Customer Reviews for

Settling Accounts: In at the Death (Settling Accounts Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Great

    Great if u love madeup history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Shows

    Shows y if seceddind from union would have been a mistake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Lpve series

    Love series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very much Recommended

    I highly recommend this book, well written and thought out. It is interested to to watch the CSA get slowly and inextricably pushed back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Excellent ongoing story

    Despite the historically-accurate racist terms and attitudes of some characters, this book (this series) is NOT racist, nor are any of its predecessors. It is a reasonably accurate accounting of what COULD have happened if the South had won the War Between the States (Civil War). The writing continues to be interesting, and the characters believable. The situations are both militarily and civilly logical, as well as entertaining. It is, after all, ALTERNATE history fiction. Harry continues to do a very fascinating (to me) job of developing this story line, with both known and little-known characters from our history. My only negative comment is not on the story, but on the tardiness of the publisher in getting out the pocket edition. I really don't like lugging around these large-sized paperbacks. Go from hardbound to pocket, willya? Please? I almost didn't buy (yet; this large edition) because of that. This series is even more interesting (to me) than the original, relatively sci-fi "Guns of the South" (which was interesting in itself). I'm enjoying this sequel and have already purchased ITS sequel(s). Good work! From a modern Southerner who recognises this alternate reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Very interesting

    I love this book its an excellent and creative read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    I enjoyed it in the series and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book

    I loved this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Awesome piece of the series

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read this one, and the next

    This is the stunning second to last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good book

    I think this is a great book, read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Super Good

    Highly recommended, superb writing, you want to read every single page and thirst for even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Super Good

    Stunning, the rest though, is left to your imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Harry Turtledove continues to amaze me

    SETTLING ACCOUNTS: THE GRAPPLE is the 9th Harry Turtledove book I've purchased and read.

    His "What if" of Americana draws from actual history as well as the flights of fancy. From HOW FEW REMAIN thru THE GRAPPLE his take and twists of what could have been is interwoven between the lives of several characteres all striving to survive in this timeline.

    His take on the political landscape is nothing less than brilliant and I must admit some of his suppositions have driven me to research actual history to see where those divergent points came from.

    He's a brilliant historian... he has to be in order to do what he does so well.

    His character development is exceptional and I've found myself almost grieving as some of them have died.

    But the best thing I can say about any author is he's a great story teller.

    And putting aside everything else he is one of the BEST story tellers I've had the joy of reading.

    I've read many long historical series and eventually wind up packing those books away and selling them in a yard sale or donating them to a charity auction.

    That's not going to happen with THE GRAPPLE and my other books by Mr. Turtledove. He's a permanent addition to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Excellent conclusion, more to come?

    This book is the conclusion of the 'Settling Accounts' tetralogy, which in turn is part of the alternate storyline of a North America where the South had won the Civil War 'this is the 11th book in that series'. About the first 50% of the book deal with the final stages of this alternate WWII, including the development and usage of atomic bombs 'I counted 10', jet fighters, V2-type missiles, and the liberation of the CSA death camps. The last part is about the USA starting occupation business in the South. As always, the book tells the story of a bunch of individuals on both sides, each story about 4-5 pages long before switching to the next character, and then back a chapter or two later. This sometimes makes it a bit difficult to concentrate on the overall storyline, but at the end it makes the book a very entertaining read. Altogether a very satisfying book, however, I had expected part of the storyline to cover the ongoing occupation of Canada. Also, at the end of the book we still don't know much about the war progress in Europe. Opposite from when Dr. Turtledove tried his hands on an 'alternate future' in the last book of the Colonization series, I sincerely wish this series will go on. It is just Spring of 1945 in this universe, and lordy what possibilities a creative mind could come up with - Elvis fighting underground in the CSA, Fidel Castro becoming a famous baseball player, JF Kennedy becoming the first man on the moon, the Cold War with alternate foes, - man, it would be a shame if we wouldn't see another trilogy. I know I would enjoy it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Confederates States of America Brigadier General Potter knows the war they began is over with their defeat although his superior George Patton thinks they can still turn it around Patton¿s last thrust fails to stem the invading tide. Atlanta, which survived the War of Succession, the Second Mexican War, and the Great War, is not much more than rubble as their ¿neighbors¿ to the north continually bombs the key southern cities while their armies advance with brutal efficiency. Potter sadly realizes he will soon see the death of the CSA. --- The United States of America with the help of their German allies has won WWII. Eight decades ago the CSA forefathers set forth to create a new great nation after winning their independence from the Union now the CSA is no more unless President Featherstone, who egoistically started the war, uses his last weapon of mass destruction, the uranium bomb. As Featherstone ponders his legacy to bomb or not to bomb, the winners claim the spoils with the beginnings of an abusive brutal occupation while local insurgents turn to suicidal car bombings to kill the outsiders that in turn lead to even more atrocities. The Northern Army of occupation punishes anyone southern as the victors claim that God is on their side. There is a rationalized retaliation for the mistreatment of Negroes (even as blacks up north are treated as secondary citizens). --- The tenth and apparently final book in the Settling Accounts alternate history saga is a fabulous conclusion to a great series. The story line is fast-paced throughout even with the various perspectives (a trademark of Harry Turtledove), but which ending will occur as Featherstone debates using the bomb. Fans of the series will marvel at the creative exciting conclusion, but also plead with Mr. Turtledove not to stop in the 1940s as Occupied Canada, CSA, and Utah remain fervent hotbeds for another round into the Cold War era. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Nathan, WW2 history buff

    by far the best book i ever read (and i read alot) if you like the second world war or are wondering what would have happend if this really happened excellent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    excellent alternative historical thriller

    When the Confederacy won the War Between the States, the country broke into the USA and the CSA. During the Great War, the USA defeated the CSA and occupied the land until it was disarmed. Over time and in secrecy, the Confederacy rebuilt its militia and humiliated by its defeat enabled Jake Featherston and his Freedom party to come into power by promising that the CSA would never suffer the debasement of defeat ever again to their enemy to the north. --- In 1941 President Featherston declares war on the USA for two years his forces win victory after victory pushing deep into Ohio and Pennsylvania. However, by 1943, the USA armies begin to repel the invaders from occupied land and soon head into Kentucky and Tennessee. Negroes, who were ruthlessly placed in concentration camps hope the USA will free them. Fearing for the CSA, Featherston places his funding on a new weapon of mass destruction, a bomb like none ever seen before. --- SETTLING ACCOUNTS: THE GRAPPLE is Harry Turtledove at his best. Jake is a Hitleresque dictator with his Freedom party a Nazi replica and the Negroes treated like the Jews in Germany. The novel is loaded with action especially battle scenes shown from differing perspectives, which makes the cast seem purposely insignificant as individuals are part of a cast of zillions while death is a statistic of war. Thus the war is the main character in Mr. Turtledove¿s excellent alternative historical thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    The best alternate history book I have ever read

    As the war between the United states and the confederacy enters its second year. You see a lot of similarities between this war and what really happened in history. The building of the atomic bomb by the U.S.A. and the C.S.A, the introduction of new tanks on both sides, the introduction of rockets, and the way Jake featherston is handling the war, like Hitler did in World War II. Like the plot that is evovling against featherston, the battle around Pittsburg and the retrat from Ohio, remind you of the German's failure in russia. How the push south into Kentucky, Tennesse, and Georgia, just like Sherman did in 1864-1865. The battles in at sea are along the same lines as real history tells us. The personal stories that are included are also very intresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3