Customer Reviews for

Seraphina

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler Free: Political, Fantastical and Dragon-Galore Novel - With a Few Flaws!

Minimized for Length Requirment.

Full Review @ thereadersheartstring . blogspot . com

REview:

Seraphina by debut author Rachel Hartman is an intricate tale filled with exquisite world-building, rich, lush characters and political drama that is a powerful matc...
Minimized for Length Requirment.

Full Review @ thereadersheartstring . blogspot . com

REview:

Seraphina by debut author Rachel Hartman is an intricate tale filled with exquisite world-building, rich, lush characters and political drama that is a powerful match to the fantasy that readers will be expecting and will love.

To be honest, the book had a rocky start for me, simply because not a lot was happening. The world was being introduced and set up as well as the many, many characters, the physical and the mentioned. It was just a lot to take it, a lot to remember and to try to understand, but once that happened and the main plot of the story was revealed, things really kicked in and I was able to enjoy the world, the characters and the writing.

And did I enjoy!!

This book was fantastic. It reminded of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy, which I adore, in the sense that this was an alternate old timey reality that was mixed with odd technology, though the technology of Seraphina's world is a great deal simpler when compared to Lyra's world.

Which brings me to our protag -

Seraphina is the MC of this novel, which only makes sense since the novel is her namesake and she was, thankfully, a huge breathe of fresh air for the YA world.

For those of you who are tired of love being the main point of your YA reads know this: this book is about love. It's about love for a mother, a father, a uncle, the people and one's self.

Perhaps my favorite part of this novel was the writing, which did take a minute to get in to, but once I did, it just made everything richer. I loved the world and the complexities of the government, the religion and the characters.

Hartman's writing style is very mature and complex for YA and based on that, I could have easily seen this book as a real treat for adults. It was just refreshing to see a really captivating and at times, challenging novel made for teens.

Though I loved the writing style, things did get somewhat confusing. One moment we are in a memory that Seraphina is having and the next we are in present day . . . or so I think. Around one or two times, I was not sure if Seraphina was having a flashback or if the event that was occurring in the novel was actually happening at the present moment.

I did a little rereading and was still, a tad confused, but it truly did not deter me from the story in the slightest.

Like mentioned before, things did take a while to get in to and I read on due to my own stubbornness, which in the end paid off, but I'm not sure if everyone will do the same, which I hope they do, 'cus it is worth it.

~V

posted by ValenSteel on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love or Hate...no in between

Brought to you by OBS reviewer Valerie

I had to read a ton of reviews for Seraphina before deciding to read it. Yes, it does have a really high rating, but I wasn’t really exuberant about the synopsis. I totally loved the cover, but I still wasn’t interested. Then I ...
Brought to you by OBS reviewer Valerie

I had to read a ton of reviews for Seraphina before deciding to read it. Yes, it does have a really high rating, but I wasn’t really exuberant about the synopsis. I totally loved the cover, but I still wasn’t interested. Then I read it on a whim. I don’t know why I did. Things just sort of happened, if you know what I mean.

It was just okay.

One thing I will praise is the plot. Drop dead amazing, one of the most gorgeous plots ever. It intertwines dragons, action, and music with a tiny bit of love and death. Of course, that’s always the best way to get a great plot. I admit, there are tons of twists that I totally didn’t expect. I can’t say too much, but let’s just say the ending was really unexpected. The person or possibly dragon you thought was the villain really wasn’t. The person or dragon you didn’t even think about turned out to be a traitor. And then things just sort of happen, and by things I mean bloody action things. That’s totally fine by me.

I really couldn’t get into the writing. Seraphina’s voice is kind of boring. No offense or anything, but she seems to have gotten way more of the serious dragon personality than most dragons have. Seraphina just seems a little too serious of a protagonist, and that really makes the writing style boring. Sometimes, having a first-person narration seem like a third-person narration works. It didn’t this time though. Either I’m an easily bored person or Seraphina is unable to make an epic plot interesting. Take your pick.

I love how Seraphina is a musician. That’s something I genuinely appreciate. Music isn’t a very popular subject in YA reading, so I was pleasantly surprised with Seraphina’s love for music. I think she actually did a good job choosing music as a passion. Well, I would probably hate Seraphina if she didn’t love music, but hey, at least I tolerate her now! For the love of music, I will love Seraphina. (Or at least not hate her…)

I admit, Seraphina’s got it all. It’s got a decent love interest, a fantabulous plot, an amazing part about music and dragons. Honestly, it’s got fire-breathing, scaly, fantastic dragons! Who has the mental ability to pass that?

I don’t…

I think Seraphina’s one of those books that you either love or hate. It’s bound to be a good book, if you really put your mind to it. Just think about the dragons and don’t let the possibly boring writing stop you from loving Kiggs or the music. And then you will LOVE Seraphina.

This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

posted by Openbooksociety_dot_com on November 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Spoiler Free: Political, Fantastical and Dragon-Galore Novel - With a Few Flaws!

    Minimized for Length Requirment.

    Full Review @ thereadersheartstring . blogspot . com

    REview:

    Seraphina by debut author Rachel Hartman is an intricate tale filled with exquisite world-building, rich, lush characters and political drama that is a powerful match to the fantasy that readers will be expecting and will love.

    To be honest, the book had a rocky start for me, simply because not a lot was happening. The world was being introduced and set up as well as the many, many characters, the physical and the mentioned. It was just a lot to take it, a lot to remember and to try to understand, but once that happened and the main plot of the story was revealed, things really kicked in and I was able to enjoy the world, the characters and the writing.

    And did I enjoy!!

    This book was fantastic. It reminded of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy, which I adore, in the sense that this was an alternate old timey reality that was mixed with odd technology, though the technology of Seraphina's world is a great deal simpler when compared to Lyra's world.

    Which brings me to our protag -

    Seraphina is the MC of this novel, which only makes sense since the novel is her namesake and she was, thankfully, a huge breathe of fresh air for the YA world.

    For those of you who are tired of love being the main point of your YA reads know this: this book is about love. It's about love for a mother, a father, a uncle, the people and one's self.

    Perhaps my favorite part of this novel was the writing, which did take a minute to get in to, but once I did, it just made everything richer. I loved the world and the complexities of the government, the religion and the characters.

    Hartman's writing style is very mature and complex for YA and based on that, I could have easily seen this book as a real treat for adults. It was just refreshing to see a really captivating and at times, challenging novel made for teens.

    Though I loved the writing style, things did get somewhat confusing. One moment we are in a memory that Seraphina is having and the next we are in present day . . . or so I think. Around one or two times, I was not sure if Seraphina was having a flashback or if the event that was occurring in the novel was actually happening at the present moment.

    I did a little rereading and was still, a tad confused, but it truly did not deter me from the story in the slightest.

    Like mentioned before, things did take a while to get in to and I read on due to my own stubbornness, which in the end paid off, but I'm not sure if everyone will do the same, which I hope they do, 'cus it is worth it.

    ~V

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Seraphina is a breathtakingly beautiful fantasy book. It simply

    Seraphina is a breathtakingly beautiful fantasy book. It simply sweeps
    you away into its own little world, and is a prime example of good
    fantasy. It's enchanting, reads like a dream, and leaves you pondering
    its story and characters after finishing it. I would say, however, to
    be cautious with what you expect with this one. It may not appeal to
    every reader right away, and takes some growing into. But it's well
    worth it for the experience, as it slowly grows on you and steals your
    heart. Reasons to Read: 1.A clever, intelligent heroine: One of my
    favourite things about Seraphina is that it features a heroine who's
    defining character traits include her cleverness and intelligence.
    There's so much more to her than just that, but it's clearly an integral
    part of her personality. And it completely shines through in everything
    she does - she's a little bit quirky, but totally brilliant. I love that
    we get to see a character like her, who is a bit socially awkward at
    times, but still fantastic in her own way. And the same thing goes for
    the love interest - we don't get constant descriptions of his eyes or
    body or overall good looks. 2.A mysterious plot, full of unexpected
    twists: I really thought I had figured the mystery out. I thought I had
    solved it not even halfway through the book and was less than enthused
    that the characters hadn't figured it out like I had yet. So imagine my
    surprise when I was wrong - totally, completely wrong. There are so many
    layers to the plot, it doesn't seem possible to guess it all in
    retrospect. And I was so caught off guard. But I LOVE it when I'm wrong
    and the book surprises me. 3.Bewitching secondary characters: I don't
    know how Rachel managed to do this, but she took cold, distant,
    emotionless characters (dragons) and somehow made them come to life.
    That's HARD to do, because of their (lack of) personality for the most
    part. But she succeeds. And not only that, but the rest of the cast of
    characters from Lars to Glisselda just lept off the pages for me. I
    couldn't get enough of Selda, and I was pleasantly surprised by how
    taken I was with her. 4.Rich details and complex storytelling: This
    is one area where I think some readers may have a harder time with the
    book and it can take a little bit of getting used to. The world Rachel
    created for Seraphina is vibrant, and overflowing with details. It
    really takes on a life of its own. I found the glossary and cast of
    characters in the back of the book to be indispensible while reading.
    But this is what made the world really come to life for me, and made me
    fall in love with the book. 5.Brilliant thinking: Seraphina is
    obviously intelligent. But I can tell that Rachel is, too. It takes a
    very thoughtful person to craft such a rich story, and I found myself
    questioning so many ideas and rethinking some standards I held to, and
    ultimately making comparisons to real life. I especially appreciated her
    twist on dragon mythology (nerd alert: I studied a little bit of this in
    some POLITICAL SCIENCE classes in university. I know, that sounds very
    odd, but it was incredible) and I could really tell that Rachel had
    researched this and had a solid background in it. Especially with the
    concept of hoarding. I LOVED that. That's not to say that I didn't
    have a hard time with it, because I was completely confused at certain
    times. The book is rather long for YA, and there are so many characters
    and words that I just wasn't familiar with so it took some getting used
    to. And there were a few instances where I found myself
    second-guessing my infatuation with Kiggs. He won me over, eventually,
    and I know it really wasn't fair of me to expect him not to struggle
    with a few things but I think I was really expecting better of him. And
    he did let me down once or twice, even though I know it's because he's
    flawed. Seraphina is just another reminder of why I adore fantasy - I
    love it to the moon and back. You have no idea what I'd do for more
    books like this one (good thing Rachel's working on a sequel)!
    E-galley received from Random House Canada for honest review; no other
    compensation was received.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This richly textured novel is not just for fantasy lovers and no

    This richly textured novel is not just for fantasy lovers and not just for teens. It is beautifully written, with a strong, intelligent, delightful heroine and a refreshing approach to dragons,

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    INCREDIBLE!!!

    UTTERLY AMAZING! ONE OF THE BEST FANTASY BOOKS EVER!!!!!!
    I loved every page of it, every character, dialogue, event. The idea of the plot was absolutely amazing and unique, and the book engulfed me not only by the whirlwind of events, but aslo by the awesome characters, the relationships between them, their feelings and emotions. The way the author writes about music and love - it's just incredibly beautiful and precisely astute, her style of writing is captivating and fluent, I haven't even noticed when I've come to the end of the book - that's how skilfully it's written.
    The characters are real masterpieces - Seraphina, Selda, Lucian were great, but my personal favourites were Orma, Comonot and Viridius. The idea of the garden was original, and I enjoyed all the emotional peculiarities of dragons and their way of thinking. All in all, this book is an unputdownable kaleidoscope of a perfect writing, offbeat fantasy element, riveting plot, touching moments, unforgettable characters and an impeccable pacing. Just go and read it - believe me, no blurb or reviews will prepare you for the awesomeness of this book! Don't deprive yourself of an immense reading pleasure!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    One of the best dragon books I've ever read! Plot kept me guessing the whole time and I couldn't put it down!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    LuvluvluvluvluvluvluvluvluvLUV this book

    Luv it times a million and fourty three plus one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seraphina starts of with a traditional medieval fantasy setting,

    Seraphina starts of with a traditional medieval fantasy setting, including the rich backdrop of medieval music which I loved. There’s an entire mythology of Saints to this world, none of which are very saint-like and it made me laugh. The conflict was a typical one about the mistrust and prejudice between two races. But further along in the story the author developed it into something more. It became about the struggle between emotions and reason. The dragons felt like modern people sent back to the middle ages with their emphasis on science, reason, and invention. I’ve always wondered how people from the middle ages would clash with modern people and it was very interesting to read. The writing was beautiful and the pace was relaxed but still kept my interest. The story reminded me in an odd way of Jane Austen. There was a focus on propriety, lots of personal and political intrigue, a respectful mixing of the classes not to mention lots of balls and dancing. Overall, it kept the spirit and style of traditional fantasy with just enough slight twists to keep it fresh. By far the most interesting and creative aspect of the whole book was the character Seraphina herself. It was an enjoyable read and the index in the back had my Google-loving self smiling with glee.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    AWESOME!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    highly recommend

    you should definately read this book. i couldn't put it down. i can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Love or Hate...no in between

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Valerie

    I had to read a ton of reviews for Seraphina before deciding to read it. Yes, it does have a really high rating, but I wasn’t really exuberant about the synopsis. I totally loved the cover, but I still wasn’t interested. Then I read it on a whim. I don’t know why I did. Things just sort of happened, if you know what I mean.

    It was just okay.

    One thing I will praise is the plot. Drop dead amazing, one of the most gorgeous plots ever. It intertwines dragons, action, and music with a tiny bit of love and death. Of course, that’s always the best way to get a great plot. I admit, there are tons of twists that I totally didn’t expect. I can’t say too much, but let’s just say the ending was really unexpected. The person or possibly dragon you thought was the villain really wasn’t. The person or dragon you didn’t even think about turned out to be a traitor. And then things just sort of happen, and by things I mean bloody action things. That’s totally fine by me.

    I really couldn’t get into the writing. Seraphina’s voice is kind of boring. No offense or anything, but she seems to have gotten way more of the serious dragon personality than most dragons have. Seraphina just seems a little too serious of a protagonist, and that really makes the writing style boring. Sometimes, having a first-person narration seem like a third-person narration works. It didn’t this time though. Either I’m an easily bored person or Seraphina is unable to make an epic plot interesting. Take your pick.

    I love how Seraphina is a musician. That’s something I genuinely appreciate. Music isn’t a very popular subject in YA reading, so I was pleasantly surprised with Seraphina’s love for music. I think she actually did a good job choosing music as a passion. Well, I would probably hate Seraphina if she didn’t love music, but hey, at least I tolerate her now! For the love of music, I will love Seraphina. (Or at least not hate her…)

    I admit, Seraphina’s got it all. It’s got a decent love interest, a fantabulous plot, an amazing part about music and dragons. Honestly, it’s got fire-breathing, scaly, fantastic dragons! Who has the mental ability to pass that?

    I don’t…

    I think Seraphina’s one of those books that you either love or hate. It’s bound to be a good book, if you really put your mind to it. Just think about the dragons and don’t let the possibly boring writing stop you from loving Kiggs or the music. And then you will LOVE Seraphina.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    When I finish a book and go right back to the begnning to re-rea

    When I finish a book and go right back to the begnning to re-read, it HAS to be a good book! Amazingly, I found it better the second time around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Seraphina by Rachel Hartman tells the story of Seraphina, a youn

    Seraphina by Rachel Hartman tells the story of Seraphina, a young woman living in a world where dragons exist. Not only do dragons exist, but Seraphina's mother was one, unbeknownst to her father. But dragons are feared and hated by humans in Goredd, and Seraphina fears what will become of her if anyone discovers her secret.

    Seraphina starts off a little slowly, but as I read more and more, I found I couldn't put the book down. It was a thoroughly entertaining novel and I suggest, if you try it and find it a little slow, just keep reading. It became exactly the kind of fantasy novel I wanted to read. It had mystery, romance, and dragons! Come on, who doesn't love dragons? And just wait for the twist! I totally wasn't expecting it, but when it came it made perfect sense.

    Seraphina, herself, is a little boring and cold in the beginning of the story. That has a lot to do with her upbringing. But once you get to know her she's actually pretty tough. My heart broke for her, having to hide who she was away from everyone, feeling like if anyone discovered the truth she'd be an outcast. I was so glad when she finally let go a little and let herself be happy.

    And then there are the infinite side characters! Each lovable in their own right. Prince Lucian Kiggs? Oh, yeah. I fell in love! Seraphina's band of "grotesques" are, once she starts to meet them, each loyal and brave. Princess Glisselda was probably my absolute favorite, though. She's such a sweetheart and she's so sincere and sweet to Phina.

    The storyline is really interesting, but there's just so much going on. I'm not saying that's a bad thing, it's not. The history of Goredd is rich and wonderful. But, being honest, it did take me more than a few chapters to get into Seraphina. It took awhile to sort out all of the information I was given in the beginning, but once I sorted it, I was flying through the chapters.

    I love that this book has a glossary, and you would do well to read it! Seraphina is such a rich fantasy novel, with such a unique and creative setting, it can be a little overwhelming at times. But it's a fantastic read that will leave you yearning for the next in the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Believe in yourself...

    I really didn't know what to expect when I started reading Seraphina probably because I was not one for the dragon genre. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this novel. The novel starts off with introducing Seraphina who is half human and half dragon. She feels not only alone but also like a monster. Her mother died in child birth and her father hasn't been the father he should be because of who she is. Her uncle Orma is the only one that has been there for her. The kingdom is on a brink of war with the dragons and no one knows her secret. The novel is about the journey Seraphina goes through to understand that she is not alone because there are others out there like her. It is a great coming of age book at all ages.

    We were all monsters and bastards, and we were all beautiful. We are all beautiful when we find out to believe in ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed Seraphina!  It was a fun read with an interesti

    I really enjoyed Seraphina!  It was a fun read with an interesting subject that you don't really see a lot of in young adult stories nowadays.  Especially being the main characters too.  Dragons!  Who doesn't love dragons?  Ever since I was a little girl I have been in love with the majestic dragon.  Yes, some are bad; but there are also some very good ones as well.  And I guess that is what made me love this story the most.  The idea that, just like humans, there is your good guys and your bad guys.  I love when a story shows us there is more to it than the stereotypes that the vast majority share. 
    Seraphina was an unique character with her many talents and difficulties that she had.  For the first few chapters, we aren't really sure why Seraphina is so afraid to bring attention to herself; only that she has some magical? abilities maybe and has to hide them from the rest of people.  And once we find out what the "secret" is, whoa boy!  It really is a big one that could bring about her death too. 
    I liked Seraphina.  I thought I would probably get a long with her if she truly existed.  She is quiet but awesome and caring even though she fears to get too close.  Funny that she ends up being friends with the prince and princess! 
    That is another character that surprised me: Princess Glisselda.  I automatically assumed she was a spoiled brat that would make trouble for Seraphina; but I was far from the truth.  The Princess was  actually very smart and paid attention to everything that Seraphina taught her.  And she was a caring princess too.  I can't wait to see how she does in the next book. 
    There is a slight love interest in the book but it doesn't take over.  Instead, it is light and fluttery, like a butterfly, that slowly comes to the forefront very quietly.  I don't know I liked that there was a love interest but I also liked that it wasn't the main story line too. 
    Really the main threads is the mystery and Seraphina finally coming to terms with herself; learning to appreciate her whole self and not just the parts that society would accept. 
    I loved this book!  I can't wait to jump into the next one as soon as I get my hands on it!  If you love high fantasy, dragons, and a great mystery then I insist you pick up a copy of Seraphina too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Great book, don't worry, the text is not in Spanish

    The book is really good and attention capturing. Interesting twist on dragons. I actually got the sample to make sure the text wasn't in Spanish, and its not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Looked good but in spanish ..

    It looks good but ots in spanish i think so yeah werid !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Why is it in Spanish?

    The summary is all in Spanish- same with the Enders series. Why is this? Post please to #artemisfowl reply if you can help me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Nice

    Nice and engaging, loved the character. Not crazy about it being a series, yet it was worth reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Different...in a good way

    I read a lot of fantasy, so it is always good to me, when a book comes along that is not typical; one that has a new twist on things and new ways/points of view to an old story. This was one of those books where I really don't know what to say at the end of it. It was very poetically written for one. Very lyrical, which fit the personality of the main character and set the mood of the story so well. I enjoyed it, but there were so many reasons for the enjoyment and so many ways to express it that I am blank. It helps to list them.

    1. The world building is great. As well as the magic and how it was explained and incorporated into the world so it made sense. Two lands...one human and one dragon, and how those two land coexist. It only makes sense that it a dragon could take human form....that at some point one would be curious enough, or the mixing of the two cultures would produce a situation where there is interbreeding. Anything is possible after that as far as what these dragon/humans could and would be capable of. I enjoyed the twist on the mental capabilities of the dragons. Instead of being monsters driven by emotions and instinct...instead they were logical creatures...who looked at humans and their emotionality was something of a weakness. That creates an interesting dynamic when these logical and emotionless dragon take human form. That is ripe for conflict. All of these leaves plenty of content for the writer to explore further, and by the end of the book it looks like there will be more to the story I look forward to it.

    2. I also liked the characters. Seraphina like her biology is such a good mixture of the two species. Emotional and irrational and everything humans are, but due to the life of lies she had to lead...she is also very logical and precise. She is an excellent bridge. And Kriggs and the Princess...were so not typical royal characters. I liked them both. Kriggs especially was very interesting in his own right. Despite the signs I see of a triangle coming...I do not foresee it annoying me. Since all the characters are likeable and mature and seem to respect each other.

    3. I liked the mystery and intrigue that slowly built throughout the tale as we tried to figure out what exactly the plot was and who was involved. Up until the big reveal...I did not suspect who the traitor eventually turned out to be, but in hindsight, I can now spot the clues. I would call that a success, because I always figure it out. This means that the plot was not too predictable. It kept me thinking and guessing until the end.

    But all in all I liked this because it was a story about self-acceptance. Learning to love who you are and value yourself despite what society or others may think of your value. What matters and what counts is what you think. Others follow your lead. That is a good message in the end. Of course the best compliment I can give this book is that I am now looking forward to learning more: about the history of the world. About the half-breeds and what they are capable of...and about Seraphina's love and what becomes of it. A very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Seraphina is a magnificent story with beutiful detail and a very entertaining plot. I absolutely could not stop reading it and i enjoyed it every bit of the way. The characters were well written and I would have to say that my favorite was Orma; he was was really quite funny in his own dry, non-comical, draconian way. I was a little conflicted about the ending. On one hand I was a bit upset that it kind of had an open ending that leaves you somewhat hanging but in the other hand I think it worked well with the story and I was not displeased. I very highly recommend this book and if you are put of by the strange, unknown words just keep reading and you will eventually find out their meaning, or can just look them up in the glossery in the back of the book. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5