Customer Reviews for

A Separate Peace

Average Rating 3.5
( 466 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A Separate Review

When i first came upon this book was in my AP English class in the 10th grade, with the limited list of books and the library out of the easy read books, I found A Separate Peace. As i showed and told everyone what i was reading they gave me mix reviews, Some said it wa...
When i first came upon this book was in my AP English class in the 10th grade, with the limited list of books and the library out of the easy read books, I found A Separate Peace. As i showed and told everyone what i was reading they gave me mix reviews, Some said it was too much of a guy book and was deemed boring and not worth the time to read. As i read on, i was captivated by the main character, and his struggle of guilt and jealousy of someone whom he called a best friend. I was angry and yet i found myself relating to the character of Gene. I mean if you had a friend who had qualities that you wished you could possessed, wouldn't you be jealous of that friend? You couldn't stay mad at Gene but you couldn't help but not love Phineas. They were two friends of the opposite side of the spectrum, yet they found a way to be friends. Phineas must have known the jealousy that possessed Gene, and the fault of the accident, yet Phineas, as marvelous as he was, forgave Gene. But it was not just about friendship going through it's rough and uneasy edges but it was about manhood, these boys going to school and figuring what type of men they will become while a war hung over their heads. These boys had their adventures in school, and when it comes to male friendship, its about who you're having the fun with and the strong bond that is created through fears, and understanding of the world. These boys were all shaped and touched by the essence that was Finny, he was their leader so to speak, and he was the one that they looked to for advice and reaction to the everyday commands of life and school.

posted by SunnyMay on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

SLOW TORTURE

This book is one of the worst i have read. I try to keep an open mind when i read books but this one was just plain dull. It was so boring and weird. If you like to slowly torture yourself, then this book is for you. I would put a no star on this book but the rating doe...
This book is one of the worst i have read. I try to keep an open mind when i read books but this one was just plain dull. It was so boring and weird. If you like to slowly torture yourself, then this book is for you. I would put a no star on this book but the rating doesn't go that low. Save Yourself!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Disappoinnted

    I found it SO easy to trail off in dreamland while reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It was ok

    The book was good at thw beginnig and end of the story, but the story started to get boring. I really wouldn't recommend it to anyone. the story was based in a all boys prep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Slow Read, Had a tough time sticking with it

    I usually whiz through novels in one sitting.. it took me weeks to finish this book because I found that I really could not get 'into' it.
    The character Finny, is fun to read about as he is charming and charismatic. However I found Gene, the narrator of the book, to be incredibly dull. This will definately not be a book that I read again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

    Though, I didn't hate this book. I didn't like it very much. <BR/>Maybe because I expected so much, I was disappointed. I had read and heard so much about this book that I couldn't wait to finally read it.<BR/>I think I'll keep it and reread it sometime in the future. I might like it then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    ...

    I was forced to read this in my AP English class and I have to tell you, it is the worse book ever. Do not waste your time on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Are you serious

    The book A SEPERATE PEACE by John Knowles was boring. I had to read in for my AP 11th grade English. I almost died of bordism reading this book. I love reading books but after this I couldnt pick up a book for months. This book should be banned from every bookstore and every home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Hmmm

    Like I said Hmm. I don't know how to explain this book. Alright I'll just be frank. I didn't really like it. I read it for my English Honers class this year. I love to read, seriously, no matter what it is for. I actually really enjoy History too spefically WW 2. I was excited about this book when our teacher started to talk about it. A Seperate Peace really didn't do it for me though. First it moved rather slow and second it was boring and a little weird. I know it is discussing the depth of freindship and all but some of the things Gene and Finny did seemed very 'girly.' I guess it was more how they talked to each other and how they acted together. In my opion A Seperate Peace is not the book to read if you are looking for an entertaning book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Have to read in 2 weeks

    This book is on the required reading list in my English class. My teacher just assigned it to us and we have to read the whole thing in two weeks, then take a test on it. I've already read the first three chapters and they've been increasingly slow. This book is very boring and kind of cruel, though I think it just needs time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    had to read

    The book A Separate Peace is a coming of age tragedy set in New England during World War 2. The main characters consist of Gene, the narrator and protagonist of the story, and Finny who is Gene best friend and class mate. Gene likes and hates Finny Because he his envious and resentful of Finnys athletic ability and that Finny is a morally superior peron. Finny does not return Genes resentment, and Gene becomes more jealous of finny. I didnt care for A Separate Peace due to the book seamed to move slow. It was hard to follow with the narrator jumping back and forth from past to present. You had to read between the lines to understand what the symbols represented. Even though I didnt like the book, I think most readers will enjoy the love and hate relationship of two friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    hated it

    This book was on the required reading list for my English class. The overall story line was ok, but the book in itself was horrible. Even my English teacher doesn't like this book. Of course, it all depends on your taste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Passionless

    Well, the overall plot was adequate enough; however, the author did not seem as if he was passionate about his own story line. The characters, even those that were supposedly lively and spirited, were an absolute bore to read about. Gene was merely a whiny, immature character, while Finny was manipulative and slightly pompous, assuming that he could get away with anything. In conclusion, I neither enjoyed the lifeless storyline nor the outward friendship of the two boys. The 'friendship' was more of a jealous obsession if anything. Great use of symbolism though, especially having the tree be a symbol of the fall from the Garden of Eden (absolutely brilliant).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Keep Back 200 ft. !

    One of the worst books I've ever read. I had to read this for school and went into it with an open mind. I soon found that this book was quite confusing and very phycological. There is a lot of symbolism which takes away from the plot (If there is one).Overall I'd stay away from this troubled book unless you really have to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    eh i've read better, read worse

    i had to read this book for a summer assignment. it had a pretty slow and boring starting but once the characters started fighting it got better and then when a main character dies its the highlight of the book. for the most part if you like war stories you might enjoy this one. me on the other hand was not to happy with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2004

    YAWN

    A Seperate Peace is not an intersting book for teenagers. It is extreamily descriptive with very little action. It starts with a flashback but never returns to present time to come out of the flashback. This book deals with issues that every human being deals with such as jealousy and friendship. A Seperate Peace tends to explain every detail of every setting Gene, the narrator, enters but fails to explain what he is thinking. It is very draged out. I would not recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    Seperate Peace: Slow but moving

    'A Seperate Peace' is a good book but it is boring in many ways. The book has a very weak plot and there is a major lack of action, or anything else that will catch the readers attention. The characters in the novel were created horribly. They have a lack of personalities. Brinker for instance has no importance at all besides bringing up new topics. In the beginning of the book, Gene is visiting his old school, then he has a flashback and at the end not once did it go back to present time. Gene never returned from his flashback. Overall I would give rate this book five out of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Tale of Two Friendships

    The book, A Separate Peace is a story about two character¿s lives during the war. Their names are Finny and Gene. I felt that this book wasn¿t very interesting and wasn¿t very well written. Many parts of this book are confusing. In the book, it talks mostly about Gene and Finny¿s friendship and some of the other people at their school, Devon. Gene and Finny are very good friends until the middle of the book when Gene pushes Finny out of the tree. After that Gene holds a grudge against Finny for a while. Finny acts like there isn't a war going on. In chapter eleven he realizes that there really is. Finny has actually been trying to enlist in the war the through out the whole book. In the book Finny breaks his leg twice. The first time is when Gene pushes him out of the tree. The second time he falls down the stairs. He gets upset after the meeting that they had about Gene pushing him out of the tree. This is foreshadowed in chapter 1. If i had to rate this story on a scale of one to ten I would give it a 5 because it isn¿t very interesting and hard to comprehend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    a seperate peace

    A Separate Peace The novel, ¿A Separate Peace,¿ is a novel about a young boy, Gene, and his friend, Finny, who are attending a boys prep school. I thought that the book was a poor attempt at showing the drama of the war. Sure, it was hard for them, but they were locked away in a school, comparing this to others during the war, they¿re spoiled whiney little kids. Finny was, what l think, brainwashed by a perfect life, that he didn¿t believe in the war. although it was well written, and the author seemed to have passion in his writing, l still disliked this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    NEEDS MORE ACTION!

    After reading ¿A Separate Peace¿ I felt that it was an okay book. It had a well thought out plot and story line. The characters were interesting and very unique. I especially like Leper before he went off to war. The author used a broad variety of words, which helped make the story more descriptive. At times though, this book was hard to follow and confusing. I also think that the story should have more action such as war scenes, or a fist fight. Overall this book could have been much better if it had more excitement. I would not recommend this book for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    A Dissapointing Book

    I really didn¿t like John Knowles¿ ¿A Separate Peace.¿ I had no interest in this or any other book. I thought it would be a book about war, but it was about some boys in school. The ending disappointed me also, but I don¿t want to give it away for people who haven't read the book yet. The book was kind of unrealistic too. Like the room in the school for kids to smoke cigarettes. No school would have a room like that. There were a few interesting parts, but overall it wasn¿t a good book. The best part about it is that it is only 196 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Just Another Peace

    A separate peace I didn't like the book personally. I thought the book was pretty boring. The First chapter should have had more suspense put into it, so that you would actually want to keep reading it. We had to read this book for school and, the only books I like to read have allot more action in them. That's what makes me want to read books. But this book, once you get to the end of a chapter required for you to read, you just quit there because it is so boring. The characters in this book didn't quite interest me either. They were just plane kids, doing normal things. The author should have taken them a step further than normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3