Customer Reviews for

Seriously...I'm Kidding

Average Rating 4
( 509 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(281)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!!!!

I bought it and finished it all in one day. It kept me laughing, but also brought up important topics about being yourself. I highly suggest it!

posted by Chammer on October 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

disappointed and would not recommend this book to anyone

do not buy this book, it is not worth the money, just a bunch of rambling incoherent thoughts written by Ellen. I guess I thought there would be more about Ellen's life and relationships, maybe some funny stories about guests on her show or people she worked with but t...
do not buy this book, it is not worth the money, just a bunch of rambling incoherent thoughts written by Ellen. I guess I thought there would be more about Ellen's life and relationships, maybe some funny stories about guests on her show or people she worked with but there was none of that. If there was a money back guarantee, I would ask for my money back. This is the only book I can think of that I could hardly finish it was so boring. So sad Ellen, you are so funny and you appear to be intellegent, why put out such rubbish?

posted by queen1964 on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Sigh

    I wish Ellen would write a serious book about herself, her experiences, her life etc. Thats what I was hoping for in this book but was again disappointed. If you want a quick occasional laugh its still okay... but otherwise, find something else.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Easy read

    Fast funny read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    There's No Doubt Who Wrote This Book

    First let me say that as far as Ellen goes on just about anything she does or is as a person, I would rate her 5 stars everytime. However, as far as this book goes, I have some issues. I rarely if ever buy a book from a celebrity because of several reasons. Usually someone else has written it for them, they filter it to be flattering to themselves, and or their ego is so big it's hard to get past the cover to even read the book. In Ellen's case, ego is not an issue, so I thought I would read a book from her because I think she is amazing.

    Guess what, she is amazing! Her book however is hard to read because it is a mirror image of what it would be like to have a conversation with Ellen. The book does not read like a story, nor does it read like a documentary, it reads like a conversation. And let's face it, if you're going to have a conversation with Ellen; it will be lively, interactive and challenging for you because her mind can take you anywhere she wants to go...and you have no chance to keep her on point.

    Her book is like her humor. It is instaneous, funny and all over the place. I totally understand where Ellen is coming from because we share similar humors and like her, my mind is running one hundred miles an hour all the time and can go anywhere in an instant. That is great for TV and comedy and having fun together BUT for a book; it is hard to follow, becomes cumbersome and ultimately wears you out trying to keep up with her. At least for me, because my brain is like the author's; I need the book to keep me on point, on topic and with little distraction.

    If you are like me, you will still love Ellen after reading the book but you probably would not read another one. I would rather watch her converse than to try and read her conversing. Watching is easier to follow her and more entertaining. Reading...for me was more of a cumbersome distraction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    d wish Wish i liked it more

    I wanted so badly to like this book, as i LOVE ellen but i just couldnt get into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    cute

    Cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Seriously I'm Kidding

    This seems like a funny book, but I really wouldn't know because the sample was so short and included so many pages you can't get any idea from at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Funny so far but not what I expected.

    Funny but not what i expected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Almost Worth 4 Stars-Not Quite

    I am a 14 year old girl who watches Ellen's show everyday with my family. Not only is Ellen hilarious but her kindness makes people happy and inspired. I definitly thought this book would be different though. I thought it would be more about her life with her usual humorous stories and jokes sprinled in; but I found a LOT of the book was cheesy random blabber. Ofcourse it for sure made me laugh but I missed a few inspiring life stories or informative paragraphs. Overall, if you love Ellen and want a quick pick me up or laugh, its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Dissapointment

    I love Ellen, I watch her show everyday! She is so funny and always makes me laugh. I looked at the reviews for this book and were some what suprised of the low acoring ones. I still bought it. I kept on trying to make myself laugh with her little one limers, but there was no use. This book told me more about her life than being a humorous book. If you want a laugh out loud book, do not buy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Light funny

    Lite, funny reading but profoundly thought provoking and absurdly free flowing with everyday situations and life experiences in a warped comedic portrayal. Professor munchmore

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Nice

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Easy read, maybe too easy

    Ellen is hilarious, obviously, and in this book she shows a lighter side to some key parts of her life. Sadly she seemed a little too joking at parts and it made it hard to truly enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Ehhhhhhhh

    Okay but theres better books out there.... probablly dont wanna waste your money on it.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    good-fun-light hearted reading

    rambles on in places, attempting to be humorous but it was a little bit of overkill. Would have loved a tad more substance. Love Ellen though:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Not what I thought

    I really thought this would be more of an autobiography of sorts, but it was like a long monologue you would hear at the beginning of the Ellen DeGeneres show. Still enjoyable to read and funny as I love Ellen, but very short for the amount of money it costs on the Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Classic Ellen

    Classic Ellen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Not what i was thinking .

    Ok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A waste of money

    I love watching Ellen's show. In my opinion I didn't enjoy this book at all. It was like a whole lot of rambling. I didn't even finish. Waste of money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Ok not the best

    I enjoyed this book but would have liked more jokes in it and not just an overview of her life... i mean she is a comedian right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I feel kind of bad about this...

    I really like Ellen and love watching her show, but i wanted more from her book. There were some great parts in here that told the reader a lot about Ellen, but I actually wanted more of Ellen as a person and a little less comedian. Oh well...it was an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4