Customer Reviews for

Separation of Power (Mitch Rapp Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

strong espionage thriller

He had been in power for so long that he owned presidents, but now CIA Director Thomas Stansfeld is dead and much of DC celebrates. The festive mood changes to horror when the realization begins to surface that Stansfeld¿s top assistant, Dr. Irene Kennedy is his most l...
He had been in power for so long that he owned presidents, but now CIA Director Thomas Stansfeld is dead and much of DC celebrates. The festive mood changes to horror when the realization begins to surface that Stansfeld¿s top assistant, Dr. Irene Kennedy is his most likely replacement. Her opposition has set in motion powerful plans to wreck any permanent appointment of Kennedy.

However, Kennedy¿s biggest problem is that her star assassin Mitch Rapp wants out as soon as he completes his final mission. Soon Mitch learns that Iraq is closing in on nuclear weaponry that Saddam protects beneath a hospital cover. Mitch will lead the assault team on the facility knowing that if he fails the Israelis will follow and a wider war will ensue. In spite of the stakes, the extreme elements opposed to Kennedy getting the top CIA job including links to the Halls of Congress will do anything to make Mitch fail even if World War III occurs.

The follow up to THE THIRD OPTION, SEPARATION OF POWER, is a tremendous espionage thriller that never slows down for even a moment. The story line is action-packed and Mitch is what we need right now in Afghanistan even if he wants to retire. Though some of the actions of the anti-Kennedy group seem bizarre when weighed against the cost, many readers will look at real terrorist acts and think nothing much of the anti-Kennedy crowd, sad as that seems. Once again, Vince Flynn provides a strong espionage thriller that makes this author the prime option of choice for genre fans.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book

Did not disappoint. If your a fan of the Mitch Rapp seies, you will love this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    Vince Flynn knows how to build a page turner.

    Vince Flynn does a terrific job of moving the action/plot without sending you in too many directions. I'm a female who only reads romance. His books are captivating and fast moving. He does a superlative job!! I've read five of his books and I can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong espionage thriller

    He had been in power for so long that he owned presidents, but now CIA Director Thomas Stansfeld is dead and much of DC celebrates. The festive mood changes to horror when the realization begins to surface that Stansfeld¿s top assistant, Dr. Irene Kennedy is his most likely replacement. Her opposition has set in motion powerful plans to wreck any permanent appointment of Kennedy. <P>However, Kennedy¿s biggest problem is that her star assassin Mitch Rapp wants out as soon as he completes his final mission. Soon Mitch learns that Iraq is closing in on nuclear weaponry that Saddam protects beneath a hospital cover. Mitch will lead the assault team on the facility knowing that if he fails the Israelis will follow and a wider war will ensue. In spite of the stakes, the extreme elements opposed to Kennedy getting the top CIA job including links to the Halls of Congress will do anything to make Mitch fail even if World War III occurs. <P> The follow up to THE THIRD OPTION, SEPARATION OF POWER, is a tremendous espionage thriller that never slows down for even a moment. The story line is action-packed and Mitch is what we need right now in Afghanistan even if he wants to retire. Though some of the actions of the anti-Kennedy group seem bizarre when weighed against the cost, many readers will look at real terrorist acts and think nothing much of the anti-Kennedy crowd, sad as that seems. Once again, Vince Flynn provides a strong espionage thriller that makes this author the prime option of choice for genre fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Fast moving story

    Vince Flynn is an author makes you want to read his next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Definitely recommend

    Love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    I LOVE ALL MITCH RAPP BOOKS

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Suspenseful

    Ordered for my husband - he says reading this author really gets his adrenaline pumping.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    SEPARATION OF AUTHORS!

    Vince Flynn continually lives up to the hype with his books. This is another exciting, edge-of-your-seat, fast-paced thriller. The characters evoke emotions of love/hate. I can't wait to start 'Executive Power' and 'Memorial Day'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Great read!

    I find Vince Flynn's books do not start quickly. I mean the action does not begin on first page, but after the foundation is set, the pace quickens and you are apined to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Great read

    I love the books. But I have to agree with the other reviewers about Anna. This is my second go-round with reading the series and she is even more annoying this time. She's the epitome of the woman who says I love you and everything about you, but now that you love me you have to change this major part of yourself or I'm going to act stupid. Her background doesn't match up to her actions and reactions. But the stories are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Real page turner!

    Vince Flynn is the greatest. I cannot believe this talented, timely author is gone. I have read 6 of Flynn's books, and I will most certainly finish the entire Mitch Rapp series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Once again, I terrific book that makes it impossible to put down

    Once again, I terrific book that makes it impossible to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    WOW! Vince Flynn really knows how to tell a story. It was hard to put the book down. From the first page to the last I was riveted to the story. It is fast-paced, engaging, and so relevant to things happening in today's world. In addition to being tremendously entertaining it will make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mitch Rapp is awesome!

    If only life could be as simple as it is for Mitch. See a problem kill the problem. awesome character paced and storied excellently. Thanks so much!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Sandpaw

    *pads in and makes a nest out of twigs, moss and feathers. She lays down and falls fast asleep*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    MUST READ

    Wow - every book I read by Vince Flynn gets better and better. The Mitch Rapp series is terrific - The multiple stories taking place and putting the pieces together keeps the reader guessing. I love the background that Flynn gives so you get a better understanding each book of his characters - If you have never read a book by Vince Flynn - You need to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    A Great Read

    At first glance i wasn't sure how this novel would read, however after a few minutes of debating i decided to buy it. When i got home i opened it and was hooked. I was so immersed in SOP that lost track of time. If you like reading Clancy and ludlum, then Vince Flynn is another author you should ad on your list. I can't wait to get started in his others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    An Author who is second to none

    This book, like all of his others, is non stop reading. All of Vince's writing is about current affairs and are very true to life. I work the midnight shift and have found that when I get home in the mornings, I have to make a decision on whether I want to sleep or read. If I choose to read one of Vince's books, I may as well forget about sleep. This is one Author that even after working all night, his books are so on the edge of your seat good you can't put them down even though I have been awake all night. I hope you keep them coming and I hope that movies will eventually be made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2003

    Want to see it on Film

    Mr. Flynn...love all of your books...I want to write a screenplay based on one of them...are you interested in giving me a chance? I won't disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Flynn just keeps getting better and better!

    Look out Tom Clancy, Vince Flynn is on your heels and closing fast! Mitch Rapp is Jack Ryan on steroids. And what do you do for the C.I.A., Mr. Rapp? "I kill terrorists"! Lets send Mitch Rapp after Osama and Saddam! Thank you for such a great read, I look forward to your next installment in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 288 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15