well. (The kissing scenes are excellent too). Yes the characters have sex, but since this is YA, it’s not graphic and doesn’t go into detail.

    It’s really interesting to see how different Alex is from book one to Sentinel. She’s grown up a lot, and has had quite a rough go of it. She does a good job of keeping it together (and even when she doesn’t, Aiden is there to pick up the pieces).

    I kind of hated Seth for a while in this series. He just irritated me, and Aiden is so perfect, I couldn’t understand why Alex was even remotely interested in Seth. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I am going to say that my hatred dwindled in this book. Dwindled a lot.

    I am extremely sad to see this series go, but, being the writing maniac that she is, JLA has already started a new series (The Dark Elements), which I think I’m going to really enjoy. This was a very strong finish to an excellent YA series that I feel confident recommending to anyone who enjoys the genre.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Loved this whole series! I was worried what the ending was going

    Loved this whole series! I was worried what the ending was going to be but in the end it all wrapped up perfect. I reread this series over and over. It is one of my favorites and I highly recommend it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Cool

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

     A Fitting Conclusion to a Kick-Ass Hematoi series-What did I th

     A Fitting Conclusion to a Kick-Ass Hematoi series-What did I think about Sentinel? I thought it was a really fitting end to a complex paranormal series about demi-gods, pures and half-bloods. 




    Originally, I seriously didn't think the premise of this series was all that exciting when I saw it on JLA's website. I was trolling her website after finishing 3 of the Lux books back to back, jonesing for something else to read by her. Initially, I passed it up and read a couple of her new adult novels under her pen name, J. Lynn, instead. After finishing those equally fantastic reads, I had to give the Covenant series a try. I like how you can draw moral parallels from it with slavery and caste systems that we've seen in our very real human history. Having just seen the movie 12 Years A Slave (based on true events) on Thanksgiving Day, this final book really resonated with me.




    I started with book one instead of the prequel on the first read-through, and I immediately got drawn into Alex's world. Then starting in August, I even participated in a Covenant re-read hosted by Vi Nguyen from the Deity Island fansite that lead up to Sentinel's November 16th release party. Although I didn't get to attend the Philly release party, doing this re-read forced me to finally read the prequel and ramped up my excitement to read the final book. 




    Everything comes to a head in this final book. Alex (2nd Apollyon) and Aiden (a sentinel Pure) and their band of fighters which includes the god Apollo have to figure out how to stop Seth (First Apollyon), Lucian (a power hungry Pure) and Ares (god of war) from bringing on the end of the world. Alex & Aiden enlist the help of Hades to reawaken a Titan who can help train the fighters to defeat Ares, the god of war, and therefore Lucian and his crazy plan to take over the world.




    In the past when there were 2 Apollyons at the same time, one had to transfer her/his power to the other and s/he becomes the Godkiller, a failsafe to keep balance in the world. The power transfer has always ended in the draining and therefore death of one of the two Apollyons. We already know that Seth awakened first and is addicted to the aether he can pull from Alex. This makes him a total ass to deal with in the preceding 2 books, but in Sentinel he realizes that he needs to be on Team Alex and has to transfer his power over to Ale, allowing her to become the Godkiller. He knows that Alex has more control. She proved that by breaking her bond with him in the previous novel. It’s the only way to defeat the powerful god of war, Ares and his army of half-bloods and mortal humans under compulsion.




    The good guys battle it out with Ares and his army of fighters. But in order to win, a surprising end is in store for Alex. I liked her end because it took me by surprise. It was realistic and bold on the author's part. Best of all, the deal Seth makes to ensure that Aiden gets to be with Alex after everything that happens, leaves a perfect opening for his own spin-off series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Kate Kaynack at Spencer Hill Press for sending m

    I want to thank Kate Kaynack at Spencer Hill Press for sending me a copy of this book when my copy was backed up on Amazon! I could not wait to get my hands on this and see the conclusion of one of my all time favorite series! And I was not disappointed. As usual, Armentrout kept me on my toes through this whole book and I had NO idea how it would end!




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    It's a beautiful day for a war.
    As the mortal world slowly slips into chaos of the godly kind, Alexandria Andros must overcome a stunning defeat that has left her shaken and in doubt of their ability to end this war once and for all.
    And with all the obstacles between Alex and her happily-ever-after with the swoonworthy Aiden St. Delphi, they must now trust a deadly foe as they travel deep into the Underworld to release one of the most dangerous gods of all time.
    In the stunning, action-packed climax to the bestselling Covenant series, Alex must face a terrible choice: the destruction of everything and everyone she holds dear… or the end of herself.




    I will honestly say that while I love this cover it is not my favorite of the series. When it was released, I was actually disappointed. I saw a mock up of a cover that I LOVED. It was a turquoise blue and just oh so beautiful. I thought for sure that was going to be it, but I was wrong and that made me sad. But, you can't love all covers now, can you?




    I could probably write a whole book about how this series makes me feel. As a whole it gets an A in my book for sure. I love the characters, the action, the romance, the situations you think will never turn out right. Armentrout takes the bull by the horns and tosses him around like he's nothing. There's no doubt in my mind that at some point I will read this series again (and I DO NOT re-read books!).




    I was excited to see Alex is back to her good old self in this book: snarky, loving, a little selfish but in a selfless sort of way, and mostly just a kick butt heroine. I don't find her to have tons of angst, which always makes me happy because angst totally pulls me right out of a story. And her loyalty is undying, which makes her even more lovable in my book! Alex always rises to the occasion, and this book is no different. 
    And Aiden, well, he is my ultimate book boyfriend. Talk about fiercely loyal. He loves Alex for who she is, no strings attached, no cares as to what others think. He makes her his world and it's amazing to watch it flourish so much more in this book because they are not afraid of who knows the truth. The only issue I had with him in this book is he really did say Agapai mou WAY too many times. I don't think there was a conversation with Alex he had in this book that didn't include this phrase. When I was first introduced to the phrase, I loved it; I cherished when he would say it. But in this book it was a bit over done. That made me sad. I wanted it to be something that he said when it needed to be said. And, while I'm all for people telling each other they love each other, it was just a bit overboard for me.
    Seth, well, I'm still not sure what to think. I hate him, but I love him. I hate that he has been such an idiot in the past. I hate that he let power consume him and blind him to what is right and just. And yet, I love how he tries his hardest to redeem himself. And how he gives up everything so that Alex can be happy. I was wary of the fact that Alex knew right away that Seth was willing to help them as opposed to hinder them, but I guess that is the Apollyon connection?




    I love the plot of this book, although I found the pacing a bit slower than the previous books. I can honestly say I really had no idea where it was going or how it would end. Every situation the characters were put in ended in some catastrophe, despite the fact that they made it through. I did think I would shed more tears in this book than I did, but it didn't happen, until the end. I had some tears there, but then they were happy tears. There are so many emotions that this series brings. And the story itself is one of sacrifice, love, hate, hope, sadness, happiness, and loyalty, and I could go on and on




    As for Jennifer's writing, well, it's her writing, which I always enjoy. She really knows how to pack power into her words and her world. My favorite part of how she writes is how she always interjects humor into what she's doing. She loves to lighten the mood when things are looming over her characters.




    Overall, the ending was not what I expected. I was happy that things turned out the way they did, don't get me wrong, but I was just wanting more of a fight, more of the heart wrenching sadness that would make me want things to turn out differently. The book certainly has a ton of great moments. Times when I thought for sure it was all over and I would want to throw the book across the room. Was it worth the wait, sure it was, I needed to get my conclusion for the series. But, again, it was not what I was expecting and, while it did not leave me hanging and wrapped things up in a nice package, I just feel like I am missing that little something that would have made this series go out with a bang for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    This review will make a little more sense if I set up the scene

    This review will make a little more sense if I set up the scene for you ... I have been anticipating this book for months. After the way the series was heading I knew Armentrout would have me by the short-hairs with this book from start to finish. So the day after the release I find myself on an airplane, traveling for work, so I save it for the flight. I am not a nervous traveler by any means but I knew no matter what was going on, or what I was flying into (work wise, it was not a fun trip) that this at least would be able to hold my attention and distract me.

    So, there I was on my flight, attempting, not all that successfully, to not bawl my eyes out. Pretty much from the start. I've never been on "Team Seth" but after everything that happens in this book, I am certainly now on "Team Seth deserves his own happy ending" - which when I saw he is getting his own spin off series, just about made my life. But my main focus, as it has been since the beginning, is on Alex, and her relationship with Aiden.

    Oh Aiden ... you are perfect. And you don't even realize it. The things you have had to go through and still have to go through to be with Alex, well, let's just say no one will ever doubt your commitment to her. I mean ... nope. Not going to ruin anything. I will however say it is one of the most epic romances to grace the mythologies.

    I might have just been PMS'ing, but Sentinel had me riding an emotional roller coaster to rival all other coasters, and the big stomach dropping hill was near the end. I thought I was going to die. At one point I just sat there, staring at the words, and even flipped back a few pages to re-read that particular section wondering if indeed, that just happened. It had. I was not hallucinating and even now, just thinking about THAT PART I tear up a little.

    This is a great finale to a wonderful YA series. A good book leaves you satisfied, a great book leaves you satisfied, but still wanting a little more, and sometimes wondering how the characters are doing after the end of the story. Like, what are they doing now? How have they handled the news about ... ? Do they all know about ... ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

      Wow. What an ending. I devoured this book, and loved every sec

      Wow. What an ending. I devoured this book, and loved every second. Well, some of it was hard. Sad, tragic, funny, sexy, violent, an army of awesome (yes, they do call themselves that, and are indeed made of awesome), twists and turns, with unexpected characters, turns of events and an ending that blew me away. 
        This was everything I wanted and more for a series ending. I have loved each of the books, swooning over Aiden, laughing with Alex, jaw dropped at the intense action and fighting. Smirking at the gods especially Apollo and Seth can be lumped into all of this too when they deserve it, rolling my eyes at other times, wanting to smack them, and not getting what was going on as well as in awe of the sacrifice and emotion going on with them. Aiden is as sweet, understanding, and supportive of Alex as well, and we get to see that streak of jealousy that makes me love him even more. 
        Alex has really grown in some ways, learning that its okay to be afraid, that she needs to open up. In others she is still the same stubborn, fun loving, loyal girl she has been throughout the series. I think that we really get to see her strength in new ways and that she steps up in so many areas in this one. I was so proud of her. 
        Seth really surprised me in this one, and what he ends up doing really had my jaw hitting the floor. He comes face to face with the bad decisions he's made and take a look at who he has become and what he needs to do to make up for it.  I would love it if we got to see more from him so that we know what becomes of his choices. Hint, Hint Jennifer if by some chance you're reading this.
        I know that all of my questions were answered and the threads that I can remember were wrapped up to my satisfaction.
        It is so hard to review without spoiling anything, but this did not let me down at all. 




    Bottom Line: Swoony, action packed series finale with a mind blowing ending. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I closed this book about fifteen minutes ago, and I kid you no

    I closed this book about fifteen minutes ago, and I kid you not my eyes are STILL red and puffy. I'm so incredibly sad that this is the end, but I'm also so incredibly happy that it ended this way. If you follow my blog, you know that I don't read very many series endings. The reason being, the final book is just so hard to get right. You have to tie up every loose end and answer any and every question the reader may have. And then, with the last ending I read *ahem* Allegiant *ahem* I was seriously disappointed. I wanted to strangle everyone afterwards. So I waited a week before starting this ending. I needed some time.
    "Most of our problems stemmed from the gods' boredom."
    pg. 43
    But I don't even know why I was worried. JLA has done it again. This book is just as action packed as the rest of the series. The war is coming, and coming fast. Alex's army and the gods are getting desperate and come up with a spine tingling solution. Something I truly wasn't expecting. JLA has created another epic, nail biting, page turner.
    "Have you ever heard of a bra?" I demanded. "Because I see your... you know. Everything.'"
    pg. 49
    As for the characters, Alex was definitely not as snarky as her "normal" self. Its quite obvious that she's grown so much throughout the series. And then there's Aiden. Oh gods, Aiden I love you! He is (and I'm sure always will be) my #1 Book Boyfriend. He was still so sweet, caring, loving, and strong. He did everything he could to make sure Alex was ok. She was always his main priority. And then, there's Seth. I applaud him. I doubted him for a LONG time, but in the end, he did what he had to do. Everything he did throughout the entire series was done for a reason.
    "'What is it with gods and leather?" I muttered. [He] slid me a long look. "We make it look good."."
    pg. 166
    Last but not least, that ending tore me apart. Guys, if you're anything like me, grab your tissues. As I discussed with Jen from Jenuine Cupcakes, I HATED the ending, but it completely makes sense. After the war that took place, its only right that things happened that way. But it still didn't stop me from being a blubbering mess. I wasn't happy about it ending that way, but only for my own personal selfish reasons. It actually made sense that it happened that way.
    "It was a beautiful day for a war."
    pg. 247
    In short, this was a great ending to one of my favorite series. I'm sad to see it end, but I'm also already looking forward to reading it again. I promise you, Alex's world will be a hard one to leave behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    I love this whole Covenant Series and Sentinel ends it wonderful

    I love this whole Covenant Series and Sentinel ends it wonderfully! Great Read super fast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1