Customer Reviews for

The Seraph Seal

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 50 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    Interesting Story of the Apocalypse

    I received a copy of THE SERAPH SEAL by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner, from Thomas Nelson through BookSneeze. The front of the cover depicts the back of an angel statue - very intriguing. The story involves a prophecy that begins in 2012 when the four horsemen of the Apocalypse are born.as well as Matthew Serafino and Paul Binder. The story then centers on the year 2048 as the world slowly unravels. Paul Binder begins work on a Syrian manuscript, and discovers lost secrets of the world. The end of the book includes Paul Binder's "notebook," which helped to tie the story together and made a great resource while reading. The end also included a list of terms.

    The characters were very complex and realistic, but there were quite a few and sometimes it was difficult to keep track of them. Chapters included many character and scene breaks, which also made the story a bit confusing.

    Since the story takes place in the future, I would have liked to see more "futuristic" terms. There were some "new" gadgets, but more of them would have added extra flavor. I love futuristic books because of those aspects, and this novel really did not have them.

    I enjoyed the book overall, and even though it was long - 527 pages - it did not take very long to finish. The scenes moved quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    A very complex read

    The Seraph Seal is a very fast paced, action packed book similiar to The DaVinci Code or National Treasure. The story is centered around end of times events in the year 2048, with the main character, Paul, discovering symbols and clues to enable using the four horseman of The Bible's book of Revelation as a way to escape the dying planet Earth and begin life in another world or dimension. This book was very complex, detailed, and sometimes very hard to follow and confusing(until I discovered in the back of the book a list of characters and more detailed notes). The authors obviously are very educated in historical research and spent a lot of time detailing objects and symbols in the book. Although the story was interesting, I felt uneasy throughout the book because of the unbiblical statements and references made, including constant dialouge about God's saving love and love is all you need etc. without mentioning the son of God or saving grace through the cross along with it. The main theme was that certain people had the capability to save and can determine the future based on choices and being in the right place at the right time, which does not have any Biblical authenticity. If you have a high tolerence for complex reading and can tolerate some confusion, then you may like this book. I received this e-book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    What if?

    This isn't a book for just anyone - it's written in a tone that those of a more scholarly background would probably understand, and therefore enjoy, more. There is a lot of information to process in the over 500 pages of this book, with letters, charts, and symbols to help you on your way. I hate to say it, but this book will not appeal to the American Idol watching masses. If you enjoy imagining what the future could be, love doomsday fiction, and talk of the Four Horsemen and Apocalypse doesn't run you off, you will enjoy The Seraph Seal. It's a book to make you think, not one to mindlessly read. I'm not one to believe in 2012 as the end of the world - oh, it'll happen one day, for sure our sun will explode in billions of years - but it won't be predicted. Reading this book though, I see little seeds of things that could happen one day already appearing in our world - the GMO foods, technology that pushes pens and paper by the wayside (when was the last time you sat down and wrote a real letter by hand to someone?), destructive forces in nature reminding us that our world could fall apart at any moment. It makes one <i>think</i>, and that's why I enjoy books like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Seraph Seal

    The newly published fiction novel, The Seraph Seal By Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner is a timely unique hybrid of a detective story, history, science fiction fantasy and inspirational tale in one story. This ambitious and well detailed book is among the new genre of quasi-religious prophetic fiction. This piece of work is one among many popular end times themed movies/ books such as "Knowing", "Deep Impact", "2012" and the "Left Behind" Series.

    The author goes into extensive detail describing a fictitious, yet well woven quasi-scientific theory of the end times, weaving together ancient Mayan fables with Catholic traditions and new age theories. In fact, the same readers that actually believed Dan Brown's intricate tales of church intrigue and conspiracy theroies in the fictional novel, The Davinci Code, may be the very same gullible readers who may believe that Sweet and Wagners's end times theatrics are in fact real.

    Christianity is reduced to superticious and at best antiquated, yet quaint ideas. Catholic church traditions, such as the priest hood and, religious orders, private mystical revelations, the mass and eucharist are elevated and attributed as a legitimate authority on par with the bible. In fact, the hero of the book, Paul, comes to faith, and for lack of a better description- is rborn again. Nevertheless the priest performs a Catholic style baptism- where he is sprinkled with water from a fountain, rather than imemersed. To point out this detail, may be seen as inconsequntial, but it is indicitive of the Catholic slant of this novel which leaves me to question as to the intended readership of this book. Icons such as the Celtic cross, and private revelations of the Saints, supersticious, ancient works of art are considered to be inspired and endowed with a supernatural power of prophecy. Ancient pagan Mayan and Jewish rituals and theories are given an equal voice as well. In fact, this novel is a potluck mixture of ancient and mystical beliefs of various cultures woven into one novel.



    Apparently the main characters, coincidently, are one of the select few, endowed with the special gifts holding the balance of mankind in their power. This is somewhat like Calvanism, where the belief is that mankind is predestined for salvation or damnation. These characters I feel are given too much liberty to intervene in events in order to change history. This raises some interesting questions about the arbitrary significance of these characters to control only what God has the power to do of events and how even little actions or choices of arbitrary people may have a ripple effect for future generations. At the same time, the implication made by

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Seraph Seal

    If you like Indiana Jones or Robert Langdon, then you would probably like this biblical-adventure fiction written by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner. This is the kind of book that you will either will like it, or you just don't.

    Seraph Seal is full of symbolic prose and is rather fast paced, and it takes quite a lot to decipher the message behind this book.

    Some people may not like this book, but I happen to like this book. To me, this book have quite a depth to it, and it was well researched. I like the biblical symbolism used and the foreshadowing in the story, and unlike Dan Brown's stories, I did not feel guilty after reading it for the storyline was not blasphemous in nature.

    Anyway, the book is well written for a biblical fiction, and I look for more of this kind of story from both of the authors.

    I would recommend definitely recommend this to those of high taste for fiction. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher in exchange of an honest review. I was under no obligation to write a positive review for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Interesting Read!

    This book is billed as an "epic tale of good and evil based on the four horsemen of the Apocalypse found in the book of Revelation".

    It sounded pretty intense, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. After reading, I would certainly call the story epic, a futuristic tale of life in 2048 (which is, with any luck, in my lifetime) when Earth has been ravaged.

    It reminded me a little of the myriad books where the main character analyzes cryptic letters and prophecies, so at times it felt a little like something I had already read.

    However, if you're going on vacation this summer, and looking for a book to take along, check this out.

    [Please note that I received this book at no charge from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

    Hi! I've got a new book from booksneeze recently, but before I start telling you about it, you must know that I didn't have to give this book a good review, even though I got it for free from the Thomas Nelson Publishers company through the booksneeze program, because of some legal thing. I recently got "The Seraph Seal" by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner, an apocolyptic fiction work, taking place, for the most part, in 2048. It follows, in simple terms, the end of the world. Of course, there's more than that, but it's what I call a "smart book"- the plot is joyously complex and difficult to describe in just a few hundred words. The twists and turns brought to mind Ted Dekker, who is well known for writing thrilling, heart pounding books. This novel, "The Seraph Seal", is both a dramatic tale as well as a love story. Of course, this may just be my way of looking at it, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I would definitely recommend it to any book reader who can think they can handle this wonderfully woven work of art. I absolutely give this book as solid five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 50 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 3