Customer Reviews for

Setting Limits With Your Strong-Willed Child: Eliminating Conflict By Establishing Clear, Firm, And Respectful Boundaries

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Clear, Sensible Philosophy for Setting Limits that WORKS!

As a kindergarten teacher as well as a parent of strong-willed 5-year-old twin boys, I too often found myself yelling louder, reminding more often and searching for stricter punishments to get the children to cooperate...Nothing was working! I needed a new approach......
As a kindergarten teacher as well as a parent of strong-willed 5-year-old twin boys, I too often found myself yelling louder, reminding more often and searching for stricter punishments to get the children to cooperate...Nothing was working! I needed a new approach...and Dr. MacKenzie has given me the understanding and the tools to set limits effectively without losing my sanity. I learned how I was part of 'the dance' of non-compliance and I realized that I would have to change my behavior first before I got a positive change in the behavior from the children. I learned the difference between 'soft limits' and 'firm limits' and the importance of my actions supporting my words; then, the kids began respecting the rules because they knew I would follow through with consequences. It was an eye-opener to realize that by me constantly reminding...I was actually teaching the children to ignore (at least the first few times because they knew more reminding was coming)...by giving unclear open-ended directions...I was actually setting the situation up for clarification, testing and conflict...and by bargaining and making deals out of desperation...I was actually giving the kids the opportunity to control the situation as they decided to up the ante the next time! The best part of this book is the real life examples of exactly what to say and not say to the kids. It is as if the author has been looking in my windows as my twins defy me in so many of the exact same situations. I was immediately comforted by the fact that I am not alone in trying to get compliance instead of defiance from my boys. I also would like to recommend another very helpful A-Z compendium entitled 'The Pocket Parent', a convenient pocket-guide with a very similar philosophy that is exclusively written for parents of normal but often challenging 2- to 5-year-olds. If you have toddlers and preschoolers, it is a great practical companion book to 'Setting Limits' because you can simply turn to the specific challenging behavior of the moment (like hitting, morning crazies, interrupting, bad words, lying, whining, etc.) and get some quick bulleted suggestions to try. You do not have to read 'Pocket Parent' cover to cover...but rather consult each chapter topic as you need it. Both books have great anecdotes and a welcome sense of humor throughout. 'Setting Limits' and 'The Pocket Parent' have helped me get more cooperation at home and at school and are both worthwhile additions to a home or school reference library!

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not that great.

Theres a lot of the same story rewritten with different names and slightly different scenerios. For a book telling a parent to be direct it was a very indirect book. I wanted an explanation of how to handle a strong willed child and I got that....with a lot of extra fil...
Theres a lot of the same story rewritten with different names and slightly different scenerios. For a book telling a parent to be direct it was a very indirect book. I wanted an explanation of how to handle a strong willed child and I got that....with a lot of extra filler. The entire book could be sumed up in a few sentences, maybe even one. Tell your child what you expect when you expect it and follow through on consquences. This may take years to accomplish since your child is collecting behavorial data but will eventually learn what is expected of him....in the mean time, good luck.

posted by 11172937 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    A Clear, Sensible Philosophy for Setting Limits that WORKS!

    As a kindergarten teacher as well as a parent of strong-willed 5-year-old twin boys, I too often found myself yelling louder, reminding more often and searching for stricter punishments to get the children to cooperate...Nothing was working! I needed a new approach...and Dr. MacKenzie has given me the understanding and the tools to set limits effectively without losing my sanity. I learned how I was part of 'the dance' of non-compliance and I realized that I would have to change my behavior first before I got a positive change in the behavior from the children. I learned the difference between 'soft limits' and 'firm limits' and the importance of my actions supporting my words; then, the kids began respecting the rules because they knew I would follow through with consequences. It was an eye-opener to realize that by me constantly reminding...I was actually teaching the children to ignore (at least the first few times because they knew more reminding was coming)...by giving unclear open-ended directions...I was actually setting the situation up for clarification, testing and conflict...and by bargaining and making deals out of desperation...I was actually giving the kids the opportunity to control the situation as they decided to up the ante the next time! The best part of this book is the real life examples of exactly what to say and not say to the kids. It is as if the author has been looking in my windows as my twins defy me in so many of the exact same situations. I was immediately comforted by the fact that I am not alone in trying to get compliance instead of defiance from my boys. I also would like to recommend another very helpful A-Z compendium entitled 'The Pocket Parent', a convenient pocket-guide with a very similar philosophy that is exclusively written for parents of normal but often challenging 2- to 5-year-olds. If you have toddlers and preschoolers, it is a great practical companion book to 'Setting Limits' because you can simply turn to the specific challenging behavior of the moment (like hitting, morning crazies, interrupting, bad words, lying, whining, etc.) and get some quick bulleted suggestions to try. You do not have to read 'Pocket Parent' cover to cover...but rather consult each chapter topic as you need it. Both books have great anecdotes and a welcome sense of humor throughout. 'Setting Limits' and 'The Pocket Parent' have helped me get more cooperation at home and at school and are both worthwhile additions to a home or school reference library!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    My new parenting bible!

    I highly recommend this book for all parents. As a teacher, who was able to effectively control large groups of children in school, I was very surprised to realize that I was struggling so much with my own child. Even though I tried many different strategies, I could not seem to get a handle on my daughter's behavior. Not only did this book give me effective strategies and techniques to use with my daughter, it helped me understand how I was contributing to the problem. This is an excellent book with lots of useful information for all parents, especially those ones dealing with children who have minds of their own.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    Must own for all parents, especially strong-willed parents

    It was out of desperation that I bought this book, but I cannot rave enough about it. Setting Limits is clear, helpful, insightful, and instructive. My 3 year old son had me convinced that I was failing and destined to be a very poor parent, even though I felt like I was doing all the "right things." Setting Limits helped me to see that my son was not out to get me, but that I was not only NOT communicating clearly to him what I expected, I was NOT acting consistently with my words. Setting Limits has taught me that it is possible to be clear, firm, and helpful and loving all at the same time. I am so grateful that I found this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Great Book!

    Excellent information for setting clear and consistant boundaries with not just strong willed children but all children. Teachers and parents this book is a must.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    Setting Limits with your strong willed child

    This book uses very practical common sense style parenting...many of the suggestions I already use with my daughter, but it gives a nice explanation on how to be a great parent...I highly suggest that if you are looking to purchase a book to help with your strong willed child this is the one. I've purchase 4 others and so far I've used this one the most on my twins...it's also a great book just for parenting too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I've been a teacher, raised 2 kids and I am now raising my grandchild. I'm interested in figuring out how avoid previous mistakes. This book makes me wonder what I was thinking the 1st time around. I finally get it and it tells me 'how to' . I read and reread this one all of the time. It makes common sense that had escaped me. I highly recommend this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Absolutely the best book for a strong-willed son

    I can't say enough about this book- we went from embarrasing public power struggles, constant arguing anfd reminding to, 'This is the deal.' My very loving and very strong-willed 3 yr old son now finally takes me seriously. We even had made an appt with a psychologist just to make sure he was normal, but started using the books techniques beforehand- he said it sounds like we're on the right track and to keep up the good work. Now I know how to talk my son's language.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Not helpful for me

    I am surprised this was so highly reviewed. The techniques

    make sense, and are pretty much what we follow with our six year old anyway. What is almost amusing is so many scenarios end with the kid simply going to his room for time out, problem solved. But that is where my battles start, and why i bought the book. Oh yes, the book does say then you grab them kicking and screaming and carry them off to their rooms, and hold their door closed when they try to get out. But i cant physically handle that with a very strong, tall kid. I totally wasted my money on this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Not that great.

    Theres a lot of the same story rewritten with different names and slightly different scenerios. For a book telling a parent to be direct it was a very indirect book. I wanted an explanation of how to handle a strong willed child and I got that....with a lot of extra filler. The entire book could be sumed up in a few sentences, maybe even one. Tell your child what you expect when you expect it and follow through on consquences. This may take years to accomplish since your child is collecting behavorial data but will eventually learn what is expected of him....in the mean time, good luck.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    Easy Read

    This book is good for all parents. It present basics of discipline in an easy to understand format. Great advice that works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Parenting Two 2yr Olds

    I have two 2 yr olds with very different personalities. My boy is the strong willed one. I loved the new ideas this book gave me to help end the 'dances' he engages us in. It helped us learn how WE were contributing to his behavior as well with how we disciplined. I recommend this book to anyone who has a strong willed child. I wanted to start now while they are young as opposed to many of his examples in the book of parents who waited until their child was 12 to get a handle on the discipline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2004

    Mom of 5 year old- This Works!

    My husband and I have read many books but this spelled out for us how to deal with the toughest power struggles and out of control behavior. We have revisited the book often and when we consistently apply the techniques and avoid the 'dance' our son is much easier and our family is calmer and happier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Basic, common sense approach

    to raising your spirited/strong-willed child. His ideas are so simple and straightforward that I was amazed I hadn't thought of them myself. My only complaint is that, despite the pictures of toddlers on the cover, really not too much info on the younger set. Glad I bought the book though, and looking forward to applying the ideas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    This books is amazing! My child and I had a terrible relationshi

    This books is amazing! My child and I had a terrible relationship a month ago. I was getting frustrated because nothing I was doing would work. He wouldn't listen to anything I asked, would throw tantrums anywhere we would be and his behavior was draining me each day. This book is full of fast working ideas and strategies to work with your child, not against them. My son is a different child now and give most of the credit to this book. We have a solid rock foundation to build his life on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I prefer Sugar's "The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds"

    Sugar's 'The Silent Crisis Destroying America's Brightest Minds" is a book that is all about educational reality, the facts on the ground, not vacuous educational theories.

    Sugar pioneered the SMARTGRADES school notebooks that contain the new learning technology, ACANDY Processing Tools, that empower students for academic success. She transformed my kids into Grade A students, so I speak from experience, not hypothetical theory. It is not all about teaching, it is all about learning.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2