Customer Reviews for

Separate Beds

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

All Time Favorite

I have been an avid reader since I was barely a teenager. I spent alot of time at my local public library and found Lavryle Spencer books early on. I read this book when I was 16 years old and now in my 30s it is still my absolute favorite. I have read it countless time...
I have been an avid reader since I was barely a teenager. I spent alot of time at my local public library and found Lavryle Spencer books early on. I read this book when I was 16 years old and now in my 30s it is still my absolute favorite. I have read it countless times over the year and own two copies in hardback. Books like this make me a snobbish book consumer. However, I have managed to find other authors that I am faithful to: Emily Giffin and Lisa Kleypas (contemporary novels). My second favorite novel is "Smooth Talking Stranger" by Lisa Kleypas, followed by "Something Borrowed" by Emily Giffin. I have read everyone of their books (as well as Mrs. Spencer) and automatically by any new releases. Check them out!

posted by majica26 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed but still hopeful, An Avid Reader

Separate Beds (Catherine Marie Anderson & Clay Elgin Forrester)------------------------------------------------------------ ---- Clay makes a vow to persevere and sympathize with Catherine¿s unwillingness to open up due to her troubled childhood, but reneges on his s...
Separate Beds (Catherine Marie Anderson & Clay Elgin Forrester)------------------------------------------------------------ ---- Clay makes a vow to persevere and sympathize with Catherine¿s unwillingness to open up due to her troubled childhood, but reneges on his secret vow as soon as he faces some resistance from her.----------------------------------- Circumstance has forced her to grow up quickly, stuck in a house with an abusive and alcoholic father who refused to claim her as his own until he deemed it convenient. She is trying to make it in a cruel world where everyone seems to be for themselves. Tenaciously, she tries to make it on her own and does not accept aid from others gracefully. He has recognized that she cannot give her heart easily, especially to someone who is not sure he has feelings for her that go beyond the sexual tension between them. She deserves to be more than just a vessel for his lust. -------------------------- She allowed him to use her that way once, when the using was mutual. At a time when she was trying to escape from her cloyingly abusive past, and he was venting his anger from a superfluous fight with his girlfriend. He tends to complicate his problems in relationships by engaging in sexual encounters with other women. Why do men feel the need to cheapen a union that is supposed to be meaningful and beautiful by using it as an improper outlet for their angst and frustration? What seems like an easy way out only complicates their current situation. It is not even a positive effective solution, temporary or otherwise. -----------------A majority of men always seem to choose the most damaging route that adversely affects the most people. Why do we, as women, tend to have a masochistic nature when it comes to men and our relationships with them? We seem to relish martyrdom so much that we are willing to forgive them anything. Terrified of being alone, some stay in these destructive, self-flagellating relationships, clinging to men that clearly have no respect for women. They practically bludgeon us over the head with their lack of respect when they cheat on us and verbally, sometimes even physically, abuse us, but as long as they say they love you at the end of the day that¿s supposed to make everything ok. I never understood how one could continue to love someone that treated them so badly. That is not love, but a cop out and an insult to the pulchritude of love. One who does not love and respect themselves first cannot truly recognize and cherish it when it is given, nor leave when it has not been reciprocated. Those that choose to stay in damaging relationships and call it love have earned my contempt, as do novels that perpetuate this type of behaviour.----------------------------------Although the ending of this novel is endearing, it does not truly redeem itself in my eyes. I could not, would not suffer through it again.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    All Time Favorite

    I have been an avid reader since I was barely a teenager. I spent alot of time at my local public library and found Lavryle Spencer books early on. I read this book when I was 16 years old and now in my 30s it is still my absolute favorite. I have read it countless times over the year and own two copies in hardback. Books like this make me a snobbish book consumer. However, I have managed to find other authors that I am faithful to: Emily Giffin and Lisa Kleypas (contemporary novels). My second favorite novel is "Smooth Talking Stranger" by Lisa Kleypas, followed by "Something Borrowed" by Emily Giffin. I have read everyone of their books (as well as Mrs. Spencer) and automatically by any new releases. Check them out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    One of the Best by Ms. Spencer

    This was the first Lavyrle Spencer book I read and it remains one of my top favorites after over 20 years. Ultimate love story! Could read this one over and over and over again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    ONE OF MY FAVORITES

    I love this book. This book and about a dozen others ,I love to read over and over!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    One of my all time favs

    I read this book when I was 13! I fell in love 20 yrs later my taste in books more sophisticated but I still have my torn stained broken book and I read it a few times a year!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Disappointed but still hopeful, An Avid Reader

    Separate Beds (Catherine Marie Anderson & Clay Elgin Forrester)------------------------------------------------------------ ---- Clay makes a vow to persevere and sympathize with Catherine¿s unwillingness to open up due to her troubled childhood, but reneges on his secret vow as soon as he faces some resistance from her.----------------------------------- Circumstance has forced her to grow up quickly, stuck in a house with an abusive and alcoholic father who refused to claim her as his own until he deemed it convenient. She is trying to make it in a cruel world where everyone seems to be for themselves. Tenaciously, she tries to make it on her own and does not accept aid from others gracefully. He has recognized that she cannot give her heart easily, especially to someone who is not sure he has feelings for her that go beyond the sexual tension between them. She deserves to be more than just a vessel for his lust. -------------------------- She allowed him to use her that way once, when the using was mutual. At a time when she was trying to escape from her cloyingly abusive past, and he was venting his anger from a superfluous fight with his girlfriend. He tends to complicate his problems in relationships by engaging in sexual encounters with other women. Why do men feel the need to cheapen a union that is supposed to be meaningful and beautiful by using it as an improper outlet for their angst and frustration? What seems like an easy way out only complicates their current situation. It is not even a positive effective solution, temporary or otherwise. -----------------A majority of men always seem to choose the most damaging route that adversely affects the most people. Why do we, as women, tend to have a masochistic nature when it comes to men and our relationships with them? We seem to relish martyrdom so much that we are willing to forgive them anything. Terrified of being alone, some stay in these destructive, self-flagellating relationships, clinging to men that clearly have no respect for women. They practically bludgeon us over the head with their lack of respect when they cheat on us and verbally, sometimes even physically, abuse us, but as long as they say they love you at the end of the day that¿s supposed to make everything ok. I never understood how one could continue to love someone that treated them so badly. That is not love, but a cop out and an insult to the pulchritude of love. One who does not love and respect themselves first cannot truly recognize and cherish it when it is given, nor leave when it has not been reciprocated. Those that choose to stay in damaging relationships and call it love have earned my contempt, as do novels that perpetuate this type of behaviour.----------------------------------Although the ending of this novel is endearing, it does not truly redeem itself in my eyes. I could not, would not suffer through it again.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    A Sweet Favorite

    This is one of Lavyrle Spencers best. One of my favorite books of all time. It is so good, I have it in Hardcover & paperback, 3 copies! Get it, read it, enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    phenominal this book got me wanting to read again

    two years out of high school and i had'nt picked up a book . somehow i got a hold of seperate beds. i immediatly was drawn into the world of cathrine and clay the charecters where so real i could not believe it. you just cant wait to see what happens to them. since then i have re read this book to date 17 times and have most all of Mrs spencers novels and have read them more then once. and will read it more in the future i am positive

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    best romance book!

    i have read many romance books but this one is by far the best. once i finished it i felt so sad that i was done that i had to reread it! i could not put it down and have since read it 5 more times. and each time i find it more interesting. i felt as though i was cathrine and i really did fall in love with clay. i would recomend it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    The end ruined it for me...

    I have read a few of her books and they are always so full of vivid details with great character development....but she always loses me at the end with the HEA. The plots are very realistic and draws you in, and the expectation is there of course that love will prevail, I just wish it was more believable. I wanted to give it a 2 because of the ending, but it's worth more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great read!!!

    Love how LSpencer creates a novel where the reader feels like she really knows the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good, page turner, but...

    Even though I could not stop reading this book, I was a bit disappointed at the ending. Ms. Spencer knows how to make the players seem real - I felt like I knew them all personally. Catherine really needed psch help, as well as her mother. I wanted to know who Catherine's real father was but it was never disclosed. I think that would have added a lot to the story if we all knew who it was, even if Catherine herself didn't. Anyway, it is a good read and I would still recommmend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    This is an awesome book

    This is my favorite author. I love love love her writing style. I have read all her books and this one is one of favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    The Best book I have ever read!

    I used to love Daniel Steele books until I read this one. After that I went in search of all of Laverle Spencer books. I have read every single one. I shared this book with several of my friends, they loved it and they too have read all of her books. I have read this several times and will now enjoy listening to her tapes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    LOVE IT!!!!

    I read this book about two years ago and since then I have re-read it about 10 times. I love the plot, the characters, and the way it ends. It had me from the very begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    I give Lavyrle Spencer 5 stars

    I am an avid fan of Lavyrle Spencer. I have read many of her books, and I have been hooked since day one. It is a shame that Lavyrle Spencer quit writing. I have read many Romance Novel's, and nobody can make you feel so the warmth and depth as Lavyrle Spencer. I intend to collect all 24 of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    Best beach book ever

    I absolutely loved this book. Never read any of Spencer's books before, now I am hooked and will read other books written by her. I could not put this book down and it is one I will continue to recommend to anyone who has not read it... take it to the beach and you will not care if it rains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2004

    greatest book ever!

    i loved this book so much that i read it 3 times. i still can't find a better book. this is her best book, and possibly the best book evr. i highly reccomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2003

    AN EMOTIONALLY CHARGED READING

    It was supposed to be a marriage of convenience - not of love. But, someone once said that the heart has reasons reason never knew. Liz Dykhouse gives a warm, understanding reading of this emotionally charged story of two people who learn a great deal about life and love. Catherine Anderson is a rather intense, studious undergraduate student. Clay Forrester is handsome, a law student who turns many a girl's head. It's unlikely these two will ever meet, let alone have a conversation. Fate steps in with a blind date that brings them together. It's a gorgeous evening, the wine is superb, and they spend the night together. Surely a one-time happening - that is until a few months later when Catherine discovers she is pregnant. The two agree to marry, purely for reasons of convenience which is fine with both of them. Or is it? LaVyrle Spencer fans stand in line to read her next romantic opus. They'll not be disappointed in 'Separate Beds.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!!

    This was an excellent read! I couldn't put it down. I look forward to picking up some more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2003

    My all-time favorite book

    I have been reading books by LaVyrle Spencer, for 14 years, over and over again. She is awesome. This is her best work. I was even able to convince a male friend to read it, his first romance novel and he enjoyed it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3