Customer Reviews for

September Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I am Channy....and i aprove this message....smile!

I really enjoyed this book....if you have been through pain but were unable to let it go or let it out...you will relate. Yes it took a while to get there....but i almost think that was the point....i especially liked the e-mails/letters back and forth...very touching a...
I really enjoyed this book....if you have been through pain but were unable to let it go or let it out...you will relate. Yes it took a while to get there....but i almost think that was the point....i especially liked the e-mails/letters back and forth...very touching and sweet story.

posted by ChantalF on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Buildup almost always let me down

The most painful love storyline I've read in quite some time. The author tried to tie together too many people/things. The transitions were terrible and I was often going back to reread just to figure out how the story got from one thing to another within a matter of ...
The most painful love storyline I've read in quite some time. The author tried to tie together too many people/things. The transitions were terrible and I was often going back to reread just to figure out how the story got from one thing to another within a matter of a few short pages. Jeremy spent half the book chasing down Jo, then flipped the script within a page or two. Huh? It seemed someone was crying on every other page. The buildups were pretty good until you got to the thing the author was building up to--then total letdown.

posted by 6070176 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    The Buildup almost always let me down

    The most painful love storyline I've read in quite some time. The author tried to tie together too many people/things. The transitions were terrible and I was often going back to reread just to figure out how the story got from one thing to another within a matter of a few short pages. Jeremy spent half the book chasing down Jo, then flipped the script within a page or two. Huh? It seemed someone was crying on every other page. The buildups were pretty good until you got to the thing the author was building up to--then total letdown.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I am Channy....and i aprove this message....smile!

    I really enjoyed this book....if you have been through pain but were unable to let it go or let it out...you will relate. Yes it took a while to get there....but i almost think that was the point....i especially liked the e-mails/letters back and forth...very touching and sweet story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Comfort Food.

    If you want to cuddle up under a blanket on a rainy day and get away from the world for a while, pick this one up. I read it a little bit each night for a week, and I liked it. The only thing I would improve is that I felt like the ending was a little expected and rushed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Chick lit, $3.00, 560 pages, lots of pathos and drama

    I paid $3.00 for this 560 page novel. It is chick lit. There is a lot of pathos, drama and terrible saddness in this book. It is well edited. It is about a mixed race, African American family and a british actor on the verge of insanity. There is some sterotyping, violence, cursing, sex, infildelity, death, no joy or happiness and so many depressing events, I could hardly read this suppossed romance. It left me feeling feeling so overburdened with saddness, I took a nap, unable to face the rest of the day. This book was not all bad. The novel was well written, it had a good flow and nicely detailed. The plot was not unique. The characters were rather flat. Quite frankly, I wish I had skipped this one. I read to feel good, learn, get away from my problems, for entertainment and to feel enriched. This book satisfied none of my needs. For adult readers.

    AD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Not my favorite

    I was not impressed with the lack of depth given to each character. I was surprised that 2 topics with so much potential were so poorly defined. If I read 1 more time about Joe in a crying fit, I was going to scream! This novel should have been a short story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Really? Stereotypical lines like: "He'd never heard her spe

    Really? Stereotypical lines like: "He'd never heard her speak more African American..."
    Writing like this by a white woman perpetuating black stereotypes is rather sad and unfortunate.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    If i could, I would give this book a 10+!!

    If i could, I would give this book a 10+!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    Great storyline!! One of those stories you hate to put down!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Would not read again

    This book with it's trauma to the main character was great, how she led her life as a result showing a lack of moral compass and direction caused me to stop reading the book. The book reveals great love between mother and daughter and that should have been healing for the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Heartfelt

    Just over 500 pages of developing love, heartbreak and healing. The characters were complex and interesting and my heart was in constant fluctuation. Enjoyable, realistic and touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Beautiful

    Lovely story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1