Customer Reviews for

The Servant: A Simple Story about the True Essence of Leadership

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Still a great read

    I read this book 5 years ago and just finished it a second time this weekend. This is still a great book and should be required reading for all leaders or those who wish to become leaders. I would go so far as to recommend this book for everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    This book helped me to understand what it truly means to be a se

    This book helped me to understand what it truly means to be a servant leader. The author tells the story in a way that is easy to understand for the reader. I will continue to reference what I have learned in this text as I grown as a leader. I believe that with the information I have learned from reading this book, I will be a better leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    Loved the book.

    For anyone who wants to evolve as a human being and/or a leader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    Great Read for Leaders

    I agree with the other reviews. This book is excellent for anyone in a leadership position...professional and otherwise. It is a quick read that is easy to comprehend and memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    Great Read

    I think this book should be required reading for anyone in a Leadership position or those seeking to become leaders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    A great read for managers, coaches, teachers and all types of leaders

    The book was an excellent read. The text was well organized and easy to read, yet the content was very motivational. I look at leadership from a different view now. The title really says it all. Great leaders will be great servants. The book will change your thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2004

    Must Reading for All People in Leadership Positions

    This book is filled with succinct, practical advice on how to live a fulfilling life of purpose. Its power lies in its simplicity, and its value lies in its believeable application to life's daily challenges. The gems revealed in this book will, when applied, make our world a much better place to live. Calling all coaches, teachers, administrators, and executives...well worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Servant Leadership is true leadership

    As a program operations administrator, I have been practicing and using the principles of servant leadership with my staff, friends, peers etc. since I purchased the book at a USDA Conference in Orlando Florida in 2000. The book is always within arms reach and I read certain pages over and over again. If everyone in a leadership role would acquire and utilize the skills of servant leadership, the workplace environment, production, creativity etc would be greatly improved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Look into yourself.

    After my first reading, I had to put it down and soak in all of the thoughts and feelings that were found. This book gives a different method (meaning something not taught in school) for looking at yourself and how you 'love' others as a leader. Make the choice to change, you can find the first step in this book. I will be reading this again and taking notes for growth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1