Customer Reviews for

Seven Day Fiance: A Love and Games Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Though Seven Day Fiance is a part of a series,it can be read as

    Though Seven Day Fiance is a part of a series,it can be read as a stand alone.For those who have read Taste the Heat,you may remember Angelle.She volunteers as a firefighter and is determined to live her life the way she wants.I loved Angelle and was charmed by her persona like Cane from the start.Though she left her home in Bon Terre to start a new life in New Orlens,she ended up in Magnolia Springs and I am so gald she did...!!

    Coming to Cane,well he ticks all the right boxes and is everything I love in a hero.He is good looking,handsome,loves his sisters and can do anything for them(charity bachelor auction),he writes songs,sings,plays a guitar,has tattoos,rides a bike and I can go on and on.How can you resist such a perfect hero ladies and especially the one who can sing...!!.He did annoy me when he broke Angie's heart but the way he sought redemption and declared his love for his girl blew me away.

    The story is set up in a small Cajun town where everyone knows each other,where traditions  and culture are deeply rooted.It was fun reading about all the Cajun celebrations and traditions.I loved the constant presence of Angelle's family and the love they all shared.The setting of the novel was perhaps my favourite part after the characters.

    The story is written in both Cane's and Angelle's perspective and it helps to understand both the characters better.Taste the Heat had set up some pretty high standards but Rachel has managed to out do herself in this one.Jason and Colby from Taste the Heat make an appearance too and its always a delight to read about them.I am hoping the next book is about Sherry finding love and given her bubbly persona I so looking forward to it..!!

    Overall Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris is a well written,light and fun romance novel which any romantic would love.Recommended for everyone..!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've discovered a new author.

    Reviewed by Kim
    for Read Your Writes Book Reviews

    Wow. Are should I say, "Holy crap monkeys"? This is my first Rachel Harris book. Now I can't wait to go back and read the first book in this series. All of her characters are amazing people you can’t help but like and want to know.

    If you follow my blog, then you know that I'm an Entangled Bliss lover. They're simply comfort reads for me. What I didn't expect going in reading this book was to laugh out loud and have a smile on my face throughout the whole book. But, Rachel managed to do it.

    Angelle Prejean is a country Cajun girl from Bon Terre, Louisiana. At twenty-six-years-old, she’s the youngest of four children. After the death of her older sister, Angelle tried to ease everyone’s pain by doing what she was told to do or expected to do, act appropriately and not get into trouble. She ended up living a life she didn’t want to live. After breaking up with the guy her parents and town wanted her to marry, Angelle headed to the big city of New Orleans. Only she ended up settling down in a town called Magnolia Springs. In Magnolia Springs, Angelle made friends, became apart of a wonderful community, and developed a MAJOR crush on hunky bartender/restaurant owner, Cane Robicheaux.

    Cane Robicheaux is a love them and leave them kind of guy. He doesn’t do committed relationships after what his father did to the family. Cane is Angelle’s roommate Sherry’s older brother. He is also her best friend, Colby’s brother.

    Pretty much every since she’s moved to Magnolia Springs, Angelle has avoided going back home. She doesn’t want to be reminded of the heartache she’s caused her family and town by not marrying Brady Doucet. However, Thanksgiving is here and she has to show up for a week with her fiancé. Why oh why did she have to tell her mother she was engaged to Cane? Now this doe-eyed girl has to convince the man of her dreams, who goes against everything her parents approve of to pretend to be her fiancé for a week.

    Cane owes Angelle for saving him from a fate worse than death. With his sisters’ nudging, Cane agrees to pretend to be Angelle’s fiancé. Plus, he thinks this would be a great opportunity to explore his attraction for her. Cane just isn’t prepared for the feelings Angelle brings out in him. What ensues is what dreams are made of. You get a heroine who is finally willing to come to terms with her past; be strong and stand up for herself. You also get a hero who is kind, loving and protective. Together there’s no way you can’t see that they belong together. In the end, how can a girl possibly say no to a guy who writes you a song, plays a guitar for you, and is willing to put on a scratchy, itchy Santa suit, just to see a smile on your face?

    Source: Publisher

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Good Book! Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris is a sweet romance

    Good Book!

    Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris is a sweet romance with likeable characters and an interesting storyline.

    Angelle Prejean grew up in Bon Terre, a very small town in Louisiana where everybody knows your name. She dated Brady for eight years and her family as well as the town expected her to marry him when he returned from medical school. Unfortunately, Brady was not Angelle's true love and she decided to move a few hours away to reinvent herself and start a new life. Angelle truly enjoys her new surroundings in Magnolia Springs. She has some wonderful friends, a job she enjoys and a crush on the hunkiest, inked bar owner in town.

    Cane Robicheaux is considered a bad-boy by some and a sensitive, caring man by others. He loves his family dearly and enjoys his playboy lifestyle that owning a restaurant/bar provides. Relationships have never been his thing, so when Angelle begins to get under his skin, he is dumbfounded.

    Angelle needs a favor and Cane is just the man for the job. She has to ensure her family that she is safe, happy and in love. To that end, she asks Cane to be her fake fiance for a week while visiting her family over the Thanksgiving holiday. Their sexual chemistry is so intense, there is no doubt they can pull off a fake engagement for a week. Naturally, a couple can only deal with so much sexual tension before they explode and give in to their mutual desires.

    This is a nicely-written, charming romance that heats up the pages with possessiveness, laughter, and emotion. Give this book a shout if you enjoy a contemporary story with a small town vibe, a Cajun style and a happily ever after.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    I got a copy in exchange for an honest review I really like rac

    I got a copy in exchange for an honest review

    I really like rachel Harris her writing style, I basically read this book in 3 sittings, because as soon as I sat down with it I wanted to keep reading, but I also had a few issues with this book and actually the main plot is one of them. So 3.5 stars for this boook, I am rounding it up because of the writing style and the keep-reading-feel.

    My main issue with this book is the story, I absolutely hate lying and lying to a whole town about a fiancé is like a super big lie. I just can't understand how she could lie to her whole family about this and this is the one thing that made this book less enjoyable for me. I jsut couldn't wrap my around this and couldn't understand how she could lie about something this big to a whole town. Okay so now that's out of the way let's get to the better parts of this review.

    In Tasting the Heat I thought we learned too less about Cane, he is the brother of the main character, but there is very little we get to know about him. In this book he is the main character and I couldn't wait to read more about him and get to know him better. Angelle was a great character too which we already met in the first book and I also was curious about getting to know her better. And on those fronts this book certainly delivered. There is a lot more depth to both characters than what we got to see in the first book and I liked both characters. Although both character do something so stupid in this book, Angelle the part about making up a fake fiancé and Cane's big stupid mistake I am not going to mention.

    There where parts I really enjoyed and also some parts I didn't There are some scenes at like 3/4 of the book that I didn't like and I hate it that every romance book I read seem to contains something like this lately. I really liked the setting and it really makes me want to visit Cajun country and experience it for myself. I love the focus on food and the country people we get to meet in this book. There are some great side characters we meet in this book and I am already wondering who the next book will be about.

    To conclude: I really enjoyed this book, Rachel her writing style is really good and I wanted to keep reading this book. I have some issues with the main plit of this book, because I hate lying and lying about a fiancé is a really big lie. I did like getting to know Angelle and Cane better and I liked both charcters, beside their stupid mistakes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    I received an ARC of Seven Day Fiancé and in return a honest rev

    I received an ARC of Seven Day Fiancé and in return a honest review. I am so glad I received this book as I adored it. It was a fun, entertaining read. 




    I had not read a Rachel Harris book going into reading Seven Day Fiancé including the first in the series but you don’t need to read the first book to be able to read this one. I really didn't get confused, and I didn't even realise it was the second in a series. But now that I know I have to pick the first book up.
     
    The way that Rachel Harris writes in this book was very intriguing and the word choice was very advance which was pleasant refreshment from reading YA novels. Everything was very detailed and it made me visualize everything happening, where it was happening and what was happening so much more. I also found there were a fair few metaphors in the book and I quite enjoyed it. It made it quite different to what I have read before. 
     
    I really loved most of the characters. They were quite enjoyable to read about and see them slowly develop. I love that Angelle is not that annoying main character we sometimes get in books that always complain. She is like this innocent girl and it takes her ages to admit what she is really thinking, but once she does oh my. I like her I normally read characters that are very confident in themselves.




    Cane, Cane, Cane. What can I say about Cane, not is he hot and sexy, he is amazing and sweet.  The way he talks about Angelle about her is just so cute yet so hot. He talks to her so sweetly but then steamy. I love the contrast of both. That he can be this beautiful man that talks about his love like she is a queen but then talks like she is the sexiest human in the world.
     
    They both have these barriers up, but once they get to know each other they let them down. I love the development of this in the book and how they slowly start to fall for each other even though it is only 7 days it seems so much more, I kind of forgot it’s was only 7 Days. The Chemistry between Angelle and Cane was so well done. Watching both of them slowly get to know each other and in due course have nearly everyone believing that there in a relationship expect themselves, was perfect. I wanted to scream so many times and tell them just to get together already.




    Pretty much, the whole book but a smile on my face. It was funny, and steamy and I loved it. The Scene where Cane meets Angelle’s family was hilarious, it remained me of My Big Fat Greek Wedding where he meets her family, I have no idea why but it did. And if you have not seen that movie Shame on you! But there were some moments when I felt like I wanted to cry, especially when Angelle tells Cane what happen to her sister, It was such a powerful scene and so emotional. Also when Cane realizes her loves Angelle, I just felt so bad for him, but then I didn't but my feelings. And the letter oh my, they letter.  I loved all the clique scene, I love romance so, they made me melt.




    The only thing I wanted more of was character development I just felt it lacked a little bit. Not alot, but I felt like I need more.  I really liked the story line, yes there is probably many of these type of stories around, but I don’t know why this book stands out to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seven Day Fiance is the sequel to Taste The Heat, but it revolve

    Seven Day Fiance is the sequel to Taste The Heat, but it revolves around Cane, Colby’s brother. Remember Angelle? That sweet, innocent girl is about to take Cane on a wild, wild ride!

    After slipping a little white lie, Angelle has to produce a fiancé. One night of bidding on the man with best abs wins her Cane. Sexy and dangerous, Cane has been Angelle’s crush for months. Cane, in return, wants a taste of the sweet Angelle…

    Thus begins their seven day journey of finding romance, courage and love. Angelle and Cane’s story was sweeter than Colby and Jason’s. Cane will melt you…seriously. I loved this this Adult book because it’s filled with sweetness and swoony moments! So read it! NOW!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Thank you to Ms. Harris and Entangled Publishing for providing a

    Thank you to Ms. Harris and Entangled Publishing for providing an ARC of this book...

    Angelle:

    I knew she was like that!!! But guessing it and reading it are totally different things... I was still shocked when I read it... To those who have read the story, you might know what I'm talking about...

    And there was her family situation... I did not expect that she experienced those things... From the start, I thought of her as someone who had an ordinary background, but I was so wrong... Thumbs up for her cause she faced those things heads up!!!

    Cane:

    Oh, Cane... I have one word for him: KEEPER... And he loved kids!!! What more do you want?

    Story:

    The story was very sweet for me... Cane really loves Angelle and she also loves him even though I feel that she won't admit it... But I think the story could be better... I honestly skipped some parts cause I was bored, but not too much...

    Overall, this is better that the first book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The fake-fiance storyline is a tried and true one. Seven Day Fia

    The fake-fiance storyline is a tried and true one. Seven Day Fiance doesn't offer any huge surprises--you pretty much know where everything's going to end up from the first chapter--but there are some really cute and amusing situations along the way that definitely make for an entertaining read. I enjoyed Rachel Harris's writing, and the small-town Louisiana setting was a lot of fun. I will definitely be reading more from her in the future. There's definite sequel bait here--Cane has another sister (the heroine in Taste the Heat is his sibling Colby), and Angie's cousin Lacey would definitely make for a fun heroine as well.




    Angie at times felt as if she were a little to good and sweet to be true, but we find out later on that much of that is her playing a part she feels she needs to when she's with her family, and the reasons that she does so are adequately explained. Her early clumsiness around Cane is adorable, though almost over too soon. You absolutely can't blame her for her crush, though--who wouldn't get a little goofy around a hero who is described as "a child-whispering, factoid-spouting, sister-protecting, amazing-smelling (a trait that cannot be left out) hunk of swoon-worthy material"? Oh, and he has tattoos and can cook. And play the guitar and sing. Seriously.




    Cane's bad-boy ways are, naturally, just waiting for the right woman to show him that he can indeed change them to become a one-woman man. I enjoyed reading about his conversion, although the one-week time frame is a bit sudden for the ending. He does, however, really know how to bring it when attempting to win his woman back--his is an excellent public groveling scene.




    There are a few instances of easy coincidences in the novel, but they're neither glaring nor overly problematic. Overall, Seven Week Fiance is a great choice for a light, easy, and romantic read that will leave you smiling. B+ rating.




    I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    I was super excited to get Cane's book. He is just the kind of g

    I was super excited to get Cane's book. He is just the kind of guy I typically fall for. He's definitely an Alpha, but he's also dedicated to his family and is a great friend. He's had his eye on Angelle since she came to town.  




    Now Angelle, she isn't looking for love right now. She wants to find her own way. She comes from a family where there is strong tradition and certainly stiff expectations. She wants to prove to them that she's made it in her new town, but she also needs to avoid falling back into old relationships. Her solution? She asks Cane to be her fiance. 




    Their chemistry and connection was great. I really liked them as a couple. I expected Cane to be sexy and he was. The only thing I could complain about was that I would have liked maybe one more love scene between them. Overall, it was a really sweet story and I look forward to the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    This is the second story about a pretend relationship that I¿ve

    This is the second story about a pretend relationship that I’ve reviewed this week and both were a lot of fun. Both Harris and Bielman (with Her Accidental Boyfriend) did a great job of giving us couples who had their reasons for avoiding commitment but fell in love anyway.

    Like in Taste the Heat, Harris has a fun writing style and gives us intriguing characters and cute interactions, in a story full of humor and emotion. It’s a great light read with hidden heart, sure to please romance junkies everywhere. - Full review available at RomanticReadsandSuch on wordpress and BookTrib's website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewer: Vivi for Romance with Flavor Review Source: Publis

    Reviewer: Vivi for Romance with Flavor




    Review Source: Publisher




    Ever read a book and feel like you're home? You know the characters. You went to school with them or lived next door to them. You know the town, even if it only exists in the author's mind. You swear you walked down the streets, ate at the restaurants, and went to the events.




    Seven Day Fiance did all those things for me. As a Louisiana girl transplanted in Maryland, this book made me miss home something bad. For northerners, Maryland is south. For true southerner, Maryland isn't south enough. Louisiana has a flavor all its own that don't exist anywhere else. I love Rachel Harris for capturing that essence of home for me. She painted the picture of the love we have for our small towns and Cajun or Creole cuisine. It made me want to sit on my patio, put on a pot of crawfish, corn and potatoes, and pop a cold beer (which I will only drink with the crawfish).




    The book had me hooked from the beginning. As soon as Angelle as the poster of shirtless men, I had to find out more. While we've seen the fake fiance situation may times, I enjoyed the way Ms. Harris unfolded Cane and Angel's developing attraction. The chemistry between the characters drew you in, made you want more. I love how Cane hide behind his bad-boy persona, yet maintained his southern chivalry.  Which I so miss about southern men.




    Angelle, like many small towners, understood to reinvent herself she had to leave home, which is never easy.  When you grow up in a place where you know everyone and they know you, it's both  blessing and a curse. Angel embraced change and took a leap. That leap of faith gave her the opportunity to find herself and love. She was brave, witty, and I liked she was a little clumsy.




    Seven Day Fiance was a heartwarming romancing with likable character. I would definitely recommend it to those who like sweet romance with a small town feel. Now, I'm off to see if I can get someone to send me some boudin.




    Laissez les bons temps rouler!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    What is more fun in a book than watching a bad boy who doesn¿t t

    What is more fun in a book than watching a bad boy who doesn’t think he’s worthy of love fall head over heels?  Pretty much nothing.  This book was so much fun, so sweet & hot, I couldn’t put it down.




    Cane is tattooed, rides a motorcycle, and plays the guitar.  You’d think that was pretty much all you needed to know about him, but he’s also a math nerd, addicted to the Discovery channel, and is fiercely protective of his sisters, which brings his personality to a whole different level.  When Angelle, the clumsy, tentative new girl in town catches his eye, he knows he has to be careful.  And then Angelle asks him a huge favor, pretend to be her fiance so she can survive a week in her hometown.  What happens next is two people falling more in love with each other, but only one has the guts to admit it.




    The first book in this series, Taste the Heat, introduces us to the Cajun family, the Robicheaux’s.  They own a Cajun restaurant near New Orleans.  This book brings us to the heart of Cajun Country, which is different than where Cane grew up.  There are Creole Cajuns and Country Cajuns (and they are distinctly different), and Angelle grew up country.  I did, too, which made me love and appreciate this book more.  I loved the little details Rachel Harris provided and all the care that went into describing the place and the people.  Very well done.  Or as we would say back home, good good.




    There was a lot to love about this fun, sweet book.  It was definitely a trip to watch Cane fall for Angie against the backdrop of her overprotective family and friends.  I love this series and this author & I hope the next book is about Cane’s feisty youngest sister, Sherry.  Now that is going to be fun. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Are you looking for a sweet sappy romance, I would say checkout

    Are you looking for a sweet sappy romance, I would say checkout Entangled Bliss line, because they have such a great selection on sappiness. Todays selection is no exception. I just finished Seven Day Fiancé by Rachel Harris. Seriously, super über cute. 

    One of my favorite types of story is the fake engagement or fake boyfriend/girlfriend. Yes, they are my top faves when it comes to romance and I'll tell you all why. One they always end up together in the end. Two it's always hilarious to see the shenanigans that go on in the story. And I feel like there should be a third, but I can't think of one. Anyway; now my thoughts on the story. 

    All right I haven't read the first book in Rachel's Love and Games books, but I do have it. It's sitting in my kindle with puppy dog eyes. Anyway, let's focus on Angelle Prejean and Cane Robicheaux (very Louisiana names by the way). 

    First off, I adore Angelle. I could truly relate to the character. Angelle is shy and a bit awkward at times. She tends to fumble along when she's around Cane. Now Cane is like the town playboy. He doesn't want anything serious, but when an opportunity comes up to hangout with Angelle he jumps on board. However, it wasn't what he was expecting. 

    First off Seven Day Fiancé had me in a stitch a couple of times. Once at the beginning and I can't say, because like Angelle I would have blush at the situation she was caught in. I don't even know how she made it through the event. Second time was when Angelle was at her family home with Cane. Overall, a fun story that had me laughing and I even got choked up with tears when Cane was being an idiot. So, if you are looking for a über cute and fun read, you might want to read Seven Day Fiancé. 

    Copy provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1