Customer Reviews for

Service: A Navy SEAL at War

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

So I just finished reading Service (in less than 2 days) and was

So I just finished reading Service (in less than 2 days) and was not at all surprised to find it captivating and emotionally charged from the very beginning with his beautiful dedication to Morgan and Mel all the way through to the final acknowledgments. He cleared up s...
So I just finished reading Service (in less than 2 days) and was not at all surprised to find it captivating and emotionally charged from the very beginning with his beautiful dedication to Morgan and Mel all the way through to the final acknowledgments. He cleared up so many questions that I had following the first book and also explained some things I didn't know that I didn't know (if that makes sense). The many amazing stories of his fellow soldier’s valor and heroism were awe inspiring and heartbreaking and I thank God that we have such brave men serving our country. I loved hearing more stories about his friend Jon Tumilson and the amazing man and warrior that JT was, and I also thought the chapter by Amy and all the wives was very sweet and a poignant reminder of the many sacrifices that our military families make. I’m hoping that hearing these incredible stories of bravery will inspire everyone to do all we can to give back to our troops and their families since we owe them so much. Thanks so much to Marcus Luttrell for writing this wonderful book and may God bless him, his family and all those who served and continue to serve with valor.

posted by HeidiY227 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's hard to beat his 1st book.

Marcus does a good job sharing his stories and experiences, but I felt the book lacked the same intense suspense. This is not a book like Lone Survivor (a must read). I felt the book had a tendency to ramble on and often jumped around. Though I didn't care for this b...
Marcus does a good job sharing his stories and experiences, but I felt the book lacked the same intense suspense. This is not a book like Lone Survivor (a must read). I felt the book had a tendency to ramble on and often jumped around. Though I didn't care for this book. I do want to say thank you to Marcus and our US troops - true American heroes.

posted by 10557816 on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    So I just finished reading Service (in less than 2 days) and was

    So I just finished reading Service (in less than 2 days) and was not at all surprised to find it captivating and emotionally charged from the very beginning with his beautiful dedication to Morgan and Mel all the way through to the final acknowledgments. He cleared up so many questions that I had following the first book and also explained some things I didn't know that I didn't know (if that makes sense). The many amazing stories of his fellow soldier’s valor and heroism were awe inspiring and heartbreaking and I thank God that we have such brave men serving our country. I loved hearing more stories about his friend Jon Tumilson and the amazing man and warrior that JT was, and I also thought the chapter by Amy and all the wives was very sweet and a poignant reminder of the many sacrifices that our military families make. I’m hoping that hearing these incredible stories of bravery will inspire everyone to do all we can to give back to our troops and their families since we owe them so much. Thanks so much to Marcus Luttrell for writing this wonderful book and may God bless him, his family and all those who served and continue to serve with valor.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Emotional story of SEAL's return to war

    Luttrell opens up about his physical and emotional journey to return to the battlefield and seeks to provide insight on why he and so many others are called to serve their country. As someone with no military experience, the description of conditions in Iraq for our troops and Iraqi citizens was startling and eye-opening. The Warrior Queen chapter is an excellent tribute to the families serving at home. Luttrell was thrust into the spotlight after "Lone Survivor". It seems that spotlight has given him a purpose post-Navy, telling inspiring stories of his brothers-in-arms that just might change your outlook on life. Service is a must read.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Great read!

    Saw the authors interview on the Today Show and was instantly interested in hearing a first hand account of what our soldiers and Special Forces have been dealing with on a daily basis. Loved that this book spanned a period of time that detailed the difficulties both home and abroad. Highly recommend this book. This female non military human found it very insightful and well written.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended! Great Read!

    Marcus gives us a glimpse of what it's like for our Service members, how much they give up to protect our freedoms. He does an awesome job honoring our hereos and like his first book Lone Survivor you can't put it down. Marcus's books should be a required read in American High Schools to teach these kids what an idol really is!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    A compelling and very well written combat memoir. Luttrell pour

    A compelling and very well written combat memoir. Luttrell pours his heart out onto the pages of Service and you can feel the love for his brothers, the pain of their loss and his passion for service. He memorializes other veterans by exploring the motivation to serve the USA at a time when less than 1% of Americans do. It is a noble and worthy effort on the part of Mr. Luttrell.

    The combat portions are breathlessly written and the tragic losses he experiences are raw; you feel his pain through the clarity of his writing. An exceptional read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    An awesome book!!! I loved his first book Lone Survivor & th

    An awesome book!!! I loved his first book Lone Survivor & this one is proving to be of the same caliber. He gets to the heart of the matter in both books & he's honest on everything that is said.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Moving

    Good book, Marcus got back on the horse, I don't know how but he did. I don't want to spoil it but I cried at one part later in the book and it seemed like I didn't stop after that. I was hoping he would catch the cowards he was chasing after what they did. It was also nice to know about Gulab. Marcus really seemed more settled in this book but he had more time since Redwing to come to grips with it and find peace in God.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    A must read

    One of the best books I have read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Luttrell defines a true American Hero! Lone Survivor was incred

    Luttrell defines a true American Hero! Lone Survivor was incredibly gripping and this book is as well, providing an inside look at what a military combat life means.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    True hero. We need millions more of people like Luttrell in thi

    True hero. We need millions more of people like Luttrell in this country!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Service by marcus luttrell

    Hooyah marcus , another great book and told straight from the heart.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Fantastic!!

    Again Mr. Luttrell gives a terrific account of his service and his team member's service downrange. It is a privileged glimpse into some of the secret work done by our special forces military men during their brave service in our country's military.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Another excellent book by Marcus Luttrell. He provides another superb look into the life of Navy special warfare operators. And the inclusion of comments from the spouses is quite revealing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Lone Survivor Service

    Great , great, great a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Service: A Navy SEAL At War is a compelling autobiography about

    Service: A Navy SEAL At War is a compelling autobiography about the author, Marcus Luttrell. This book is hard to put down once you start reading it due to its spectacular story. It will continue to leave you feeling proud, blissful, respect, and much more throughout the course of the book. This story is a modern day version of the fantastic book and T.V. series Band of Brothers (which is also a biography/documentary about the 506th airborne division, Easy Company).

    The main character and narrator of this book is Marcus Luttrell a Navy SEAL that describes his experience while serving in Ramadi one of the most dangerous cities in Iraq. Marcus deeply believes in God, country, and America’s armed forces. His love for his teammates and his brother (who’s also a SEAL) is transcendent, and keeps bringing him back to the fight. Earlier I mentioned how this story is like a modern day “Band of Brothers” well Marcus Luttrell reminds me of Major Richard D. Winters the way he interacts with his men and his country. However Winters will always be higher than Marcus, but we aren’t talking about that right now.

    Service, however, lacks the familiar narrative of an epic tragedy/war story. Instead, Marcus Luttrell walks the reader through the fight in Ramadi from 2006 to 2008. Patrol after patrol, fire fight after fire fight, frustrating bureaucratic interlude after frustrating bureaucratic interlude; as you read the book, you feel as if you’re there and for me, that’s a tough feeling. I knew about the increasingly restrictive rules of engagement, and I had an understanding of the reality of battle, but Luttrell’s book is much more intense. Here is a passage that demonstrates how intense it can be:

    I remember the paralyzing feeling of helplessness as I sat there monitoring the radio, unable to take any action and forbidden, of course, to communicate, lest my inquiries muck up the more urgent needs of my teammates across town.
    Man down...casevac...another man down…he’s dead.
    But who? It took hours for the details to reach us. Then it was a long anxious wait for our boys to return.”

    It also uses an abundance of imagery, almost everything he describes can be easily pictured in your head. He even gives the reader a map that is in the beginning of the book with labeled landmarks. Another thing that helps improve the imagery is the pictures he puts in that sometimes list who are in it and also show some of the equipment they used. Here is a passage that displays the imagery uses:

    He’d fought to get back on the line as LPO and team leader, and when I finally let him start running again, he’d come back after every op and take his boots off, and I’d have to doctor up his feet because his socks were soaked through with blood.

    Overall this book is a really good read, however it is difficult to read at times and I feel like some people won’t understand what he went through and what it’s like to serve (I blame call of duty and some war films). But besides that I highly recommend this book, the atmosphere Marcus sets can not be matched. The way he describes what's going on and what people think is terrific. The use of conversational feel makes you feel like he’s right in front of you. It is one of a kind and takes you on a journey to the world of the SEALS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    It's hard to beat his 1st book.

    Marcus does a good job sharing his stories and experiences, but I felt the book lacked the same intense suspense. This is not a book like Lone Survivor (a must read). I felt the book had a tendency to ramble on and often jumped around. Though I didn't care for this book. I do want to say thank you to Marcus and our US troops - true American heroes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    This book is an easy read that is interesting and timely. It honors those who serve our country. Also honored our the families of those who serve. It provides insight to those who choose to serve in our branches of the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Nick

    And who the fu<_>ck might you be?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Marcus Luttrell follow up

    Great follow up to Lone Survivor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    This a seal book

    This book was so well written and it made me want to be a seal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5