BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Serpent's Shadow (Elemental Masters Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Refreshing Setting and Imaginative Magic

    Fantasy seems almost entirely split between contemporary Urban Fantasy like Hamilton or the author's own Diana Tregarde novels or High Fantasy in a pseudo-medieval setting such as Tolkien or the author's own Valdemir books. So it was refreshing to read a fantasy set in Edwardian times, and a lot of the pleasure of this novel was how well it evoked that historical milieu. You don't often see heroines that hail from India either, and Maya is a very appealing heroine, one who as a female doctor in those times has had to struggle to gain respect in her profession. I would have enjoyed following her even in a purely historical novel, but I did like Lackey's magical world here very much. Original, interesting, well-thought out and I liked how the author adapted the Snow White legend in such a way as to not make the plot predictable. An enjoyable, fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    beautiful fantasy tale

    When the sun never set on Britannia, many disgruntled natives living in India turn to the dark side by worshipping the evil Goddess Kali-Purga. Most of the followers joined the deadly thugee cult, a group that used force to obtain their demands. Shivani is a high priestess who loathes the English. She uses her powers to kill her sister who had the audacity to marry a British doctor and to make matters worse, she had a daughter with the foreigner. <P>When Shivani murders her father, Maya flees India for the relative safety of London where she tends to the medical needs of the poor. Shivani follows her to London, planning to cause mass chaos, trepidation, and death in order to force the infidel English from her country. Shivani also plans to kill Maya, but that proves difficult as she is closely guarded and has own powers. <P>THE SERPENT¿S SHADOW is a beautiful fantasy tale that leaves the audience believing in a happily ever after. Mercedes Lackey¿s latest novel will please romance fans as well. This adult fairy tale is brilliantly crafted just as the previous tale in this series, THE SUMMER RISE is. A secondary character deserves his story be told in a future edition. Recapture the innocence and pleasures of youth with this fabulous novel. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Very Entertaining to read again and again

    For people who enjoy the combination of magic and mythology, this is an excellent book to read! Mercedes Lackey's Elemental Masters series is fun, and exciting, and each book takes on an entirely different character. This book seamlessly melds elemental magic, or the magic of the west, with Indian mythology. She discusses the various gods and goddesses of India very briefly, with the exception of Kali Durga. I am curious of her interpretation of Kali Durga, because it is so very different from the portrayal of the eight-armed goddess from the Tiger's Curse series by Colleen Houck. I'm perplexed enough that I am interested in researching it more. One thing I do take away from it is how different people can interpret religions differently, and hold grudges toward a person who has done nothing wrong.

    The story portrays the struggles of a mixed race woman trying to make a difference in early 20th century England, with the magic thrown in everywhere for good measure, while she is being hunted by a her aunt who has never met her, but has vowed to kill her. I enjoy this book and have read it many times and plan to read it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Another winner!

    Mercedes Lackey did it again! This is the best one in the series so far. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    If your her how old is are you- julian

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I am not going to tell you that but......

    I can tell you this,i was born in texas,my middle name is marie,and one of my best friends is taylor swift

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    right up my alley!

    I love this time period and magic stuff. This sort of Harry Potter for the romance set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Hey

    Its darkurret speaking please every nonroleplayers evacuate we are going to come and take space and make this a chat site and a clan place so plzzzzzzz move out we mean no harm !!!!!"!!"!!"~ Darkurret

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Gorgeous!

    This book had simply beautiful imagery. It makes you ache to be able to truly see what's going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Entertaining, one of the best of the this series.

    The character is challenged by the values of the people and constrictions of society she has moved to, but tackles her problems in an very positive way. Great fantasy, and some parallels to past and present society beneath the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    I have always loved fairy tales and having one I grew up with told in such a unique way was fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Remarkable!

    Those who are criticising 'Serpent's Shadow' have evidently forgotten that they are reading fiction....and this is great, really great fiction. If you want a remarkably good read...just pick up a Mercedes Lackey!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    a headline for your review here

    your review here: I *underline*LOVE*underline* (that isn't HTML) Mercedes Lackey... usually. I have read her Valdemar Series and her other books, and when I heard she had written a new one I was all for reading it. BUT... incorperating fantasy into historical fiction is something so far only Philip Pullman can do. This book was awful. Not up to her standards at all. She made the main character a weird slut, who is utterly dispicable. The 'bad guys' are angels by comparason. She also completly kills the sari. My question is, did she do any research at all?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2002

    Best fantasy book I have read in a while

    I thought this book was fantastic, and definitely different from most "standard" or "generic" fantasy novels. It is refreshing to see something new. Some of the people who wrote reviews objected to wrong details of Indian culture in the book, but I didn't feel the same way--I am not any sort of an expert on Indian culture. I thought it was a wonderfully descriptive book, and very easy to picture the inner workings of the minds of the characters. A good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    An amazing and thrilling novel!

    As Maya feels her magic grow she feels a romance start to bud between her and the mage who is trying to keep her and her soul together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    If I wanted a sermon, I would have went to church.

    This book disappointed me on many levels. As someone who has studied Indian culture, it was obvious she had failed to do adequate research. Also, it seemed as if the author did not always remember what she had written earlier on. The villains were very two dimensional and the heroes were the only ones who seemed to have a clue. I usually like her feminist approach to writing, but this was far too preachy by most standards. In short, she has done much better. This is hastily written fodder at best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2002

    Ms. Lackey needs to do more research before writing.

    Though a decent effort, she misses little details that ruins the story for me and probably other people of Indian origin. People from India speak Hindi and not Hindu, which is a religion. I wold think a learned author like Lackey would do some research into the topic before writing about it. Little missed details about India and Indian religion and culture ruined the whole story for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2002

    Magic Mystery Romance Even Action - WOW!

    Simply the most outstanding book I've had the pleasure to read in such a long time - I've pre-ordered the nest book in the series - The Gates of Sleep. Why doesn't Hollywood come running to use this book as a basis for a movie??? Lackey is a skilled writer - but not heavyhanded - brillant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3