Customer Reviews for

Seven Daughters of Eve: The Science That Reveals Our Genetic Ancestry

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well written ... Makes DNA easy to understand

It's such a pleasure to read a book like this. Sykes knows how to write to engage and at times amuse the lay reader. He doesn't bog down his prose with jargon, nor bore you with esoteric droning. He just tells the story and he tells it well.

posted by Lyonness on April 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Egotrip and then some is this book

Sykes spends so much time blabbing about his boring life story that we miss out on more info on our genetic heritage. Read Spencer Wells's fine book The Journey of Man it's much superior for a study of humanity's genetic origins.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written ... Makes DNA easy to understand

    It's such a pleasure to read a book like this. Sykes knows how to write to engage and at times amuse the lay reader. He doesn't bog down his prose with jargon, nor bore you with esoteric droning. He just tells the story and he tells it well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Unstuffy Science

    If you have an interest in genealogy or the history and science behind DNA, this is a very readable book. The author keeps the writing relatively simple and easy to comprehend. As a skeptic, I would want to check out the research before commenting on the validity/veracity of the information presented. That said, I enjoyed the book and feel it introduced me to new [to me] ideas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    If you like puzzles and science check it out!!

    I wanted a read that would be different from my usual romance, sci-fi and mystery. This book gave me that and more. Thought provoking and interesting to the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Interesting information presented in a very readable way.

    Archeology is a very inexact science. We know so very little and try to make up for the rest with supposition and theory. The unlooked for introduction of DNA science and the ability to discover such strong evidence regarding the history of our species puts existing archeological evidence in a very new light. This is a fascinating and thought provoking book both on a grand theoretical scale, and on the personal level as we begin to understand the development of homo sapiens, and see the implications for our own personal forbearers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Kiling book

    Gdhgfx

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    Egotrip and then some is this book

    Sykes spends so much time blabbing about his boring life story that we miss out on more info on our genetic heritage. Read Spencer Wells's fine book The Journey of Man it's much superior for a study of humanity's genetic origins.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    An Impressive Must Read

    The Seven Daughters of Eve was a book I couldn't put down. The anectdotes, humor, history and science combined for a pleasurable and very educational read. I appreciated the author's thoroughness at explaining his scientific proof, rather than hoping the reader will press the "I believe" button. He also explains how he handled scepticism and questions that rose about his work. I loved this book! I have to admit, being a biochemist myself, I found it an easy read. I cannot say whether a non-scientific reader would find it as easy. However, I feel he does a great job at explaining technical information at an approrpiate level of detail without bogging the reader down. You MUST read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    Mom knows were all the skeletons are hidden

    I found this book to be very entertaining and informative. Mr. Sykes does a great job of conveying the scientific material in a non-scientific way, so that the reader gets a real sense of the humanity involved. I found it very interesting how his book tied in so well with Jared Diamond's 'Guns,Germs,and Steel'. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2001

    We are all closely connected

    The Seven Daughters of Eve was so well written, humorous, and moving that I found myself wishing Bryan Sykes had taught my science classes in school. The book took this reader on a journey through the analytical and sometimes tedious process of scientific discovery and proof. Via Bryan Sykes passion and excitement for science and genetics, the author inspires enthusiasm for the topic. The world of research is communicated in terms lay people can understand. But more than an account of research findings, this book reveals a simple universal truth: We are all closely connected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Genetics made delightful

    Bryan Sykes is the exception among scientists - capable of reaching the average reader's level with good writing, creative story-telling, and a wonderfully wry sense of humor. I'm an MA-French Lit, in my old age indulging my curiosity about other fields - if I can understand him, anybody can. I've now read three of his books, all with pauses for laughter, and am looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great read

    I couldnt put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    Enjoyable, Readable Book

    Sykes combines a readable account of the latest scientific discoveries in mitochondrial DNA tracing with a very enjoyable account of his research efforts and battles, along with a part-fiction, part-factual depiction of what life may have been like for the seven female most-recent common ancestors of most Europeans (and those of European descent). Those who enjoy reading in this field will not have any trouble following the science explained in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    I have the most ancient blood in Europe

    I love this book! It is accessible and witty and entertaining, and all the while it gives solid science in a format that makes it fun. Sykes has a real gift for putting complex information in exactly the right order so that it makes perfect sense and doesn't seem hard. How he describes his own path of thinking is also entertainly told. The paths our ancestors took out of Africa is fascinating and I can't wait until the scientists have even more details of these most basic migrations. It puts recent history in perspective and makes tribal feuds seem utterly ridiculous. I loved finding out that I have the most ancient mitochrondia in Europe. I wish this book were on CD so that I could give it to my dyslexic daughter and my blind brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2