BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Servant of the Bones

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Read a novel? Me?

I wasn't really a "reader" when I read this book. And although it was not the book to catapult me into what I've come to know as a beloved escape, it did a hell of a job with my confidence in reading. I saw it in the airport, and rather than buying a heavy metal magaz...
I wasn't really a "reader" when I read this book. And although it was not the book to catapult me into what I've come to know as a beloved escape, it did a hell of a job with my confidence in reading. I saw it in the airport, and rather than buying a heavy metal magazine, I saw the skull on the cover and thought, "what the hell?". HIYOOO!!!!

Imagine being a 17-year old guitar wielding teenager and reading a book that blew your mind, but you can't talk to your friends about it because they wouldn't be caught dead reading ANYTHING! It will always be apart of my library because it was a catalyst for something in my life that is sacred, and that everyone should try to find joy in. Reading. Thanks Anne!

posted by Novica on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Normally an Anne Rice fan...

This book just is just not up to par with the rest of Anne Rice. It's not the worst book out there, but it couls stand to be much better. I would not recommend this to a first time Anne Rice reader. I would only recommend this to dedicated fans.

posted by Anonymous on November 1, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Read a novel? Me?

    I wasn't really a "reader" when I read this book. And although it was not the book to catapult me into what I've come to know as a beloved escape, it did a hell of a job with my confidence in reading. I saw it in the airport, and rather than buying a heavy metal magazine, I saw the skull on the cover and thought, "what the hell?". HIYOOO!!!!

    Imagine being a 17-year old guitar wielding teenager and reading a book that blew your mind, but you can't talk to your friends about it because they wouldn't be caught dead reading ANYTHING! It will always be apart of my library because it was a catalyst for something in my life that is sacred, and that everyone should try to find joy in. Reading. Thanks Anne!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Falling Fast

    I fell fast for Anne Rice's vampires and I almost swore off all other books. But I found that her talent was slipping, her books became too wordy. But then I read this one and I simply ADORED it. It was magical and entranceing as well as filled with things to spellbind you and keep your attention. I read it two times in a row and recomended it to a now devoted fan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Servant of the Bones

    I am an avid reader and a fan of all of Anne's work with the exception of few. This piece deserves much praise and accolades as her intricate descriptions and dialouge bring the reader into its embrace! I have re-read this work numerous times and have always been intrigued by how well this book was put together. An excellent read for those whom steer clear of the Vampire stories. <BR/><BR/>I give this an A++.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Unforgettable Read

    I bought this book hot off the presses!! It has been 10 years since I first read this golden gem, and still I can't get the words, characters, nor the story out of my mind. Very few books/authors have that kind of power for me. I have added Ms. Rice to my rapidly growing list of author Koontz, Patterson, Quick, Brown,Roberts,Kellerman. Great Job!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Normally an Anne Rice fan...

    This book just is just not up to par with the rest of Anne Rice. It's not the worst book out there, but it couls stand to be much better. I would not recommend this to a first time Anne Rice reader. I would only recommend this to dedicated fans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Not my favorite.

    Not my favorite of Anne Rice's books.
    Found this tedious to keep up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Highly Recommended

    A wonerful, captivating, heart-warming story from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Buy this book, it's so worth it!

    I was crying while reading this. Heart breakingly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A difficult read.

    A difficult read. It didn't hold my attention very well. Not what I expected from Anne Rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Petered out

    Great start to the story, going back in time Anne has the reader completely captured and enthralled. Once she starts telling the story in modern time, things just peter out. She over uses his husband's poetry, been doing that way too much in her later writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Servant of the Bones, a novel

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Great Story

    This is the only Anne Rice book I have read, but it falls into my top 5 favorite books. It is a great story and a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Simply the best by the best

    It is an awesome book. It is so deep and lifting. Its not something you can just read and not think about. Once you start to read this book it will fallow you everywhere. I could not put it down and would reccomend that anybody read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    Sean doesn't know what he's talking about!

    This book is FANTASTIC and beyond anything Anne Rice has EVER written! I LOVED IT!!!!! I'd reccomend it to ANYONE who loves Anne Rice or is just beginning to read her! It's insperational and magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    azriel is a human, beyond powers

    how could i forget this book, this was the first one that i read from anne rice, and soon many others, azriel was my inspiration, he brought me to places where dreams may come true, that theres beauty in death, that theres life in the after death, that theres hope for the oppressed and there will always be a reward for every good deeds that we do and thus those who are unjust will be punished, i salute you ms rice!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Simply Outstanding

    One of the best books I have ever read. Rice has done it again. Both captivating and taking me on a thrill ride that kept me holding on till the very end. WOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Best book I've EVER read!

    and I read so much, that's really saying something. For me this was history, magic, and sort of a mystery before it was all over. This book really made me want to look into the history of those ancient times I read about at the begining. I greatly appriciate a book that makes me curious about historical facts. Anyway it was the best book I've EVER read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Poo-co-Poo -co [too slow]

    The book was interesting the first 100-pages, but it left. It skipped a beat somewhere. I like the way she shifts history about, and knows a lot in many ancient area;but then, it is part of her unique style. Gettng into Egyptian mummified things was also interesting. But not real scary,or matter-of-fact things she has used in other books, was not there,and it was far from scary. Not sure if I would call it horror either. More facination, and unreal. Read the Last Trumpet and the Woodbridge Demon for scary stuff. Lasher is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2000

    GREAT BOOK THIS BOOK MADE ME WANT TO READ MORE FROM ANNE RICE

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! I couldnt put it down this was my first anne rice book. SHE IS AN INCREDIBLE WRITTER.Currently im on the 2nd book of the vampire cronicles you have to read INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE the movie doesn't give the book justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5