Customer Reviews for

Serial Killers and Mass Murderers: Profiles of the World's Most Barbaric Criminals

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Serial Killers and Mass Murderers Book Review

One horrendous slaying after another, this is a book composed of several stories of cold blooded killers and their darkest actions. It explains their individual lifestyles growing up, and includes how they were viewed throughout their lives, pre-murderer, by those who w...
One horrendous slaying after another, this is a book composed of several stories of cold blooded killers and their darkest actions. It explains their individual lifestyles growing up, and includes how they were viewed throughout their lives, pre-murderer, by those who were around them. For each killer, their tactics are as unique as their motives. However, some have no motive at all, they just act without thinking. This book is for the person who wants information on some of the most famous killers, without the bias of the media. Author Nigel Cawthorne provides the hard facts, without his biased opinion laced within, and without hiding the information in which the media either softens or removes from their presentation of the same story. That is what I appreciated most about this book, however, it made it slightly hard to stomach at points. Actions described within the pages are those which only an unstable mind could create. Cawthorne is most popularly known for his Sex Lives series, as well as his Prisoner of War series, his Old England series, and his Art series. He is the author of over 80 novels and has also contributed to The New York Times and The Guardian. I would rate this book at 4.5 stars out of 5, for it's overall content.

posted by MandaRae29 on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay

I think this book is just fool of dreadful things I would say 20 and up can read it.

posted by Anonymous on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Serial Killers and Mass Murderers Book Review

    One horrendous slaying after another, this is a book composed of several stories of cold blooded killers and their darkest actions. It explains their individual lifestyles growing up, and includes how they were viewed throughout their lives, pre-murderer, by those who were around them. For each killer, their tactics are as unique as their motives. However, some have no motive at all, they just act without thinking. This book is for the person who wants information on some of the most famous killers, without the bias of the media. Author Nigel Cawthorne provides the hard facts, without his biased opinion laced within, and without hiding the information in which the media either softens or removes from their presentation of the same story. That is what I appreciated most about this book, however, it made it slightly hard to stomach at points. Actions described within the pages are those which only an unstable mind could create. Cawthorne is most popularly known for his Sex Lives series, as well as his Prisoner of War series, his Old England series, and his Art series. He is the author of over 80 novels and has also contributed to The New York Times and The Guardian. I would rate this book at 4.5 stars out of 5, for it's overall content.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good summary book of Several Different Serial Killers

    This book had several chapters, one chapter on a different serial killer. The killers were also from different parts of the world. The information on each killer was concise but yet had enough detail to tell what they did and their general behavior. At one point I got off track and looked up more information about one of the killers since I had not heard of them before. On the downside -- at no fault of the author, there are several parts in the book where a partial sentence is reprinted for no apparent reason.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Good but not what I expected.

    I bought this book to tell me, in depth, about the serial killers and mass murders. Each chapter is just step by step, telling you what happened. No detail or emotion involved. He went and killed this person, then shot that guy. No depth, although it was interesting to read. It did tell about the victims and what happened.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Worth A Read

    A informative book about some well known US and European serial killers. It give the back stories and lives up to the start and end of their killing sprees. The book does go into graphic detail (no crime scene photos) about the murders and sex crimes committed. I recommend this book, it was a good easy read, definently not for children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Interesting

    Not written incredibly well, but content-wise, it is an excellent overview.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    interesting look at the backgrounds of these deviant individuals.

    Fascinating review of the horrific events experienced by their victims. I read this in an attempt to identify recurring themes of neglect, etc., in each subject's youth. I did not find a clear formula for the making of a monster. Some of these cases were unknown to me inasmuch as they occurred in Europe.A good read, perhaps not before bedtime.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    It is what it says

    Good, quick read about serial killers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1