Customer Reviews for

The Seraph Seal

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting fictional view of the Apocalypse

    Wow, excellent story. On December 21, 2012 at 21:00 hours, only 9 babies are born in the whole world. These are the children of the prophecies, the ones that will decide the fate of the people of the earth, the horsemen of the Apocalypse, four good, four evil and one to organize and lead them. The main story opens in 2048 when these children are 31 and have established themselves as adults. None know of their spiritual destiny except one who surmises that he can rule the world by following and using a spell and ritual. Although a work of fiction it does follow the prophecies quite closely and uses them freely to help explain what is happening at that time to the atmosphere, the people, the world, and the sun. The story flows from West Virginia to the Hills of Bashan as four of the people learn about religious history in a time when churches are merely museums and "real" Christians are forces to hide their faith underground as science and New Selfers (I like that term) have taken over society. The book is full of historical instruction and yet it is so much a part of the story that the reader hardly even realizes that the content teaches. The back of the book contains a glossery of words that would help a reader who wasn't religiously schooled in the end-of-time terms.
    Thank you to BookSneeze for providing a copy for review. I was not instructed to provide a favourable review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Better Than Some End-Of-the-World Christian Stories, But Not Great

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is an interesting look at a possible unfolding of the end times. The Seraph Seal looks at the trends in our society today and postulates how they might play out if events kept compounding. The story surrounds a historian named Paul Brinker who is given a special message on the day of his birth in the year 2012. Strange events happen to him later in adulthood with signs and messages that tell him he is the key to saving a remnant of humanity before the world ends in the year 2048.

    It's a race before time, though as Paul needs to decipher the clues before the "four horsemen of the apocalypse" are assembled. Plus, it has to happen in the midst of global catastrophes and technological breakdowns. The story is a fascinating and compelling read at points, at other times it drags a bit. I wish it had more of a inspirational point for the reader to take away from it as Leonard Sweet's nonfiction does.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Great start, Terrible middle and End. Author forgot what he was writing.

    Beginning was catchy and a fun quick read, but the story became silly, then downright illogical in the middle, and the end killed it. It's like a movie that builds up and then... suddenly a dud ending that answers none of the build up.

    Beginning was very intriguing, fun and exciting. You want to know how things are going to play out. The book has some great ideas and it builds up a lot of expectations. The story moves along quickly, so you don't lose interest.

    But the middle falls flat and feels like the author had to rush the story because the writing in the middle is not good at all. The time lines are lost. The good-guy main characters' story developes over 2 weeks. The rest of the world experiences months: the loss of ocean life, all water dries up, loss of food, loss of civilized controlled economy, civil war... all in the same time the good main characters only live about 2 weeks. Clearly, the author lost track of his own story!

    The other part of the middle that killed was the author created a unique adult genius character, then forgot the character was supposed to be a super genius and ended up making the character behave like a scared, weak, child. I can't believe a real author lost such track of his own character development! How can you be a super genious nuclear physicist with an insane vocabulary one moment, then not know how to feed a bird and not know to avoid acid rain?

    I can't even go into the ending. I expected Jesus to come back and destroy all the people and save everyone and Mount Zion come to earth or something even biblical related. But the author takes a very VERY un-end-times approach with the end. This was very disappointing. The ending was cut short so quickly, I was looking for at least another three chapters!

    Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge from the publisher but I am giving my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not recommended

    Think back to high school. How many of you remember how horrible the reading assignments were? Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Oliver Twist. Do you remember the overwhelming sense of boredom you had every time you sat down to read? Or how you just wanted to get finished in order to move on to something more interesting, such as calculus homework?

    Those are all the feelings I got while trying to read The Seraph Seal. I tend to like apocalyptic books, but Leonard Sweet nearly bored me to death with this one. I admit that the beginning of the story was certainly intriguing, but soon enough it seemed like every character was dark and shady and was doing something behind the back of someone else. Of course, every good book has a bad character, but do we really need a whole cast of bad guys?

    There was one story line I could kind of get into, and that was Paul's. Even this wasn't enough to keep me engaged though, since every few paragraphs you jump to a different story line with a whole new set of characters. It became rather hard to keep all of the characters straight, especially when they didn't seem to have any connection to each other (or very loose connections.)

    The one good thing I can say about this story is that Leonard Sweet does very well with providing detailed descriptions. His descriptions of rooms and places could really help you imagine what he was visualizing when he wrote The Seraph Seal.

    Would I recommend this to anyone? No. I enjoy mysteries and thrillers, but after spending the better part of a day trying to become interested in this story, I've given up.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tantalizingly Edgey

    Set in the year 2048, this is an apocalyptic book. It is all about the end times as well as what will lead up to it. As natural disasters start happening everywhere, as knowledge increases and technology becomes a sort of super technology, and strange unexplained occurrences happen at every turn, the end of times is very near. Paul Binder finds a letter under very unfortunate circumstances addressed to him. He eventually is asked to review an ancient Syrian manuscript, and there he meets Angela Matthews Krall. Together they try to uncover the secrets of the manuscripts, and as they unfold answers they start to question their own faith in a time where not many people are left with faith. It all starts with a key, and ends with life changing discoveries. Will they be able to help humankind and our civilization as we know it? MY THOUGHTS: I liked this book. I was a little confused at parts, especially because there isn't really just one main character or even two, but rather many. It sort of flits back and forth between all of the main characters, but at the same time once you get into the novel it isn't hard to distinguish. I thought this book would be about the same as The DaVinci Code, but it was totally different. There are many notes, a reference key, as well as drawings that help greatly understand any confusing terms throughout the book. While I think that a person with a more academic background would enjoy this book more, I think anyone can enjoy it and take something away from the experience. I was at the edge of my seat throughout the entire book, and the extra keys in the back helped me along the parts I found difficult to understand. But I found this book all in all to be an eye opener. While I don't believe the world will end on a specific date it will happen one day, and there are certain things in this novel that we already have present in our current time. But I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoy apocalyptic novels. It will keep you turning the pages, and there are many points in this novel where I found it hard to put down. While enjoying this book I also learned quite a bit, and I would recommend it if you are interested in this type of novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Good Read

    The Seraph Seal written by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is an epic tale about the four horsemen and the Apocalypse of Revelation. This book is well over 400 pages long. However it is a fast-paced, gripping suspenseful novel with interesting characters and an amazing ending that is well-written.
    This is my first experience with the genre that is called "engaged fiction". As a matter of fact, I had never even heard the term "engaged fiction" before beginning to read The Seraph Seal. It is a blending of fiction and non-fiction, so you have the edge of fiction with the reality of truth blended in the story.
    The book did provide some realistic depictions of future technology and even some of the alarming trends that are occurring in society now. However, even though I am not a theologian, I noticed that the authors strayed far away from the biblical point of view with their interpretation with the Apocalypse.
    My only real complaint about the book is that it does something that I consider annoying and that is jumping back and forth between different areas of the world far too often. Because of this, it isn't a book that you will sit down and read mindlessly...not if you want to keep up with the story line.
    I gave The Seraph Seal a 3 out 5 stars, because I did enjoy the story and I would recommend it to my friends to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    The Seraph Seal -- a book review

    I loved the opening line of The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner! It was so thought-provoking that I closed the book after I read it to think on it and savor it.

    To light a candle is to signal its demise.

    Hmm... I still like that line. I like the candle metaphor for our lives. It crops up in so many places -- from the children's song, This little light of mine, to a line in another book I just read, reviewed and loved, The Monster in the Hollows by Andrew Peterson, in which the hero, Janner, is described as being "like a candle the Overseer (i.e. bad guy) couldn't put out."

    The problem with having a great first line is that then the book has something to live up to. I had high hopes. Could the rest of this book possibly be as intriguing as that first first sentence?

    In truth, there were some other good lines and thought-provoking sections. For instance, in talking about a concert-pianist-turned-priest, Sweet and Wagner wrote,

    Hardly anyone even believed in prayer anymore. But for Arnaud, it had been the turning point in his life -- the place where the music met the magic.

    I loved that picture of prayer being a link between music and God Himself.

    I liked the way the book drew from history --

    Newton regarded the universe as a kind of cryptogram, designed by God and open only to the intuitive and introspective imagination.

    With rich references to scientists such as Newton, artists such as Durer, composers such as Liszt, as well the Bible and other religious texts, the book is very thought-provoking.

    In the end, however, while I enjoyed snippets and pieces, the whole did not live up to my hopes. I'm glad I read it; I learned a lot -- looking up words like solopsism as I was reading and listening to Liszt's Mazeppa; I liked the way the authors pulled from so many disciplines to paint a picture, but the story itself did not satisfy.

    Knowing all that, would I read it again? Yes. Would I recommend it? Only if the story isn't of the highest importance. The parts are good, the whole not so much.

    I received this book for free from Booksneeze, a bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    End of the World With Love

    Looking for a Dan Brown-type book about the end of the world? Wishing you could read something that takes more brain power than your typical Christian fiction?

    Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner have teamed up to deliver a knockout: The Seraph Seal.

    Historian Paul Binder has received a cryptic message and you journey with him through the many clues and dangers that follow.

    You have complex characters, long forgotten, symbolic traditions, plus a love story. You will have a lot of information to process even if they include descriptions and a glossary and the end to keep your imagination flowing toward what could possibly be coming our way.

    This story takes a few chapters to get up to speed, but once you're familiar with everyone you will enjoy the rest of the ride.
    The Seraph Seal

    This book was provided for review, at no cost, by Thomas Nelson Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Review of The Seraph Seal by Sweet and Wagner

    In The Searaph Seal, Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner present a possible future, one in which God in His mercy provides mankind with an escape from destruction. In 2048, Paul Binder, a Virginia historian, receives a mysterious message that begins his own journey toward God. Through a series of strange circumstances, Paul meets others who will help him decipher an ancient manuscript and attempt to find a way for mankind to survive. The new president of the US, Matthew Serafino, however, has his own plans for the earth's population and his own place within society. Both Paul and Serafino attempt in the end to bring about differing results for the earth, and only God knows the results.

    The Seraph Seal is an intriguing example of apocalyptic fiction as well as future history based on current society. Even for those like myself who have read quite a bit of apocalyptic fiction, there is much new here to delight the reader. Bringing in elements from history, art, literature, and religion, Sweet and Wagner have managed to create a view of the apocalypse that is different and yet sound according to scripture. In addition, their reading of today's society and their warnings to our current population are interesting and telling; whether it is cloud computing or consumerism, this book is a clarion call to those who would like to avoid such a bad ending as that portrayed in the book. Very involved and well-written, this book is addictive for those who want Christian fiction for the educated person.

    I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for a review. All opinions in this review are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Don't Be Put Off by the Many Pages

    The Seraph Seal
    Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner ©2011
    Thomas Nelson Publishers
    ISBN 9978-0-8499-2077-6
    420 pp, with 87 pp definitions plus notes (ppbk)

    My first thought on receiving this book: FOUR HUNDRED and TWENTY PAGES of story plus all those definitions! But the writing pulled me in and the story moved so quickly the book seemed too short. My interest never lagged.
    The authors recommend reading the definitions before starting the story. That grounds the tale in reality and makes the book more understandable, especially since many of the definitions are about actual events and organizations from our present time. The writers blended these into a story set in 2048, when the world faces total destruction.
    Eight people, four on each of two teams, all born at the exact same moment in 2012 will either save Christians from around the world, or destroy everything. The President of the United States heads up the destructive team, determined to stop the righteous group. Which team will win? That question will keep you on the edge of your seat as the tale progresses.
    The inability of the evil team (except for one surprise) to grasp what is happening in the world, that true blindness of unbelievers the Bible mentions, nevertheless is astounding. While reading, I wondered if this team might finally learn the truth-they came close at times. The writers keep readers in finger-nail biting moments, sure disaster will hit everyone.
    A book well worth the many pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    The End Is Coming

    This is a fictional book about the end of the world. However, as I write this on the 8th day of June, 2011, I wake to the worst solar flares to hit earth in 5 years-the major force of destruction in the book. E-coli outbreaks in Europe-a major disease wipes out towns in the book. The most fantastic picture of a volcano eruption I have ever seen-which is how the sky on earth is described for the last third or so of the book. Earthquakes, war, famine; it is all in there. The story takes place in the year 2048 with the destruction of earth happening on December 12th of that year. Being set in the future there is quite a bit of "techno talk". At first I felt like Sheriff Carter standing in the middle of Eureka trying to figure what all the brilliant scientists were talking about. But it is easy to get used to and only used sporadically throughout the book. The story is extremely interesting and easy to read. It moves at a good pace and really starts to pick up at the end. I definitely couldn't wait to finish the last 50 pages or so. The very end was a big surprise. I am not sure I would categorize this as Christian fiction. The book relies heavily on mysticism, the Mayan prophecy concerning 2012, and science in regards to the end of the world. In my opinion they are more prevalent in the story than the Word of God. Kabbalah is a big player in all that is going on. I have to admit that it has been a while since I have done an end of times study of the Bible. But I don't think The Seraph Seal holds true to the Biblical account of end times. However, it does make me want to find a good study guide and do a bit of research on the subject. All in all it is an entertaining and easy book to read. However, if you dislike anything that deviates from Scripture, this probably isn't for you. This book was provided free of charge by Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program in exchange for an unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    The Seraph Seal

    "I have reason to believe that a gateway will become available through some kind of rare occurence, and it will happen in just a few months from now at a specific time and place. Those who make it through the gateway can build a new earth in another dimension, another home similar to the one in which we live now. In fact, it may look essentially the same." ~ The Seraph Seal

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is set in 2048. The followers of Christ have been driven underground. Only historical churches remain in operation. The US dollar has been replaced with Arab and Asian money. Suicide is the most common form of death. Man's abilities are the new religion. Selective reduction and genetic engineering control the population in man's image instead of God. The world is self destructing.

    On December 21, 2012, an ancient prophecy of life or death begins to unfold with the birth of eight people. Four good. Four evil. In 2048 the prophecy comes to fruition. University of Virginia historian Paul Binder receives a cryptic letter which leads him to the Diatessaron. When he travels to London, he meets Angela Matthews Krall who helps him decipher this Syrian manuscript. One unlikely man is fighting against Paul's work, US President Matthew Serafino.

    When a box, formerly owned by John of Patmos, is opened, additional clues are revealed. The four horsemen discussed in Scripture are drawn to Paul with one purpose, to unite humanity and save it from destruction. But does humanity want to be saved?

    "God keeps on trying. Even when it looks like we've managed to destroy everything possible, to lose all our faith, to not even remember how to recognize God anymore, God remembers us. And finds ways to give us now chances." ~ The Seraph Seal

    Scriptures state that God loves us so much that He is not willing that any perish. How many second chances does God give creation to come to Him? What would God do to provide that second chance to all of humanity?

    There are many supporting characters in this novel, but basically only three main characters. I mentally divided them into two categories, good and evil, which helped me piece together this plot. The many bends and turns in this book will pull you in. The authors took present events and belief systems and advanced them 37 years. There were several scenes that reflected today's culture and caused me to ponder how close this work of fiction is to reality. I enjoyed this meaty novel. Remember this book is a work of fiction ... maybe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

    This story is an end time's novel. It uses facts put into a fictional plot and I would compare the writing and plot style to that of the Da Vinci code. The book is set in the future in the year 2048. We meet Paul Binder who is a history professor at a college. The book begins at the birth of 8 special children who will change the course of human kind using symbols from the Bible such as the four horsemen, the four gospels, and even the 4 elements of earth, air, fire and water. The Earth has been suffering from years of abuse at the hands of man and through a series of mysterious clues, calls and visits; Paul discovers that he is one of the main people who was chosen to save mankind. The story has age old and long forgotten symbolism from the Christian and Jewish faiths and the ending will surprise you just as much as the entire plot itself. As a lover of fictional books based on true facts I fell in immediate love with this book and finished it in two days, I just couldn't put it down! I understand the da Vinci Code novel was very controversial, but for those who could read it as a fictional book and enjoyed it, you are going to love this book!! In a few parts of the book the dialogue can become slightly long and a little uninteresting but as soon as you get through those very few parts you are right back in the action. Im not one to give too many clues in a review because I want the story not to be spoiled but this is a wonderful read, again, for those who love fictional books using actual facts spun into a mystery that keeps you guessing and thinking. Would recommend to any lover of books as I already have!! I received this book for free from booksneeze dot com based on a reviewer agreement. The opinions given are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Disappointing, not a theologically sound book.

    Review of The Seraph Seal By Leonard Sweet, Lori Wagner
    An apocalyptic tale set in 2048, Paul Binder is followed through out the story as events lead up to him finding and eventually deciphering an ancient manuscript where he finds himself referred to in the text. Eight people are born on 12/12/12 and the Seal is broken. The world then starts into a downward spiral that culminates on 12/12/48. I had a hard time enjoying the book when information that was presented as biblical fact was inaccurate. I found it to have new age undertones, and personally felt uncomfortable reading it. That being said, it is not a book that I would recommend. I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    Disappointing

    This book was really confusing. I don't mean that the climax was confusing, or the biblical comparisons. I mean, THE ENTIRE THING. I didn't know what was going on with any of it. The entire time, I was going in mental circles, trying to figure it out.

    I was determined to finish it though. The only problem for me OTHER than the obvious was that the description built it up to be this epic Angels-and-Demons type book that was sure to astound readers everywhere. It made it sound filled with action, adventure, and a crafty plot that was unique and sure to be a hit.

    I was disappointed. I didn't find the *wow* factor that I was looking for, and so I kind of moped for a while. I spent ages waiting for this to arrive in the mail because I am a HUGE fan of angels. But alas, my expectations were dashed.

    I'm sure that some people will find this amazing, but I've read far greater books and was sadly disappointed. I am a fan of Thomas Nelson books, but I didn't like this one. At the risk of boring you guys with my complaints about the book, I'm going to end this review. Other people may love it, who knows? But there wasn't a bang climax, it was a quiet sizzle.

    I suggest that anybody looking for a great adult angel book head over to Angels and Demons or Angelology. Those books give you bang for your buck and are spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Interesting Apocalyptic Read

    The Seraph Seal, my latest read, was provided courtesy of BookSneeze on behalf of Thomas Nelson Publishing. This book written by author duo, Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner takes the reader on a journey to the year 2048. The chosen one, Paul Binder, a Virginia college professor begins to unlock a mystery that will lead him around the world to lead believers of Christ to a new dawn. As the world has slowly disintegrated to an apocalyptic nightmare people try to make sense of what is going on as Binder unravels the way. Where does love fit in if it is ultimately to prevail?
    What will the world look like if our present world continues on a godless path where power, fame and wealth lead the way? Technology could develop further leaving God on the outskirts of our minds. When we want to control to every iota of our lives God has no place to lead in our hearts. The Seraph Seal poses those questions and thoughts leading me to wonder where are we headed? As a society we see teens killing parents or peers, abuse escalating and general violence becoming more pronounced every day. I think it's the moral "me"-ism philosophy of the day in every realm that is leading us to destruction. When you hear more people questioning God's presence, praying for Christ's return and others predicting the Apocalypse it really seems to convey a message of desperation.
    The symbolism in The Seraph Seal and factual information woven into the story grabbed my attention and appreciation of the artistry at once. This book is rather long at 420 pages, in addition Paul Binder's notes and symbolic interpretation at the end. That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and by the first fourth of the book I could hardly set the book down. The end surprised me a bit and left me ambiguous. Although there is some science fiction involved, the scary thing being we're probably not that far from succeeding to such a place in history, I didn't find it too hooked into that genre. It is an interesting combination of science fiction, non-fiction, biblical history and apocalyptic in one intricate tale.
    I always scoff at the idea of science fiction, yet am finding that books such as The Seraph Seal intrigue me and produce thought-provoking dialogues in my head. This book created an awareness in me that I hope has changed me for the better. We all need to become aware of the future of our planet that God so beautifully created. It is sad to say the least, to see the destruction and loss of resources and life. Even if your aren't into science fiction and have an appreciation of biblical prophecy The Seraph Seal would be a fine addition to your library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Summer Read!

    THE SERAPH SEAL by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner: An epic tale of good and evil based on the four horsemen of the Apocalypse found in the book of Revelation. Using the four horsemen of the Apocalypse to symbolize the four Gospels, four transcendental, and four forces of the universe (air, water, earth, and fire), Sweet and Wagner weave an end-times tale of good vs. evil and the promise of a new dawn for humanity. The authors scenarios used modern technology, nano-technology, bio-sciences that are presently in process and those that are controversial in possible use to present what a future may look like if evil men were to obtain these technologies for their own benefit. Set in 2048, when planet Earth is suffering from the damaging effects of years of misuse and abuse, cultural history professor Paul Binder receives a mysterious letter that leads him to examine a lost 2nd-century Diatessaron manuscript. Ancient prophecies, cryptic letters, and strange events set him on a course to uncover the missing clues that could lead humanity into a new age. Each character embodies elements of the four horsemen in a race to save the world from total destruction. Layered with forgotten symbolism from the ancient, Jewish, and Christian traditions, the novel is a type of engaged fiction in which the main character's lost journal serves as a guide to the reader in interpreting clues and understanding the novel's conclusion. What a great thought provoking story. I enjoyed the realistic development of each character, the increasingly inviting pace of the unfolding story, and the mind-challenging complexities of the hauntingly real conspiracy. This book seems designed to rekindle interest in biblical prophecy or at least will inspire to re-imagine John's Revelation. I highly recommend this book; it was exciting and full of details and would make a great movie. I like the added notes and pictures to help visualize the story, made my reading more enjoyable. "For those that say it is unbiblical or only mature Christians should read it" - those comments are ridiculous and I am being gracious - it is FICTION and a great story at that. Actually made the story of the four horseman come alive and can actually see how the ends times may happen. I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze blogger program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    VERY Cheesy, Fake, Inaccurate, Over-The-Top but fun if you love end times fiction

    Disclaimer: Received this book free from the publisher but giving honest review.



    This is a fun Christian end times book. It is a fun read if you like end times and fiction and have the spare time. But most people won't enjoy this book. It gets really cheesy, preachy, fake and phoney... just like you would expect from a "Christian" fictional movie.



    Problems with this book:

    - Bird that recites paragraph-long Bible poems (not even scripture!)

    - The only 8 people born on Dec 21, 2012 all have a detailed "tattoo-shaped" "birthmark" but it is so detailed like a tatto that it could never be a birthmark

    - One character gets "saved" and his salvation is SOOOO cheesy, you will die: he's thinking to himself logically, then suddenly stands up and says "I need to be baptised!" AFTER being an unbeliever all his life and having no real revelation or conversion experience

    - The US president is the only man in the world with a holograph body that can run around the world beaming from one place to another like in Star Trek

    - The main authors' story moves slowly through the book. Like maybe 1 week has passed for them. But months have passed for all the other characters. The time lines don't match up at all! P

    - Character meets with the president of the USA to tell him the BIG NEWS... "the world looks like it is coming to an end. I can't tell you how I know this, but I just know it." The president asks him what he would suggest the president do. "I don't know. But I thought you should know this." HAHAHA... STUUUUPID.... Like the president would meet with anyone like that.

    - Characters decypher the hidden code... using gemetra... PUH-LEASE!!!! PREDICTABLE...

    - Evil president's angry emotions draw thousands of ravens to all land on the White House roof. CHEESY

    - The sun is heating up the earth with solar flares, so the people start making suits.... coated with gold and silver so that the suits will deflect the sun's radiation... RIGHT. CHEESY and FAKE!

    - Earth's magnetic poles really are reversing in the book!

    - One character in the book is a 12 year old boy that is a genius, so they let him into college early. But wait... another character "discovers" the boy is really 36 years old! Why does he think the boy is 36? Because the boy is smart!!!!!!!! DUMB!!! But the boy always tells everyone that he is only 12. But when asked his birthdate, the boy says Dec 12, 2012, which would make him 36, because the book is set in 2048. So what kind of "smart" boy would think he is 12, when he knows he was born in 2012? haha... CHEESY...





    The authors took Bible passages and plugged them into the pages of a story:

    - 7 seals on a scroll

    - Sea life just suddenly disappears and no scientists can find out how it all "vanished" CHEESY

    - The sea water turns black.... OOOH... REALLY? CHEESE

    - Character sees 4 GIANT horses (bigger than any real horses) - the 4 horsemen of the apocolypse?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intense and captivating!

    "Then, really knowing something, being aware of something, means simply to be open to God's possibilities..." pg. 391

    "The Seraph Seal" by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is an apocalyptic thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat as you wait for the next shoe to drop. 21 December 2012, the date eight special people are born, each with a special birthmark. Thirty six years later, the earth is dying and the eight find they have choices to make. Two groups of four must come together, one group wanting to lead people to safety, the other desirous of power and glory. Paul Binder is the catalyst. As the earth quakes, seas cover the land, and the sun breaks through the atmosphere burning everyone in its path, Paul and his small group of new friends race against time to uncover the hidden truths of history. Will they be in time? What happens to the other four? Can the world truly be coming to judgment at God's hands?

    For me, this book is a cross between the "Left Behind" series and "The DaVinci Code." I loved the fast paced story line and the movements between locations in the world. The quotations at the beginning of each section gave hints to what was coming. It was a good thing that I was on vacation when I got my free copy from the Book Sneeze program, because I couldn't put it down! The story raced to an unexpected end. Well done! This book is great for individual readers, but will also work for groups because the discussion opportunities are limitless. Thank you, Book Sneeze for the opportunity to read and review this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Has Good Bones, Intellectual & Thought Provoking ~

    I recently received the Seraph Seal to review from Book Sneeze. Seraph Seal is set in the year 2048 when the Earth is beginning to fall a part from abuse and misuse from humans. Volcanoes, Tornadoes, Earthquakes, Tsunami's , Radiation, and more havoc the Earth. Paul Binder receives a letter , and then is called to review a 2nd-century lost copy of the Diatessaron manuscript. From here the book begins to unfold with mystery, prophecy, diagrams and more. Paul takes you on a journey of discovery as he searches for the identity of the four horsemen and races against time to save humanity. The journey takes you around the world both physically, and spiritually. If you like end of the world type books you may very well enjoy this one. Matt Serafino is elected as United States President, and the man is pure evil. As he embarks on his own agenda in office the United States begins to turn against him and rebel. He disappears and reappears at a whim and does not run things by his Presidential staff. Serafinno has other things on his mind other than what is best for his country. Matt takes you around the world on a search for total power. A story of good vs. evil, a tale of the Apocalypse and the promise of a new dawn for humanity. For me personally, I enjoyed the book I would say It had good bones. It has a good story and is interesting. I will say that the beginning was hard for me to follow. The book jumps from character to character, and also from place to place and it can lose you. I found myself having to go back and reread several passages. I did find the book to be thought provoking and intellectual . Definitely not a book everyone can pick up and enjoy but I give it a thumbs up from my point of view. I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3