BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Seriously...I'm Kidding

Average Rating 4
( 508 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!!!!

I bought it and finished it all in one day. It kept me laughing, but also brought up important topics about being yourself. I highly suggest it!

posted by Chammer on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

disappointed and would not recommend this book to anyone

do not buy this book, it is not worth the money, just a bunch of rambling incoherent thoughts written by Ellen. I guess I thought there would be more about Ellen's life and relationships, maybe some funny stories about guests on her show or people she worked with but t...
do not buy this book, it is not worth the money, just a bunch of rambling incoherent thoughts written by Ellen. I guess I thought there would be more about Ellen's life and relationships, maybe some funny stories about guests on her show or people she worked with but there was none of that. If there was a money back guarantee, I would ask for my money back. This is the only book I can think of that I could hardly finish it was so boring. So sad Ellen, you are so funny and you appear to be intellegent, why put out such rubbish?

posted by queen1964 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    disappointed and would not recommend this book to anyone

    do not buy this book, it is not worth the money, just a bunch of rambling incoherent thoughts written by Ellen. I guess I thought there would be more about Ellen's life and relationships, maybe some funny stories about guests on her show or people she worked with but there was none of that. If there was a money back guarantee, I would ask for my money back. This is the only book I can think of that I could hardly finish it was so boring. So sad Ellen, you are so funny and you appear to be intellegent, why put out such rubbish?

    14 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Seriously......shouldnt have written this,and Im not kidding!

    I like Ellens show, her heart for all people, and she is funny on her show.....and I am sure in person. But girl, why did you pen this book? Its nothing but rambling....maybe a few cute/funny thoughts. But that said, I really feel I wasted my money. Could this have been a mistake Ellen, or did you need the money? Just kidding on the money comment Ellen, I do wish I could get my money returned.

    11 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Not good

    I thought this book was quite disappointing. I wanted to learn more about Ellen. Instead she gives out her life lessons and tells jokes.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Save your money.

    As much as I love Ellen, I watch her show all the time, and have seen her stand up in person, and couldn't love her more. But this book is a complete waste of time. It's all schtick. I thought there'd be some good stories about some guests on her show. Maybe a little peak into her personal life. Nope.

    There are tons of chapters that are just ridiculous, and not even that funny. There's a chapter for those who are listening to the audio version, so she decides to make a bunch of sounds for them to enjoy. So for us reading, it's just those sounds typed out.

    There's a chapter warning us that it's the longest chapter in the book, so if we need to be somewhere, read it later. She goes on and on and on for five pages, makes a one sentence point, and says, "Oh, I guess it wasn't that long after all."

    Again, I love Ellen to death, but to me, this just seemed like something she slapped together as quick as possible, got it out there, knowing everyone would buy it.

    Oh, and honestly, it's nothing more than the type of comments she makes on her show. "So, I was driving to work with the top down . . . and my convertible top up."

    I quit reading 110 pages into it, with only 50 more to go. I realized I have better things to do with my time.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Love Ellen - Not this Book!

    This may be the worst 'memoire' I've ever read. It's just stupid, sorry. It's a bunch of stand-up half funny lines with no substance. It seems like Ellen cannot be serious if she tried - well maybe she didn't try. Regardless, big waste of money. It's as if she was forced to write a book and couldn't come up with any substance.

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Waste of money and time

    I think she' s great but this book stinks. She really phoned this one in and I was really disappointed.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Horrible

    Poorly written. Waste of money and time.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    would not recommend

    was very disappointed.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    waste of money

    O love Ellen; I watch her show every day, and even attended a show taping in LA. However , this was a disappoinment; it seemed to be made up of her opening monologues, which I have heard, then a lot of rambling. I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    It read like Ellen, who I love, was just fulfilling a book commi

    It read like Ellen, who I love, was just fulfilling a book commitment to her publishers. Very let down. Not her usual funny randomness. Poor!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Possibly the worst book I have ever tried to finish. Could not d

    Possibly the worst book I have ever tried to finish. Could not do it. Stupid and not funny.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great

    This book is stupid and she is to pluss a l

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Not good---at all

    Juat the sample was bad

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Do no recommend

    I love Ellen but this was not one of her better books. It was like she has Attention Deficit Disorder and had not taken her medicine. Random thoughts that didn't make a bit of sense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    I would not pay $12.99 to read this book, SERIOUSLY, NOT KIDDING! I am not and I will never be an Ellen DeGeneres fan, period.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Not good

    I like ellens show but this book is not worth my time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Very Disappointed

    I love Ellen. I love her show, her perky personality and how open and honest she is. However, I am VERY disappointed in this book. I am on disability with work due to a stroke and new found brain tumor and have a limited budget. I thought this book would be worth the splurge to try and make me feel better while I was in the hospital. this book has its "funny points" but for the most part it was blah. I am very disappopinted. I would like a refund for the book but unfortunately that is not going to happen. A refund would be great though.... Seriously..... I'm NOT kidding.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Sorry i spent the money

    Love Ellen but what a waste of money .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Waste of money

    This book sucks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Disappointing

    I found this book to be very disappointing. I love Ellen on tv and stand up but this book is just not worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3