Customer Reviews for

The Servants of Twilight

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

This was a fantastic read. Dean Koontz remains one of my favourite writers!

posted by theReader278 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

weird

it was good. wasn't a fave but good. kinda hard to follow in places

posted by Anonymous on August 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This was a fantastic read. Dean Koontz remains one of my favourite writers!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    One of my favorites

    I read this one years ago, and just got done reading it again. It was as great as I remembered it being. I highly recommend to anyone that likes suspenseful novels.





    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I really enjoyed this book! Enjoyable and hard to out down. Another excellent book by Dean Koonts

    Excellent

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Another great read from Dean Koontz

    Dean Koontz always gives us the best in his books and this one keeps up that tradition. The Servants of Twilight should be one of the first on the reading list of all those who love a good mystery with a twist. From the first page to the last, this book will have you in its clutches. Dean Koontz is one of my all time favorite authors because when you are looking for something good to read you know he is going to give it to you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent adventure!

    The Servants Of Twilight by Dean Koontz was a very good thriller. It showed just how evil a "so-called" religious fanatic group can be. You'll cheer for the good guys and curse the bad. And finally see what happens to the villain at the end. Does this "fanatic" get what she really deserves or? Does good overcome "evil." (And to whom?) I highly recommend this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    weird

    it was good. wasn't a fave but good. kinda hard to follow in places

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2003

    One of my favorites!

    This book snatches you from the first page and doesn't let go until the end. I've read it at least three times, and each time it doesn't lose it's effect. Koontz's best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    The Servants of Twilight

    The title of my book was The Servants of Twilight and Dean Koontz wrote the book. I believe that Dean Koontz purpose for writing is to inform the readers that there is a God out there. In all of his books he has God play a big part in what is happening, and makes the reader think about God the entire book. I don't know why he wrote this book. Maybe to show that God is in everything that we do. He had many events that took place that only could have happened in the book with God's help.
    I would think that his intended audience would have to be anybody that is a teenager and up. I would say this because the book is all about murder, and have some very gruesome scenes in it. Also it has a message in about God in it. I think he choose this group, because they would be the age that he would be able to get his point across. People that were younger wouldn't be able to comprehend what he was trying to say.
    The main character is the narrator, and she is a mom trying to take care of her kid from a religious group. She is important because she protects her kid from the people who want to kill him. She goes on the run, and is the mother figure in the story. Without her the kid would never have survived, and would have never been able to live a normal life after the event was done.
    He pretty much made this life it was real life. It was made in modern time, and was pretty much had no future things going on. All the weapons used were normal guns nothing from the future, and the characters had to deal with real life situations. So to me I believe that this could happen today in a town anywhere that there are people like in the book.
    I don't really connect with any of them at all. I haven't ever been shot at, and never have had to go on the run from somebody. I never have had to protect my kid or anybody as a matter of fact. Pretty much I don't relate to any of them, I just like that the story is very real.
    I think so, as I said in a paragraph above I thought he wanted to get the point across that God was in everything we do. I can see it in his story and I can see that has a good relationship with God. So to me yes, he did get his point across.
    All of his other books are somewhat like this one. They all have God in them, and usually there is a murder in the book. There are usually the good people who have to go on the run and hide from certain death. Making the books hard to put down, and very fun to read.
    The title pretty much says what the story is about. The title is "The servants of Twilight". The whole book is about a religious group that thinks twilight is coming, and the kid is the antichrist. They want him dead before he can rule the world for a thousand years. I think that anybody should read this book. I found it to be a page turner, and I didn't want to put it down.
    I would give this book 5 star. I thought that Dean did a great job making it so interesting that I never wanted to put it down. I also liked the message he was trying to get across. He is my favorite author, and this has to be one of his best books for me. At least its one of my favorites.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    pretty good

    Well written and fast paced. Christine is a single mom taking care of her six year old son. When a group of religious fanatics start coming after her and her son claiming he is the anitchrist Christine with the help of a police detective have to protect and save her son from death.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Delving too deep

    I enjoyed this book. Despite the fact that it is farfetched and tries too hard to be realistic. This is not a type of novel that is usually expected and enjoyed of Dean Koontz. I would recommend this book to be read, but not expected to be anything near his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2002

    One of his best!

    I absolutly loved this book!! It really makes you wonder what is going to happen. He makes it seem like what he has written in this book is real. You wont want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    Cleverly accomplished shift in viewpoints.

    Not a bad book! Poor little Joey is being relentlessly pursued by a wacky cult that is convinced he is the antichrist, and that is willing to engage in kamikaze attacks in order to kill him. They're obviously a collection of real losers with questionable backgrounds and habits, but... As the book progresses your hatred and doubts about the cult gradually diminish until their claims are at least on equal footing with those of the mother. This shift was well done, especially after you more carefully consider the detective's and mother's backgrounds, so that a situation that seemed so clear at first changes so radically. The bat attack (the formulaic Koontz bird attack) was quite memorable. The book's theme is much like 'The Omen.' The book's a little older and less intense than his newer style, but is certainly exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2000

    Awesome!

    I have read about 18 of Dean Koontz's books and this is definately one of my favorites. It will keep your interest until the end and you'll think about it when you aren't reading it. This book has such great description and detail, you can see what's going on in the story inside your head. If you haven't read this yet then you're missing out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 1999

    The Best Suspenseful Stalking Book Ever

    One of Dean Koontz best masterpieces. I've read much of his work and this is definitly in the top 5. It may start off slow, but it quickly picks up pace. Koontz is one of the few authors who can hold a candle to Stephen King. This review might not say to much about the book cause its been awhile since I read the book, so I may be shooting from the hip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Twisty Action

    Another book by Koontz that I became quickly invested in. Maybe it was the mother bear instinct in me or maybe the characters were just that easy to know, regardless of why I know that within a chapter or two I was hooked.

    This was a book that kept me guessing. There were many times that I found myself feeling a certain predictability building and then out of know where I realize how I had gone completely down a wrong path.

    Without spoiling anything I do want to say that the ending wasn't for me. I can't put a finger on exactly why but when I finished the last sentence I turned the page expecting to see something.. anything. But there wasn't anything. Not to say that it ruined the whole book but it just felt incomplete - although I supposed another book could be brought into the picture now to build off of it.

    Definitely glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Recommend it very much!

    Alhough an old premise with the "Anti-Christ" theme, Mr. Koontz added the twists sufficient to make the story telling new.
    Roger

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Well done

    Great book. Classic Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    nice story

    Another good read by Koontz. Got right into the story line and this one is quite action packed. Only thing that I thought was funny wondered when it was written because they had no cellphones so it was like cellphone?!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Almost ordered....AGAIN

    I was getting ready to order this book when it hit me...I think I already have this book. Sure enough I did in my library. It was first published in 1990. Shame on u barnes n noble. You should advise your customers of the first publish date. Unless it is your intention to deceive?
    Neverthe less it is fantastic read. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Goodbook

    Definately a good read! Not a usual Dean Koontz book....I enjoyed the thriller/romance.....my favorite! I hope to see more of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3