BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

September

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Another great read

I loved this book for its vivid characters, enchanting descriptions of the town, but mostly because it pulled me along in the story of people being people, and Ms. Pilcher made me care about them. The story takes place in a time slot of the summer, but her flashes bac...
I loved this book for its vivid characters, enchanting descriptions of the town, but mostly because it pulled me along in the story of people being people, and Ms. Pilcher made me care about them. The story takes place in a time slot of the summer, but her flashes back fill in all the reader needs to know about the wonderful characters she builds. My only comment is that, because of the descriptions, a reader who wants to move quickly in a book storyline, or who likes the quick punches of the mystery novel might want to look at a few pages before deciding if it's 'their kind of book.' For the rest of us who love a good read with a cup of coffee or tea by a fire, this is truly great. It only gets better with 'Coming Home' and 'Winter Solstice'--her next great books after 'September.' Please don't say the book is boring. That's not right, but only seems that way to a reader who likes a different type of novel altogether. For the Pilcher-type readers, this is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Boring

I usually love Ms. Pilcher's books so I kept reading this long after I should have given up. By the time I finished I wondered why I bothered.

posted by Anonymous on August 4, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Another great read

    I loved this book for its vivid characters, enchanting descriptions of the town, but mostly because it pulled me along in the story of people being people, and Ms. Pilcher made me care about them. The story takes place in a time slot of the summer, but her flashes back fill in all the reader needs to know about the wonderful characters she builds. My only comment is that, because of the descriptions, a reader who wants to move quickly in a book storyline, or who likes the quick punches of the mystery novel might want to look at a few pages before deciding if it's 'their kind of book.' For the rest of us who love a good read with a cup of coffee or tea by a fire, this is truly great. It only gets better with 'Coming Home' and 'Winter Solstice'--her next great books after 'September.' Please don't say the book is boring. That's not right, but only seems that way to a reader who likes a different type of novel altogether. For the Pilcher-type readers, this is a must read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    Wonderful Book

    I read this book every single September, and it is in the top five all-time favorites of mine. It is beautifully written, and the characters are much loved. I just wish Ms. Pilcher were still writing, because I LOVE her books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great writing style

    I love Rosamunde Pilcher's novels, not so much the short stories. I have read and re-read her books many times. I am delighted to get them in E form. I am just now reading them all again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great classic romance! Must Read!

    This is another all time favorite of mine. A great romance. A must read for any lover of love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Rainy day by the fire

    Typical Pilcher book. I so enjoy her characters and the way in which she introduces them and is so descriptive of their homeland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    NO THANKS!

    I must say right off that I did not read the entire book...I could'nt get through it. It was just so tedious and boring. Note to the author, we don't need to have such a detailed description of EVERYTHING!! By the time I was less than 100 pages into it, I was ready to pull my hair out.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    One of my favorite books......

    This is one of my favorite books. One that I have read over and over. I love the characters, and the insight into living in northern Scotland. I have read all of Ms Pilcher's books, but this one, and Winter Solstice, are the ones I keep coming back to like 'comfort food'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Very Boring

    I usually love Ms. Pilcher's books so I kept reading this long after I should have given up. By the time I finished I wondered why I bothered.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    My favorite author

    I enjoyed September even more the second time I read it. Ms. Pilchar creates the most wonderful characters that stay with you for years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    LEAVE

    Unless you post in september.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Moone

    >:3 MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Vynx

    Hm...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Candy

    Aah! Your gonna give me a nightmare! But l still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Torn Apart part1

    Broken Heart shook under her covers, cold. It was the middle of the winter, and there was no heating in the attic. With only a thin sheet to keep warm, she shivered as the night went on. She was only a filly, about 10 years of age, and was nearly freezing to death. Every time she closed her eyes, she feared it would be the last. Very slowly, she drifted off to sleep. <p> Broken awoke to the pain of her side being whipped, leaving a red mark. Tears flooded her eyes, but she didnt cry. She was used to it. She followed the Master outside, along with many other young ponies her age. Scars adorned each of their sides, the older the more scars. As they walked, the herd of foal slaves reached the stable. Once again, it was covered with crisp white snow. Broken picked up a shovel and began shoveling all the snow out. The other ponies did the same, hauling snow out of the stable. This happened every day of the winter. Brokens entire life was work for the Master. Whether it was shoveling or plowing the feilds, or at least attempting to and getting whipped. About half an hour later, they were done. "Its about time." The Master growled. "Now clean every room in this house. If one of these rooms is dirty, all of you will be punished." With that, the fillys and colts scrambled off to a room, hoping not to get whipped again. Broken raced up the stairs to the attic. It took a while, as there were many stairs in the mansion. She grabbed a broom on the way up and quickly began sweeping the floor. Dust flew up, causing her to cough. It was still cold as he<_>ll in the attic, but she prefered it to any other spot in the mansion. She didnt know why, but this was where she felt most comfertable, though comfertable would be an exaggeration, considering what horrible ordeals shed gone through in here. She heard hoofsteps walking up the stairs to the attic. She wasnt finished cleaning yet whuch meant..."Not done?" The Master grumbled. He levitated a knife from his pocket, it hovering above Brokens Cutie Mark. "Looks like somepony needs to learn their lesson."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    wonderful--maybe people who think it's boring should stick to co

    wonderful--maybe people who think it's boring should stick to comic books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Loved the Shell Seekers! Found this one boring.

    After reading the Shell Seekers, I couldn't wait to read another book by this author. I am almost finished reading it, but it has not been fun. Nothing has happened on much consequence in over 300 pages. Unless something big happens in the last 60 pages, I just wasted my money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    A favorite

    *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!

    i've never read a book from this author and thought i would give it a try based on the back cover. it reminded me of books written by maeve binchy. NOT!!!!!!!!

    "september" was extremely boring that i didn't even make it to the middle of the book before returning it back to the store. the descriptions were endless that i found myself saying, ok, ok, get on with the story. well, since the book failed to grab me from the very beginning, i would say that it only deserve one star.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2005

    horrible!!!!!!

    I am sorry, but i bought this book because it had good reviews. however, i found it entirely boring. I could not get into it. it was to tedious and long winded. i would not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2