Customer Reviews for

Seven Daughters and Seven Sons

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Adventure/Romance for Girls

    I first read Cohen's book when I was in junior high, and *loved* it. It fell out of print shortly thereafter, and I'm so glad to finally have a copy. Buran is a great character, full of strength and determination and wit, but also doubt. I like her family, too, who are frightened but supportive of her unorthodox strategy to provide for them. I hope more such Middle Eastern fables are retold and made available to people outside that region.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    a bueatiful read about the power of a ditermined soul

    I read this a long time ago when I was much younger. As I grew up in Iran, I found it to be powerful beyond my young mind. It is a great story of independence, bravery, the power of a true heart and the tale of faith. Even though this book describes the ancient times, it has lessons that can be truly used throughout time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    Bianca a book lover

    I just loved this book. I just read it in two days. And today I finished it. The lesson of the story is through hard work and determination, you can do anything you set your mind too. Also Buran tought people that women can do just as much as a man. In the end she got both things she wanted. Her true love and wealth for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    a good read

    I really enjoyed the book. I thought it a good romance book. And i loved the surprise ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Best Book On The Planet!

    I absolutely loved this book! It's about a girl that dresses up as a man and goes to a big city to make money. She gets really rich, but by then she has already fallen in love with the prince, but he thinks she's a man. She fleas and goes back to her home. He finds her though, and the ending in really romantic. It's great! It's not just a love story, it's the story of a girl who tells the whole world that she can do just as much as a man can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    One of the most boring novels ever!

    This book was NOT 'highly romantic' nor 'riveting' as the reviews imply. This book was a HUGE disappointment!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    A Must Read

    I love this book! It is so well written, it kept me reading till the end (which is a really good ending by the way). I love Arabian syle stories, I wish there were more out there for teens to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2005

    Had me entrapped beginning to end!

    This novel was excellent. From the first day I read it, I still couldn't put it down.It was an inspirational story filled with courage, love, and sweet, juicy, REVENGE! All will love and apppreciate this novel, it shows how with sheer determination and will, you can do anything anyone can!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Really Good Book

    When I picked up this book I didn't expect anything remarkable, but it is such a good book and a favorite of mine. You wouldn't expect a girl in the Middle East to have power and everybody being all right about it. It's also a good book about exacting revenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    An exquisite masterpiece

    This book brings the ancient times and tales to life for me. It is a wonderful story with a good plot, interesting twists, and a good ending. I love the character, Buran, because unlike most characters these days she's full of qualities that count, and has a sharp and witty personality that really appeals to just about anyone. My sister and I have read this soooooo much that we need a new one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    This Book Rox! My Sox!

    This book ROX! If u can read it, do! I don't say to many books are my favorite, but this one is. It is a book about the courage of one girl to take her destiny into her own hands. She travels to another city to become rich to help her family. I don't want to spoil your fun by telling you the ending (I know that sounds like everyone else, but its sooooo true!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Equally abillity

    This book shows gilrs that you can do anyting you put your mind to and that whatever boys can do girls can do just as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    A perfect fairy tale!!!!

    Buran is the 4th daughter of a poor merchant. She has 6 sisters, who need dowries for marriages,and no brothers to help provide. On the other hand, her wealthy uncle has 7 sons, who all plan to travel the country making their own fortunes. When Bulan's father offers her hand in marriage to her eldest cousin, Hassan, Hassan refuses the proposal, saying that Bulan is the ugliest of all her sisters, and comes from a poor family beneath his status. Bulan, the cleverest, and most intelligent of the 7 daughters, comes up with an idea. She will expand her father's business, and increse his fortune 10 fold...the only problem with this is that Bulan will be in a far away country, disguised as a boy. Though at first skeptical, Bulan's father finally relents and lets her leave, in boys clothing. As Bulan travels she becomes acquainted with a rich business man, who shows her how to run a sucessful business. After being in the rich man's company Bulan comes up with a product that just may sell, and increse her family's fortune. But, just when Bulan thinks that all of her problems are solved, she meets someone who makes her question whether being a boy has more advantages than a girl. Seven Daughters, Seven Sons is a retold folktale, mixed with romance, adventure, sweet revenge, and a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2002

    12 year old reader

    This is a realy good book. Highly recommended to non fiction book lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    One Of The Best Books Ever!!!

    I think this is one of the best books ever. It is something about this book that spook to me. Although I knew what happened at the end of the book I couldn't put it down. If you are looking for a book about love, courage, honor, and adventure you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2000

    A Great Book!!!!!!

    I would definitely reccommend this book. It was exciting and suspenseful. If you are looking for a good book to read you should choose this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    Great woman power book

    I loved this book, because it showed how one girl change the fate of her poor family. It also showed that not all of the fathers from this area of the world are cruel and forcing their daughters into arranged marriages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    Arabian Tales

    Like Shaherazad, Buran is a woman of exceeding cleverness. If you are a young person with a need for traditional tales and arabian wit or just an oldster like me, who enjoys a good tale of love and the importance of being one's self, I would recommend this book to you. It is a wonderful book to read aloud. Nonsensationalistic and just good story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2