Customer Reviews for

The Sentry (Joe Pike Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

A Thriller with some heart

I received this book from an early reader program and wow, what a ride! The Sentry is an exciting page-turner that will keep you up late into the night. Joe Pike is an action hero with some real depth. When Pike observes a shopkeeper being beaten, he steps in to save th...
I received this book from an early reader program and wow, what a ride! The Sentry is an exciting page-turner that will keep you up late into the night. Joe Pike is an action hero with some real depth. When Pike observes a shopkeeper being beaten, he steps in to save the day. This good samaritan act draws him into to a mystery involving killers, gangsters, drug cartels, and people on the run. The more he learns, the more the mystery deepens. Pike charges through with a moral compass that stays pointed true north, regardless of the personal consequences. The action starts fast, stays fast, and has an ending that is both satisfying and poignant. This book is more than just a mindless thriller. The characters are well-developed, the writing is crisp and there is an emotional payoff for the time you invest in the story. This was my first introduction to Robert Crais and the character of Joe Pike. Both have won a new fan. Clear your schedule when you pick up this book, because you won't want to put it down. Highly recommended.

posted by tottman on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Disappointing

I love Robert Crais and eagerly awaited this novel. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The book was good, but I felt it wasn't as good as his past efforts. I didn't really feel a connection with the Dru Raines character, and the antagonist was just farfetched and bizzar...
I love Robert Crais and eagerly awaited this novel. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The book was good, but I felt it wasn't as good as his past efforts. I didn't really feel a connection with the Dru Raines character, and the antagonist was just farfetched and bizzare. Not a bad read, but not a compelling, page-turner like his past Pike/Cole novels.

posted by OCGIRL on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Thriller with some heart

    I received this book from an early reader program and wow, what a ride! The Sentry is an exciting page-turner that will keep you up late into the night. Joe Pike is an action hero with some real depth. When Pike observes a shopkeeper being beaten, he steps in to save the day. This good samaritan act draws him into to a mystery involving killers, gangsters, drug cartels, and people on the run. The more he learns, the more the mystery deepens. Pike charges through with a moral compass that stays pointed true north, regardless of the personal consequences. The action starts fast, stays fast, and has an ending that is both satisfying and poignant. This book is more than just a mindless thriller. The characters are well-developed, the writing is crisp and there is an emotional payoff for the time you invest in the story. This was my first introduction to Robert Crais and the character of Joe Pike. Both have won a new fan. Clear your schedule when you pick up this book, because you won't want to put it down. Highly recommended.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series

    Robert Crais is firmly planted on my list of favourite authors. He has written some great stand alone novels, but it is the recurring characters of Elvis Cole (self proclaimed World's Greatest Detective) and his partner Joe Pike that I can't get enough of.

    "Cole was a licensed private investigator Pike met back in the day when Pike still worked the badge. Not the likeliest of pairings, Pike being so quiet and remote, Cole being one of those people who thought he was funny, but they were more alike then most people knew."

    The Sentry opens with a prologue featuring a truly creepy killer in New Orleans in 2005. Fast forward to present day in L.A. Joe Pike is just filling up his jeep with gas and the tires with air when he notices two gang bangers heading into a small sandwich shop. Instinct sends him across the street in time to stop the beating the two are giving the shopkeeper. But that simple good Samaritan acts leads to a whole lot more...gang wars, drug cartels, a deranged assasin and....a woman. Who has her own secrets...

    "If Pike had not stopped for air, he would not have seen the men or crossed the street. He would not have met the woman he was about to meet. Nothing that was about to happen would have happened. But Pike had stopped. And now the worst was coming."

    Oh, how's that for great foreshadowing! And the plot Crais has crafted absolutely delivers. Page turning, riveting, non stop action. But those of us who have come to love these characters have been waiting for Crais to reveal a little more of the enigma that is Joe Pike. In The Sentry, we get a glimpse behind Pike's ever present sunglasses into what makes him tick. The relationship with Elvis is explored in more depth as well.

    What is the appeal of Joe Pike? Well, he's fearless with a strong moral compass that he can't help but follow. It doesn't hurt that he's strong, attractive and sexy. But he's everything you wouldn't expect as well - he's a vegetarian who practices yoga. Just a great character that I can't get enough of.

    The Sentry kept me turning pages non stop. Robert Crais is one of the best thriller/crime writers out there. Fans of the Jack Reacher books would enjoy this series.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    great read

    I LOVE joe pike. he has such a deep sense of honor, and will do anything to protect those he loves. if I were to ever need rescuing I would want joe. if you really want to get to know him you should start with what I consider to be the first joe pike novel, L.A. Requiem. you learn so much about his background, and how he came to be joe. it's my very favorite book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Sentry

    The Sentry is the latest novel in Robert Crais' Joe Pike series. In this one Pike is a Good Samaritan and steps in when a local sandwich shop owner is attacked by two gang members. Pike has a thing for Dru, the niece of the shop owner and offers to help then, but then she and her uncle go missing. Before you know it, the LAPD, FBI and the Mexican Mafia are involved. Pike recruits his friend Elvis Cole and soon bodies start emerging; none of which are Dru or her uncle. I enjoyed the story, the writing and the characters. Another good book by Robert Crais.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Joe Pike ~strong, silent hero!

    I so enjoy reading about Joe Pike! And this one is the best so far. Can't wait for this one to come out in paperback. He doesn't say much but his actions are expansive!
    What a storyteller this Robert Crais. Give us more Joe Pike!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Good Read

    I love Robert Crais and Joe Pike is my favorite character. Having said that, I did not feel that Joe Pike stayed true to the character we have come to know throughout the years. It was hard to understand why he continued to fixate on this woman as we became more and more aware of her lies and deception. As a reader I did not invest in the Dru and Wilson's character so could not understand Joe's obsession. As always I truly enjoyed the engaging writing style of Robert Crais and look forward to the next Joe Pike and Elvis Cole book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    A Bit Disappointing

    I love Robert Crais and eagerly awaited this novel. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. The book was good, but I felt it wasn't as good as his past efforts. I didn't really feel a connection with the Dru Raines character, and the antagonist was just farfetched and bizzare. Not a bad read, but not a compelling, page-turner like his past Pike/Cole novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Gelati's Scoop

    Am I a sucker for a Joe Pike novel or what? Yes I am and like many of you I marked the release date on my calendar and waited patiently to get my hands on it. I buzzed through it and, well, let me just hold off on my thoughts for a little bit. Let's get to what is inside the covers first:
    "Dru Rayne and her uncle fled to L.A. after Hurricane Katrina; but now, five years later, they face a different danger. When Joe Pike witnesses Dru's uncle beaten by a protection gang, he offers his help, but neither of them want it-and neither do the federal agents mysteriously watching them.
    As the level of violence escalates, and Pike himself becomes a target, he and Elvis Cole learn that Dru and her uncle are not who they seem- and that everything he thought he knew about them has been a lie. A vengeful and murderous force from their past is now catching up to them . . . and only Pike and Cole stand in the way."
    Nothing but our buddy Jared getting his daily moo is what it seems in The Sentry. Personally I enjoyed the interludes with Jared and hope that he makes appearances in future Pike vehicles. The reason I enjoy Robert Crais' work so much is not the twists and turns this novel takes and it is not so much Joe Pike (but I do like him very much), it is the ability, skill and consistency that comes with each read. I know that I am getting a very rich, well- constructed plotline, characters that I can identify with on some level and either root for them or grow to dislike them. I develop a feeling that I am right there in whatever environment Crais wants to place me in, basically your textbook, by the numbers, well- conceived and executed novel. In this day and age of receiving value, this author is bank, all the way. There are far too few of them in my estimation anymore, Robert Crais just doesn't take a novel off or mail it in.
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Shelfari, Linkedin &Twitter. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Amazon Banner on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; We will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.Look for us at Gelati's Scoop!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Horrid.

    Mr. Crais seems to have run out of motivation. This book was written on autopilot.

    Plot? I guess there is one..but it really makes no sense.

    Fleshed out characters? Nope.

    Motivation for actions? None.

    This is quite possibly Robert's worst work.

    The one positive I guess is that it's an easy, quick read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Crais does it again!

    What a consistent great writer of crime thrillers! Joe Pike is one of the best characters ever. He's back in another great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Love Joe Pike

    Keep 'em coming Robert. Another great JP thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Two thumbs way up

    I started reading the first book and became addicted to this. Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Joe Pike still untouchable

    Crais once again delivers a powerful Joe Pike experience, with non-stop action and thrills. Full of twists and turns this novel will not disappoint, and it leaves you ready for Joe's next adventure and more of Elvis' one-liners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    I love Robert Crais and this is another awesome book!

    Joe Pike is the coolest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A little rough

    Reviews Of Unusual Size - Re: After stopping an attempted robbery, Crais' nearly silent do-gooder Joe Pike finds himself oddly fascinated by a beautiful young lady. A lady that has more hidden in her past than the typical niece of a fish-shoppe owner. (They're well known to be dull) Soon, Pike and Elvis Cole, the world's greatest detective will be up to their necks in mystery, peeping Toms and danger.   Outstanding: Crais is an excellent writer of thrillers. I would assume it's even on his business card. And with good reason. He keeps the story rollicking along and the characters consistently engaging.   Unacceptable: The only real niggles would spoil a few plots if mentioned, but there's a few things that seemed wonk, but nothing significant.   Summary: Not my favorite of Crais' novels, i prefer more Cole in my stocking, but still really, really enjoyable. It was nice to hear from Lucy, Cole's lovely N'Awlins lady friend too.   4/5   Notes: Crais has turned down multiple offers to make movies of Cole and Pike. He prefers them to exist in the heads of his readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    A dj girl walks in

    Uh you dont allready have dj pon3 aka vinyl scratch?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Flash Burst to Celestia

    I want to run for princess in both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Celestia

    Okay. Please list your regisetion here. Write like this: My Fall formal dance princess should be ____name_____________ because she is___exmaple:( Funny,dorky and friend)___ so i like to vote for her. I list ballet in private. Please vote resul thirty three. Thank you. Sincre.if you want to run to be fall princess. We need your name here. And we will annouce who won. Twilxe, and others please put you name res thirty or thirty two. thank you. Votes will remain until otcber twenty first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    New Equestria Girls rp!

    Welome to Canterlot High! Meet Twilight Sparkle, the principal's assitant, as she takes you on a persnoal tour of the gounds. <br>
    Result two is the girls' bio area, and result three is the boys' bio area. Don't forget to include your age, description, relationship status, and your group. Groups are: Rockers(like Flah Sentry and Sunset Shimmer), Atheletes (like Rainbow Dash), Techies, Eco-kids(like Fluttershy), Comedians(like Pinkie Pie), New-Bes (like Twilight, Loners (like Applejack ad the CMC), and Fashionistas( like Rarity). Staff bios are located at result four. For your convienice, if you are a pony crossing over to the human world, include your human name. For example, my friend FlutterShy is Faith Summers. <br>
    Result five is the cafeteria, the main roleplay. Six is the field and track. Atheletes often hang out there. Seven is Classroom #1, which usually hosts math class. Classroom #2, home to language arts, is at result 8. The auditorium is result 9, and Rockers will usually practice songs here. The library- result 10, mosty for techies.<br>
    Result 11 is where you claim your house. Results 12-27 are availible house space. <br>
    And finally, when you're feeling a bit down, chill out at the Cakes' bakery, located at result 28. If ever a vote is to be cast, for the Fall Formal, Spring Fling, or other event, go to result 33 and cast your vote. <br>
    This is Twilight Sparkle, signing out for now! <br>
    <p>
    You may rp: <br>
    OCs <br>
    Named Canon Characters <br>
    Unnamed Canon Chracters (do research before coming up with a name. The two rocker girls are named, as is Tennis Match, an Athelete) <br>
    Pony Counterparts that do not appear in the movie. (Lyra, Soarin, Braeburn, Lightning Dust, for example) <br>
    S
    The end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Pike and Cole,once again, to the rescue!! Couldn't put The Sentry down. Keep me in the dark until the very end. Must add The Sentry to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 295 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15