Customer Reviews for

The Seraph Seal

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's fun to read this book now, in the year 2012, considering al

    It's fun to read this book now, in the year 2012, considering all the talks everywhere about the "end of the world [as we know it]". People are not sure what to think, how to react, and who knows - a thought lingers in mind - perhaps the world will truly change on December 21, 2012.

    The plot of the book is set in the year 2048 - 36 years after the apocalyptic date predicted by ancient Mayans. The world has changed - technology rules as never before, everything is connected and automated. Yet for the professor of history and cultural semiotics (signs), Dr. Paul Binder, the past contains mysteries he is invited to examine - and he is the one specifically chosen for this even before he was born.
    The book is suspenseful, yet it took me a bit to adjust to all the new terminology. Considering all the technological advances along with new political and religious systems, there is a lot to get used to. Also there are a lot of characters besides the main ones. However, once you know what is going on, the story becomes really intriguing and entertaining.

    If you are into conspiracy and literature like Da Vinci Code, if you like history and religion mixture, this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is a very uniqu

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is a very unique take on the end of the world based on the four horsemen of the Apocalypse found in the Book of Revelation in the Bible. The book is a combination of religious fiction and sci/fi set in the future in the year 2049. The Seraph Seal contains many religious and historical references. While some readers my find the constant introduction of characters, religious and historical references confusing, I found it an enjoyable challenge to keep the straight and make connections between each. One of my favorite genres is religious fiction due to the fact that I teach religion. I loved the combination of historical and religious facts intertwined. Religion is best understood in conjunction with the historical facts of the era. I felt that Sweet and Wagner did a wonderful of blending the two. The Seraph Seal is a much for detailed version of a Dan Brown book - which I loved. While I personally love The Seraph Seal, I wouldn't recommend it to someone who is religiously conservative or sensitive to new takes on Scripture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    The Seraph Seal

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is a beautifully well written Christian mystery fiction. The book makes me feel as if I was reading Dan Brown's books, minus the guilty pleasure of having to read something blasphemous. This is a very exciting fiction to read.The storyline is very amazing and there's even illustration on objects in this book.

    I highly recommends this book to those who loves a good mystery. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Enjoyed it

    This is a fictional book about the apocalypse. It is derived from the Book of Revelation and the four horsemen of the apocalypse. I always like reading books and watching movies with the end of the world theme. Let us just not forget that nobody will ever know when the time will be.

    The book started in the year 2012 when the chosen one is born and so with the horsemen. Then the plot will fast forward to 36 years after their birth in 2048.

    In 2048, the world will be so much different. USA will not be the most powerful country anymore, churches will just be like museums and believers will be underground. Natural disasters and national crisis is significantly increasing all over the world. Paul the chosen one receives signs and learns of his role. He will search and lead the 4 horsemen and humanity to the New Beginning.

    The book is very long and since there are a few characters from all over the world. The first few chapters will be a little confusing since the plot will bounce from one person to the next. But once you get to know the characters, it will be easier and fast pace. Dan Brown fans would like this. It is complete with mystery, suspence, history, religion, politics and love.

    I would recommend this book if you are not religiously and politically sensitive.
    I received this book free from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out

    The year is 2048, and Paul Binder has just received a mysterious message; speaking vaguely of the eight horsemen, and of the future of the world. Matt Serafino, the new, flagitious president of the USAMERICA, trying to cope with the many catastrophes the world is going through. Food is scarce, because of the overuse of creating synthetic energy. The four good horsemen meet with each other in an intriguing matter, trying to piece together the seemingly unending puzzle. Paul Binder's quest is to lead humanity to a new and better future, but will he prevail, or watch the earth crumble into complete destruction?
    I found it very compelling, suspenseful, and a perfect mix of truth and fiction. I enjoyed all of the realistic characters, brought to life by the authors. The plot continued to unfold, but did not divulge anything until the final pages. I loved that while these characters were going about their business, they found their own void of truth, and of God. The catastrophic events were very well depicted, in fact, they were entirely believable. Overall, A very easy-to-read, captivating book that was impossible to put down. I would highly recommend this book to somewhat mature readers, though others may enjoy it as well.

    Sincerely,
    Richard (The Boppy) Lauer

    P.S. Booksneeze gave me a free copy of this book to review honestly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Great story!

    Going on vacation this summer? Looking for a great book to read while you are lounging by the water? (I was pretending I was doing that while I was reading it) Than look no further. You have to get your hands on The Seraph Seal. The book was a great mixture of mystery and suspense, mingled with "end times" prophesy. I loved it! Readers of Dan Brown would enjoy this book, it takes you on a trip around the world and makes you long for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Good Read

    The Seraph Seal written by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is an epic tale about the four horsemen and the Apocalypse of Revelation. This book is well over 400 pages long. However it is a fast-paced, gripping suspenseful novel with interesting characters and an amazing ending that is well-written.
    This is my first experience with the genre that is called "engaged fiction". As a matter of fact, I had never even heard the term "engaged fiction" before beginning to read The Seraph Seal. It is a blending of fiction and non-fiction, so you have the edge of fiction with the reality of truth blended in the story.
    The book did provide some realistic depictions of future technology and even some of the alarming trends that are occurring in society now. However, even though I am not a theologian, I noticed that the authors strayed far away from the biblical point of view with their interpretation with the Apocalypse.
    My only real complaint about the book is that it does something that I consider annoying and that is jumping back and forth between different areas of the world far too often. Because of this, it isn't a book that you will sit down and read mindlessly...not if you want to keep up with the story line.
    I gave The Seraph Seal a 3 out 5 stars, because I did enjoy the story and I would recommend it to my friends to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    End of the World With Love

    Looking for a Dan Brown-type book about the end of the world? Wishing you could read something that takes more brain power than your typical Christian fiction?

    Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner have teamed up to deliver a knockout: The Seraph Seal.

    Historian Paul Binder has received a cryptic message and you journey with him through the many clues and dangers that follow.

    You have complex characters, long forgotten, symbolic traditions, plus a love story. You will have a lot of information to process even if they include descriptions and a glossary and the end to keep your imagination flowing toward what could possibly be coming our way.

    This story takes a few chapters to get up to speed, but once you're familiar with everyone you will enjoy the rest of the ride.
    The Seraph Seal

    This book was provided for review, at no cost, by Thomas Nelson Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Don't Be Put Off by the Many Pages

    The Seraph Seal
    Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner ©2011
    Thomas Nelson Publishers
    ISBN 9978-0-8499-2077-6
    420 pp, with 87 pp definitions plus notes (ppbk)

    My first thought on receiving this book: FOUR HUNDRED and TWENTY PAGES of story plus all those definitions! But the writing pulled me in and the story moved so quickly the book seemed too short. My interest never lagged.
    The authors recommend reading the definitions before starting the story. That grounds the tale in reality and makes the book more understandable, especially since many of the definitions are about actual events and organizations from our present time. The writers blended these into a story set in 2048, when the world faces total destruction.
    Eight people, four on each of two teams, all born at the exact same moment in 2012 will either save Christians from around the world, or destroy everything. The President of the United States heads up the destructive team, determined to stop the righteous group. Which team will win? That question will keep you on the edge of your seat as the tale progresses.
    The inability of the evil team (except for one surprise) to grasp what is happening in the world, that true blindness of unbelievers the Bible mentions, nevertheless is astounding. While reading, I wondered if this team might finally learn the truth-they came close at times. The writers keep readers in finger-nail biting moments, sure disaster will hit everyone.
    A book well worth the many pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    The End Is Coming

    This is a fictional book about the end of the world. However, as I write this on the 8th day of June, 2011, I wake to the worst solar flares to hit earth in 5 years-the major force of destruction in the book. E-coli outbreaks in Europe-a major disease wipes out towns in the book. The most fantastic picture of a volcano eruption I have ever seen-which is how the sky on earth is described for the last third or so of the book. Earthquakes, war, famine; it is all in there. The story takes place in the year 2048 with the destruction of earth happening on December 12th of that year. Being set in the future there is quite a bit of "techno talk". At first I felt like Sheriff Carter standing in the middle of Eureka trying to figure what all the brilliant scientists were talking about. But it is easy to get used to and only used sporadically throughout the book. The story is extremely interesting and easy to read. It moves at a good pace and really starts to pick up at the end. I definitely couldn't wait to finish the last 50 pages or so. The very end was a big surprise. I am not sure I would categorize this as Christian fiction. The book relies heavily on mysticism, the Mayan prophecy concerning 2012, and science in regards to the end of the world. In my opinion they are more prevalent in the story than the Word of God. Kabbalah is a big player in all that is going on. I have to admit that it has been a while since I have done an end of times study of the Bible. But I don't think The Seraph Seal holds true to the Biblical account of end times. However, it does make me want to find a good study guide and do a bit of research on the subject. All in all it is an entertaining and easy book to read. However, if you dislike anything that deviates from Scripture, this probably isn't for you. This book was provided free of charge by Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program in exchange for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Seraph Seal

    If you like Indiana Jones or Robert Langdon, then you would probably like this biblical-adventure fiction written by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner. This is the kind of book that you will either will like it, or you just don't.

    Seraph Seal is full of symbolic prose and is rather fast paced, and it takes quite a lot to decipher the message behind this book.

    Some people may not like this book, but I happen to like this book. To me, this book have quite a depth to it, and it was well researched. I like the biblical symbolism used and the foreshadowing in the story, and unlike Dan Brown's stories, I did not feel guilty after reading it for the storyline was not blasphemous in nature.

    Anyway, the book is well written for a biblical fiction, and I look for more of this kind of story from both of the authors.

    I would recommend definitely recommend this to those of high taste for fiction. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher in exchange of an honest review. I was under no obligation to write a positive review for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Interesting Read!

    This book is billed as an "epic tale of good and evil based on the four horsemen of the Apocalypse found in the book of Revelation".

    It sounded pretty intense, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. After reading, I would certainly call the story epic, a futuristic tale of life in 2048 (which is, with any luck, in my lifetime) when Earth has been ravaged.

    It reminded me a little of the myriad books where the main character analyzes cryptic letters and prophecies, so at times it felt a little like something I had already read.

    However, if you're going on vacation this summer, and looking for a book to take along, check this out.

    [Please note that I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1