Customer Reviews for

The Serial Killer Files: The Who, What, Where, How, and Why of the World's Most Terrifying Murderers

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful book

I loved this book, I found it really interesting to kind of get into the head of some of the serial killers... It did really freak me out though, I was only able to read a few pages at a time because it's so disturbing...

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Contains incorrect info

I live in Sacramento and things he put in about here were not entirely correct. I vowed never to read his books since he got minor info wrong what else was?

posted by 10887343 on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Wonderful book

    I loved this book, I found it really interesting to kind of get into the head of some of the serial killers... It did really freak me out though, I was only able to read a few pages at a time because it's so disturbing...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grab a bowl of cereal and check out this book on killers of the serial kind.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning about serial killers. It is very informative with great case studies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Serial Killers

    Very informative!!! Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2007

    great book!!

    I can truly say that i enjoyed this book. The book was 405 pages long, and i finished it in three days. If you want to know all the information you need to know about infamous criminals, this is the 'go-to' book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    Good Book

    A good history of serial killers, provides information on killers most people never knew existed. Their crimes and how horrific these people can be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Replace 'Files' with 'Encylopedia'

    I'm not that big of a reader but will occassionally pick up a book. Once i picked this one up i couldn't put it down. Never heard of the author before but thought i'd give him a chance. so glad i did. this book is addicting. It gets to the real meat and potatoes of serial killers, their motives, and there sinister ways. Make sure you have the night free if you're going to start reading it. You won't wanna stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Great book!

    Ok - I love Harold Schecter. Every true crime book I have bought of his has been amazing and insightful. I'm not even half way through this book and it's one of the most interesting books I've read in quite awhile. If you've never read a Harold Schecter book, this is a good place to start. Buy the book and I'm sure you will be pleased by both his writing style and the content. A great writer and he's outdone himself this time. This book seems to have it all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Contains incorrect info

    I live in Sacramento and things he put in about here were not entirely correct. I vowed never to read his books since he got minor info wrong what else was?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting!

    Harold Schechter never fails. His research is thorough and he writes in a way that keeps me more than interested. I highly recommend this and all his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Wow

    Excellent read. I enjoyed every disturbing yet informative detail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and very informative read.

    Interesting and very informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great for understanding why these people are what they are

    I aways wondered why some people kill multiple people and what made them do what they do, this book answers some of those questions.
    With the world becoming more and more violent this gives us some of the reasons why they crack. Although me not understanding why one would kill anyone it does give me a peek at their brains...now if we could just know stop these people before they start their killing we would be ahead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Leaves you to wonder....

    about that "weird" neighbor of yours!!
    You won't find a story in this book, but you will find lots of interesting information on a variety of truly sick individuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Ill

    Fgffhg hgbo l jk

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    They cant help it.

    These people are the reason I'm still alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    great book

    really informatiomal and i learned alot of things from this book very historical as well not only.do the stories date back decades ago it also exsplains the physcological aspect of the horrible things these people do

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    serial killer

    VERY VERY INTERESTING BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    **

    Good for basic research.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3