Customer Reviews for

Serpent: A Kurt Austin Adventure (NUMA Files Series)

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very good book, highly recommended

In 'Serpent,' Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos introduce a couple of new characters to his the NUMA files book series: Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala. Cussler and Kemprecos have set of this book all over the world and even in the ocean. This book is like all of Clive Cussl...
In 'Serpent,' Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos introduce a couple of new characters to his the NUMA files book series: Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala. Cussler and Kemprecos have set of this book all over the world and even in the ocean. This book is like all of Clive Cussler's books: mysterious and action-packed. This book is filled with mystery and intrigue about who really discovered America and why the answer is worth killing for.

'Serpent' was an extremely well written book because it has everything right, which is to be expected from these authors. Most of their books have some sort of an interesting twist, and this one will get readers asking, 'what if Columbus wasn't the first person to discover America and did anyone before him trade with the Indian cultures like the Mayan'. All in all, Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos keep true to form and writes another masterpiece.

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This is a HORRIBLE book.

I have read EVERY Dirk Pitt novel from Cussler and loved every one of them. But THIS book has absolutely MINIMAL input from Mr Cussler. He has helped a 'fishing buddy' (as was written on the back cover flap) get some money by lending his name and the NUMA organization f...
I have read EVERY Dirk Pitt novel from Cussler and loved every one of them. But THIS book has absolutely MINIMAL input from Mr Cussler. He has helped a 'fishing buddy' (as was written on the back cover flap) get some money by lending his name and the NUMA organization for Mr Paul Kemprecos to invent poorly made heros. He tries to copy Mr Cussler's style by making his hero also have a private love, this one win rare guns, and also attempts to find witty reparte' with his cohort, but there is no 'wit', and even less connection between the characters.

This book was a disapointment from the beginning. Mr Cussler is to be commended for trying to help a friend, but is also to be condemed for placing his name in bold print as if he had a major hand in the production and writing of it. You can tell from the onset that the style bears absolutely NO resembelance to Mr. Cusslers previous books, has no style, the characters are dull and boring, and the entire mission is without purpose.

I say do not buy this book, and avoid any other book that supposedly 'teams' these two authors together, because, simply said, Mr Cussler could NOT have written more than 3 pages of this book and Mr Kemprecos has no sense of style in this genre.

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Wow!,,,

    Now this was a true Cussler book. Really enjoyed reading it and getting into true excitment mode. Worth the 15 dollars I paid. From Nancy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    Serpent by Clive Cussler

    Always enjoy this author's books. Easy to read, highly entertaining and I actually learn something about things nautical in relationship to ships and boats since I live in the Midwest. Recommend this book and any of this author's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    Very good book, highly recommended

    In 'Serpent,' Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos introduce a couple of new characters to his the NUMA files book series: Kurt Austin and Joe Zavala. Cussler and Kemprecos have set of this book all over the world and even in the ocean. This book is like all of Clive Cussler's books: mysterious and action-packed. This book is filled with mystery and intrigue about who really discovered America and why the answer is worth killing for. <p> 'Serpent' was an extremely well written book because it has everything right, which is to be expected from these authors. Most of their books have some sort of an interesting twist, and this one will get readers asking, 'what if Columbus wasn't the first person to discover America and did anyone before him trade with the Indian cultures like the Mayan'. All in all, Clive Cussler and Paul Kemprecos keep true to form and writes another masterpiece.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    A great read

    I've seen books by this author nearly every time I go into the book store but just always ended up getting something else. I found this on sale and so I picked it up. I wish I had done this a long time ago. Very well written with good character development and great plot twists. If you like adventure and heroic action, this is for you. I can't wait to read the rest of the series and all of his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Realistic, and fast paced.

    Well written, the technology matches the tale. This makes for a great read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    This is a HORRIBLE book.

    I have read EVERY Dirk Pitt novel from Cussler and loved every one of them. But THIS book has absolutely MINIMAL input from Mr Cussler. He has helped a 'fishing buddy' (as was written on the back cover flap) get some money by lending his name and the NUMA organization for Mr Paul Kemprecos to invent poorly made heros. He tries to copy Mr Cussler's style by making his hero also have a private love, this one win rare guns, and also attempts to find witty reparte' with his cohort, but there is no 'wit', and even less connection between the characters.<p> This book was a disapointment from the beginning. Mr Cussler is to be commended for trying to help a friend, but is also to be condemed for placing his name in bold print as if he had a major hand in the production and writing of it. You can tell from the onset that the style bears absolutely NO resembelance to Mr. Cusslers previous books, has no style, the characters are dull and boring, and the entire mission is without purpose.<p> I say do not buy this book, and avoid any other book that supposedly 'teams' these two authors together, because, simply said, Mr Cussler could NOT have written more than 3 pages of this book and Mr Kemprecos has no sense of style in this genre.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    Interesting story but not much action

    This was an interesting story that kept me reading, but the level of "action" was not up to the typical Cussler standards. Also Kemprecos continually throws in forced jokes and humor that seem awkward and forced. I'll try more of the Austin series with Kemprecos before I move on to ones penned by his replacement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Cussler keeps making reading a pleasure

    In a world where it seems like everything is fed to us by vid clips on the net that seem to turn us into couch zombies, it's great to find authors like Cussler that still make people WANT to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Dragons

    Icecap blows a big snow cloud. She perches on it, looking for the overlord dragon. Bluefire brings back a rosted phesent. She ate it and flew low to patrol the lands

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Beta

    A black lion with red flecks. May i be deputy dragon.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Aard

    She lands gracefully and eats an ox

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Great Read

    Long time Cussler fan and first time Kurt Austin reader. Great story, typical Cussler formula for adventure fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    Another great series fromn Cussler

    Serpent by Clive Cussler
    The book begins in the prologue with a story based on a real shipwreck, the Italian luxury liner SS Andrea Doria, off the shore of Nantucket. Cussler devotes several pages to describing the events up to the collision with the MS Stockhom through the sinking of the Doria, building suspense and creating sympathy for the victims and survivors.
    Cussler then whisks us away to Morroco to an archaeological dig including an underwater site. Here we are introduced to Nina Kirov, a tall, blond diver who is the owner, president and sole employee of her marine archaeological consultancy firm called Mari-Time Research. While exploring the shoreline and a hidden lagoon, she discovered a carved head with unusual, yet familiar features. She returned to the main camp, reported some of her findings-except the carved head. That she saved for a friend of hers back home for further research. Nina sent a sketch to her friend at the University of Pennsylvania. Early morning of her third day at the site, Nina narrowly misses being massacred with the rest of the dig team. She escapes by way of the water and is then rescued by .
    Kurt Austin, the Special Assignments team leader in NUMA (National Underwater Marine Agency), is tall with blue eyes and nearly white hair. While rescuing the beautiful Nina Kirov from certain death, Austin unfortunately invites the assassins to finish her off and everyone else aboard the Nereus (a NUMA vessel). With odds of three to nine, Austin, his buddy Joe Zavala and the Captain of the Nereus manage to win against the ninja trained assassin. Like Dirk Pitt, Cussler has created another American James Bond in Kurt Austin.
    Finishing up another NUMA assignment in the Yucatan of Mexico, Dr. Gamay Trout-another member of NUMA-has finally arranged a meeting with a VIP from the national anthropological museum in Mexico City. She asks Dr. Chi if there are any archaeological sites in the Yucatan that depict marine life. While Gamay is expecting to look at drawings of scallops, Dr. Chi showed her instead a nautical scene. While exploring the ruins, they stumble upon chicleros who loot Mayan ruins and sell the artifacts. These chicleros don't want their looting business interrupted by curious gringos. Dr. Trout and Dr. Chi have to escape more than once.
    So what does an Italian luxury liner, archaeological dig in Morocco, and chicleros in Mexico have in common? That's what Kurt Austin wants to know.
    Enter Don Halcon. He is the owner of Halcon Industries which is an umbrella corporation with many divisions. Halcon is also apparently a descendant of The Brotherhood-a group of fanatics formed in the 1400s to protect the honor of Christopher Columbus. A rumored artifact on the Andrea Doria, the carved head in Morocco and the nautical scenes in Yucatan all suggested pre-Columbian relations between the East and West. Don Halcon wanted it all eliminated and anyone who got in his way.
    Clive Cussler is an excellent writer. I've only read the first two Dirk Pitt adventures, but I think I might prefer Kurt Austin and the NUMA files series. While Dirk Pitt comes across rough around the edges, Kurt Austin seemed more of a gentleman. Don't get me wrong, I will definitely read the rest of the Dirk Pitt series, but then will promptly move on to the NUMA files. I found Serpent hard to put down. Cussler's great style shines through even in a new series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Good book

    A little to much foul language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    a good book

    The book Serpent is a story of a marine biologist named Kurt Austin who stumbles upon an archaeologist named Nina Kirov. She had uncovered a Mayan ¿olmec¿ head underwater. Some bandits tried to kill her after killing all of her dig party. They were unsuccessful because she was saved by Kurt Austin. As they discover all the missing archaeological sites that had to do with the heads found. They believe it could have been early pre-Columbian contact across the ocean. As they try to uncover the Time Quest business and the secret of the artifacts being destroyed they create a trap for the assassins to fall for. They fall for it and Trout, Morales, and a helicopter pilot go to search for Gamme. Trout somewhat saves her from going into some razor sharp rocks in a river but she gets knocked unconscious from contact on the earth. Things started to go together. In order to uncover all this and to de-throne Don Halcon a powerful Texan industrialist they embark on a mission to uncover an evil plot that is in the hulk of the Andrea Doria a ship that sank fifty years before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    a great book

    The book is about the mayan artifacts and about the discoverys of columbus and it gets a little to technical at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    A Workout for the Imagination

    I found SERPENT, by Clive Cussler, an interesting book to read. I have never read any of Cussler¿s books before this, so I found it quite enjoyable. Normally I don¿t read books too much, but once I got into the story, it was hard to put down unless I got to a chapter break at the exact moment I was called away to do something. The characters Nina Kirov, Kurt Austin, and Joe Zavala had quite a streak of luck throughout the story. The action and descriptions in the story were so great, that I could imagine myself sitting right there watching. When Nina¿s expedition is gunned down for no apparent reason, she flees for her life. As she¿s being chased, she encounters the NUMA agents Austin and Zavala, and they help her escape. On the boat however, the assassins still come after her, but with a lucky shot and a blaze of glory and fire, the assassins are defeated for the moment. I¿d consider this one of the best books that I¿ve ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    Great Read

    Action and Adventure broken up with love and travel. Kurt Austin, though a mirror of Dirk Pitt, is fun and exciting in all the ways a hero should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    Get Back Dirk Pitt....

    I'm a 'Dirk Pitt' reader from the very start. This book starts off fairly decent, then seems to take a down hill slide from there. Clive Cussler is a great action/adventure writer in his own right...but then for some unknown reason he teamed up with Paul Kemprecos. Seems like a rehash of an old 'Doc Savage' book instad of a Cussler book. IE: Kurt Austin is woundend in a fight on a 'Numa ship' and with one good arm and a trusty dueling pistol defeats the bad guys??? come on now...get real. In all honesty this book starts off slow, then never really picks up speed till the last 15 pages are so. Then it just kinda gives a reason from the bad guy, then a few lame combacks then he's done in. Reads like a childs roller-coaster...very little excitment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    New but true to style

    Cussler creates two new heros true to the Pitt genera, but gives it a fresh perspective. A hero worthy of a new generation of readers and a new twist to his writting style. If you like Dirk, you will enjoy a 'younger' version in Austin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5