BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Serpent's Storm (Calliope Reaper-Jones Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    REGARDING THE BOOK SERPENT'S STORM

    I was eating a chicken meal at KFC Restaurant while I was reading this book from cover to cover. I found it impossible to put the book down. The title character from HOW TO BE DEATH and DEATH'S DAUGHTER returns for a third volume. Poor Calliope Reaper-Jones. She didn't want to be the Angel of Death, but found herself forced into the job anyway. The Angel of Death happens to be her father and he's dead. Having to deal with the death of her father was bad enough. However, turning down the chance to take over her dead father's job full time and giving the job to her disowned prison escaping sister Thalia. Now Calliope has to fight harder than she ever done before to reclaim her inheritance before Thalia abuses her new job to destroy the entire universe with her newfound Angel of Death abilities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    There's never a dull moment when you happen to be Death.

    Amber Benson continues to blend elements of reality and fantasy into well-blended mixture of seriousness and humor. Her wacky and creative use of words and phrases encourages laughter where there would normally be terror and panic. On the flip side, there is still a hint of reality; where Calliope is hit with the very real emotions of pain, resentment, and the need for revenge. Refusing to be turned into a fresh stick of chicken kabob Calliope, once again, finds herself back in the position of being Death. Faced with new obstacles, characters, and destinations, Calliope must dig down deep within herself if she is to show her enemies what she is really made of.
    -Heather Lahr

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Calliope Reaper-Jones fans -you won't believe what the CHICK ENdures now!!!!!!!!!!

    There's a new book in the excellent Calliope Reaper-Jones series coming out later February 2012. You will want to catch up by reading Serpent's Storm and the other books. I won't spoil your fun by revealing the plot, but you simply won't believe what this chick endures. Happy Reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    A storm is coming

    Serpent's Storm is the third book in the Calliope Reaper-Jones series. Callie is once again trying to lead a normal death free life but fate has no intention of letting her do so. She has promises to keep and deals to make if she can stop being a chicken and accept her part in the grand scheme of heaven and hell. - BrandyNicole910

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than General Tso's Chicken

    The third book in the Calliope Reaper-Jones novels gives me everything I could possibly be looking for in an urban fantasy novel. There's hot sex intermingled with emotional bindings, confusing relationship and potentially painful outcomes. A main character who, while immortal still has to evolve from being a chicken about getting her butt whooped to becoming as bad-ass as she can be and saving everyone. There are supporting characters that you grow attached to and finally there is action. My personal favorite aspect of this series is how hard Cal tries to be the "Sex in the City" type of woman, yet keeps getting dragged back into the thick of things. In other words, the model of the reluctant heroine. (Pun only a little bit intended.)

    For a special treat, consider trying the method I did for reading it a second time. I purchased the book on audio. As an actor, Amber Benson brings each character to life through the use of her voice as much as with her writing. Going through about a third of my books each year in audio, I can't resist a good narrator, and she ranks right up there with my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Amber Benson is the best!

    In this third novel of the Calliope Reaper-Jones series, Benson is no chicken when it comes to writing amazing scenes. Callie is FINALLY with Daniel, but of course that's not going to stop Thalia from trying to take over... Again. This novel is a little more risque than that last two, but it was a plot moving scene, so it was acceptable. I really can't get enough of these books; I eat them up like I eat fried chicken.

    DaLittleMermaid333 @ gmail

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    An excellent read

    One need not be scared or chicken to read this book One requires an appreciation of a well written journey to a fantasy world where readers are challenged with interesting characters facing critical quests. Enter this world if you dare, and you will be well rewarded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    the Reaper Jones must embrace her heritage or watch the universe implode

    Calliope Reaper-Jones has a unique DNA as she happens to be one of Death's Daughters. She just wants to be a normal New York City yuppie, but with her genetics normal is not a term Calliope expects to ever find.

    However even she is unprepared when her sister Thalia united with the Devil commits patricide killing their father Death. Complicating matters for Calliope is she is unsure whether she should grieve or not for her dad or herself as she is now Death. She must accept this position she never wanted starting with the need to kill her new lover Daniel the former Devil's protégé turned soul-saver; for if she abdicates her duty, chaos has entered the Hall of Death, which will swarm all over the universe including heaven and hell but especially earth. Then she must pay the death debt with the Ender of Death for what occurred to her family especially her widowed mom.

    No longer the heir apparent thanks to her sibling, the Reaper Jones must embrace her heritage or watch the universe implode. Fast-paced but filled with humor and pathos, readers will embrace the heroine as accepts Manhattan is no longer home if it ever truly was. Serpent's Storm is Cal's fantasy as she with a strong support cast make for a powerful action-packed thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1