Customer Reviews for

Seven Deadly Sins: Settling the Argument Between Born Bad and Damaged Good

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Thought-Provoking and Hilarious!

Corey Taylor is amazing. I loved this book!! It is not an autobiography, although he does use examples from his life to help his arguments. It is his opinion about the Seven Deadly Sins and why they should be made obsolete. It is so funny, sometimes very sad when you re...
Corey Taylor is amazing. I loved this book!! It is not an autobiography, although he does use examples from his life to help his arguments. It is his opinion about the Seven Deadly Sins and why they should be made obsolete. It is so funny, sometimes very sad when you read about what Corey has been through, but the entire book makes you think. I didn't always agree with Corey, but he made sure I could understand why he said the things he did, and I respect him even more for that. His new list of Seven Deadly Sins is (in my opinion) exactly right for this insane day and age. People complain about his swearing, but, first of all, it's Corey Taylor, what do you expect? And second of all, I thought he kept it pretty tame. I will say this: if you are overly sensitive and do not possess the ability to open your mind, then you won't be able to appreciate this book for what it is: a fantastic philosophical argument that doubles as a damn good piece of advice. Corey is not preachy in his book, but rather writes with a relaxed and unafraid familiarity found when talking with an old friend. You learn a lot in this book; about sin, living life, and Corey himself. Reading this book will make you at the very least a little wiser and a little more of a better person. You don't need to be a fan of Slipknot or Stone Sour to enjoy Corey's words; he has a big voice and thoughtful opinions, and it has been time well spent listening to them.

posted by Molly04 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Download Seven Deadly Sins For Free

Download Seven Deadly Sins For Free From Here goo.gl/U34Vt If you have problem in opening the ebook Download ebook reader From here goo.gl/HRyV6

posted by 9114493 on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Thought-Provoking and Hilarious!

    Corey Taylor is amazing. I loved this book!! It is not an autobiography, although he does use examples from his life to help his arguments. It is his opinion about the Seven Deadly Sins and why they should be made obsolete. It is so funny, sometimes very sad when you read about what Corey has been through, but the entire book makes you think. I didn't always agree with Corey, but he made sure I could understand why he said the things he did, and I respect him even more for that. His new list of Seven Deadly Sins is (in my opinion) exactly right for this insane day and age. People complain about his swearing, but, first of all, it's Corey Taylor, what do you expect? And second of all, I thought he kept it pretty tame. I will say this: if you are overly sensitive and do not possess the ability to open your mind, then you won't be able to appreciate this book for what it is: a fantastic philosophical argument that doubles as a damn good piece of advice. Corey is not preachy in his book, but rather writes with a relaxed and unafraid familiarity found when talking with an old friend. You learn a lot in this book; about sin, living life, and Corey himself. Reading this book will make you at the very least a little wiser and a little more of a better person. You don't need to be a fan of Slipknot or Stone Sour to enjoy Corey's words; he has a big voice and thoughtful opinions, and it has been time well spent listening to them.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    wish there were more stars to click on for my rating...

    I am a huge Slipknot and Corey Taylor fan.. but that has nothing to do with how awesome this book is.. I am only on chapter 3 and I couldn't wait until the end of the book to give this 5 STARS ... please write more Corey... from a fellow Iowan Maggot...

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Brilliant!

    I'm not a huge fan of Slipknot & Stone Sour...a casual fan...so this is not a review from an avid fan who'd love anything Corey writes. I stopped believing in sin long before I was freed from parochial school and to see that I'm not the only one who feels this way is very refreshing. You don't have to be a fan of Corey Taylor to enjoy this book. You only need to be open minded. I couldn't put this book down. I read it cover to cover in one day. Highly recommended!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Really wish I'd read a sample before purchasing

    Don't make the same mistake I did...this isn't an autobiography, it's philosophy! Apart from the few and far-between anecdotes about Corey Taylor's life experiences, this book is full of nothing but his rantings about how the 7 deadly sins are maybe not sins at all...I'm reminded of "That Guy" in college who gets drunk, plunks himself down on the couch in the middle of the room, and goes on and on and ON about how the world is a bunch of idiots, and how he's right about everything, no matter the topic. Granted, his writing style is vivid and amazing; however, I'm finding his rantings so boring and monotonous that I'm really struggling to finish the book. I'm certainly deleting this one from my Nook once I'm finally done with it.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    None

    I can't believe people are giving this book more than one star. No doubt, it's the power of the fans of his music, the maggots, as he calls them. If civilization ceases to exist, it won't be b/c of some cosmic thing, but probably b/c of people like this who think it's ok to hurt the people around him. Sad. Too bad he has such a large influence. If I could I would give it no stars.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Trash

    I bought this book for my boyfriend who is a huge fan of Slipknot and Stone Sour, big mistake, it's pure trash. It's just a whole bunch of sentences jumbled together with a cuss word here and there to illustrate just how 'bad-ass' Corey Taylor is. Fine if you are one of his 'maggots'. I even need a little dose of slipknot/stonesour every now and then, but this book is a big disappointment. Wish I could get my money back. I am no one to judge, but I hope one day that this guy grows up and realizes it's not necessarily about sin, but social responsibilty. If you want to recognize a narcissist, read this book. Lacks total depth.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I cannot believe how amazing this book it. Its incredibly honest

    I cannot believe how amazing this book it. Its incredibly honest and well written. It is also nice to know that I am not the only one who thinks this way :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Bent on nacho destruction:)

    After having seen Stone Sour in concert, I have become interested in the over the top front man. Taylor is nothing if not interesting. The book is mostly an excuse for Corey to opine about how religion holds the man down, so to speak. However, there are some genuine diamonds of insight and some darn good ideas in this one. All in all, its a fun, easy read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Buy

    Love it if you like corey taylor and want to know more about him read it ... now

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    wow...

    this is huge for me... i mean i'm probably the most hardcore die hard fan of mr corey t. and for him to write this book is just great its his words, his story. in my opinion if your and all out stone cold fan of his you gotta have this book hands down. i got all his films, music collectible masks which are exact replicas of each member and i want more good or crappy i gotta have it i mean come on its corey for god sakes.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Umm...waste of time!!

    I was so psyched to read this book!! I made it halfway through, and couldn't stay interested enough to finish it. What a let down!! I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Hopefully Taylor sticks to what he does best...

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    Best book ever

    This is the best book ever.Corey is a genius.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible

    It is amazing that someone like this can come out with a book, let alone have people who like it. People need to read real books, not this trash.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Thanks for being a voice

    It was nice to read something that i have believed for a very long time and could fallow where he was going easily. And loved all the humor when he wanted to lighten things up. Thanks for writting the book Corey it is very nice to know your not alone in this crazy messed up world. And i do go to bed every night knowing i have not commited any one of your seven deadly sins and rest easy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Way to go Corey Taylor

    Hell yeah! If you know who he is read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    So amazing! Best book ever on the sins!

    I picked this book up two days ago and haven't put it done since! Corey's view on the "sins" is so agreeable. The way he goes into detail about evey sin makes you want to read the book over and over again. I hope he keeps on writing. 10 stars AMAZING book!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Its a gud un

    Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    He says what he means in this book!

    I realize some people won't like this book, but I really enjoyed it! I went to Catholic School until 5th grade and we were taught EVERYTHING was a sin. I certainly agree with his new list of sins! I have met him at a Stone Sour show, and he was a nice down to earth guy who truly loves his fans. I hope he keeps the books coming, his writing style and humor made me want to read more! I would hate to think of the topic though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Brilliant

    Corey taylor is the voice of my generation. Wether he is fronting stone sour or slipknot he is able to reach his fans thru lyrics full of pain and anger. This isnt a story about slipknot it is more about taylor as an individual. And reading it you will sew that he is not just another dumb rockstar.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Brilliantly weired

    This is more like an analyzation corey taylor has on the seven deadly sins i am only 13and maybe have broken 4 sins and i think it is pretty irrelevant in a community just loke everyone is born bisexual its just that our community has driven us to think it is taboo in my opinion beaking the seven deadly sins is just like a common person lying or fibbing that vis how irrelevant i think it is

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3