Customer Reviews for

Sermon on the Mount - Reissue: The Key to Success in Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    A Book Every Christian Needs to Read

    Sermon on the Mount is one of those books that is life changing because it provides a paradigm shift for openminded Christians to embrace the true teachings of Christ. I use it for a year-long study in Bible Study at my church. It is particularly helpful to persons who are trying to recover from addictions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Would recommend for someone seeking spiritual guidence...

    Loved that book for an easy reading style. Helped me a lot during challenging times in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Believable

    Fox explains everything about the teachings of Christ which, (if you choose) will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    Not an easy read but, well worth the work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great book!

    I love this book-- so many gems of wisdom contained in its pages! I use the "tools" or suggestions in every area of my life. This is my fifth copy as I keep giving them away to friends and family. A classic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Misleading title and waste of time.

    This book has nothing to do with Christ's Sermon on the Mount, and makes no sense. If you want to understand the Sermon on the Mount stick with the original text. I bought a used hardback copy last year and tossed it in the trash.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Given as gift

    This book was recommended to daughter and she requested that I buy it. She stated that it was very resourceful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    WOLF IN SHEEP'S CLOTHING

    Wow. Just read the first chapter and you will know all you need to know about this mans message.
    Emmet Fox teaches that Jesus did not die for our sins. He wrote that the gospel of Jesus Christ is no more in the bible than it is in the Koran! I guess Fox never read the bible, b/c the gospel is everywhere in the bible. According to Fox, there is no original sin, and Jesus is not the sacrifice for our sins - actually, Fox denies that the bible even talks about those issues.
    This is a perfect example of a "WOLF IN SHEEP'S CLOTHING."

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    A life changing experience

    My wife and I have studied SERMON ON THE MOUNT numerous times. We grow spiritually with each study. Emmett Fox takes the message of Jesus and explains it in a way that is readily understood.
    The book is about gaining the Kingdom of Heaven by changing within. The Kingdom is available to us now if we adopt the Jesus Christ message.
    I recommend this book to anyone who wants to grow spiritually and gain a greater understanding of the Christ teaching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    A "Must Read" for those who are searching for the Truth of Life

    This book completely changed how I view my life and the world around me. One does not need to be a Christian to understand and embrace the wisdom in Emmet Fox's intrepretation of the Sermon on the Mount. Anyone who is searching for deeper understanding and knowledge of the truth of God and our connection to Him,and each other should read this book. I recommend that you have a Bible on hand to read the full passages Mr. Fox refers to. I also strongly recommend that you also read Emmet Fox's The Ten Commandments and Around the Year with Emmet Fox, as these are essential companions to The Sermon on the Mount.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Enlightening and Life Changing

    This is a absolute favorite of mine which I have read several times seeing something different each time. Emmet gave me an entirely new view on spirituality and the Bible. It was a joy to see Jesus's teachings in a whole new light which made so much sense and seemed so right on. My spirituality and connection with my Higher Power is my number one priority in life. This book is a huge milestone in that journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Wisdom from the past

    In the 1930¿s Emett Fox told us our understanding of the Bible was incorrect. He says over and over again God is not a ruthless monarch. Today others agree with him. C.A. Lewis in An Encounter with A Prophet and Don Welsh in Conversations with God to name two. I recommend all three books to anyone wanting a better relationship withGod.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2