Customer Reviews for

Seven Forges

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Good evening constant reader. If you like a sword and sorcery


Good evening constant reader.

If you like a sword and sorcery epic with characters who all but grab you by the hand and drag you through the narrative, a story line that takes your interest and holds it hostage until it's had it's way with you, a lot of action, is wel...

Good evening constant reader.

If you like a sword and sorcery epic with characters who all but grab you by the hand and drag you through the narrative, a story line that takes your interest and holds it hostage until it's had it's way with you, a lot of action, is well-paced and is so good, you don't want to put it down, but at the same time, don't want to finish it too quick (then the awesome is over), this book my dears, is for you.

Merros Dulver is leading a group of men making their way to explore the Seven Forges, spikes of mountain that can be seen from the distance of their home land Fellein, but until now have remained unexplored. They encounter a race of people who populate this wild and barren land and it seems as if they were "expected" - Merros's arrival was foreseen. The strangers he discovers there join him on his return to Fellein, but Merros wonders if this might be a mistake, to mix his people with the newcomers. The newcomers's Gods are rather martial and they have wild ways about them. Yet they return to Fellein, and the stage is set.

As I kept reading, I got more and more sucked in to this world and the magic and interesting creatures that abide there. There's more than enough sword play, a sorcerer who gave me the wiggins and made me never want to trust him, a young man who loses a lot and gains more, so much more, but at what ultimate cost, female characters that are more than just pretty faces, though there are some pretty faces, too, and an ending I didn't see coming and when it arrived, with too few pages left in the book, told me we're in for another installment in this series.

My biggest gripe about fantasy writing is it can get too caught up in itself and stretch on and on and on and on, lasting for umpteen volumes. With each new installment, the story starts to stretch our further and further from the core that captured one's attention in the first place. This is why in my pleasure reading, I tend to shun multi-volume epics. Until now.

Mr. Moore, James if I may...I hope you've got the next volume in this series written, or if not written, at least well mapped out, because I want more, and so will everyone else who has any taste other than in their mouths.

posted by the_one_who_reads on September 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Poor writing

Very amateurish as if written by a teenage boy who is trying to impress other bigger boys

posted by 8959281 on August 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good evening constant reader. If you like a sword and sorcery


    Good evening constant reader.

    If you like a sword and sorcery epic with characters who all but grab you by the hand and drag you through the narrative, a story line that takes your interest and holds it hostage until it's had it's way with you, a lot of action, is well-paced and is so good, you don't want to put it down, but at the same time, don't want to finish it too quick (then the awesome is over), this book my dears, is for you.

    Merros Dulver is leading a group of men making their way to explore the Seven Forges, spikes of mountain that can be seen from the distance of their home land Fellein, but until now have remained unexplored. They encounter a race of people who populate this wild and barren land and it seems as if they were "expected" - Merros's arrival was foreseen. The strangers he discovers there join him on his return to Fellein, but Merros wonders if this might be a mistake, to mix his people with the newcomers. The newcomers's Gods are rather martial and they have wild ways about them. Yet they return to Fellein, and the stage is set.

    As I kept reading, I got more and more sucked in to this world and the magic and interesting creatures that abide there. There's more than enough sword play, a sorcerer who gave me the wiggins and made me never want to trust him, a young man who loses a lot and gains more, so much more, but at what ultimate cost, female characters that are more than just pretty faces, though there are some pretty faces, too, and an ending I didn't see coming and when it arrived, with too few pages left in the book, told me we're in for another installment in this series.

    My biggest gripe about fantasy writing is it can get too caught up in itself and stretch on and on and on and on, lasting for umpteen volumes. With each new installment, the story starts to stretch our further and further from the core that captured one's attention in the first place. This is why in my pleasure reading, I tend to shun multi-volume epics. Until now.

    Mr. Moore, James if I may...I hope you've got the next volume in this series written, or if not written, at least well mapped out, because I want more, and so will everyone else who has any taste other than in their mouths.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I am a big fan of S.M. Stirling and as such thought this might b

    I am a big fan of S.M. Stirling and as such thought this might be a quick read before his next book comes out. Quick read was right. I started the book and had it read in two days. I was pleasantly surprised with the story, loved the characters and bought the second book as soon as I put the first down. Worth the money!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Enjoyed thoroughly, I bought I as a filler book and was engaged

    Enjoyed thoroughly, I bought I as a filler book and was engaged within the first few pages. I have a sliding scale, does it entertain me?.. was it original?

    YES and most importantly YES! I found it reminiscent of the Tiger and Del series with regards to realistic and fully human characters. I strongly think you will like the book, take a chance give it a read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An easy to read page turner that ended well before I was ready t

    An easy to read page turner that ended well before I was ready to put it down. Good, entertaining read. Looking forward to the next installment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I found this book to be a great read, that ended  to soon.  As a

    I found this book to be a great read, that ended  to soon.  As a reader I definitely was left waiting for the next book.  I hope this is going to be a series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    I bought this based on the good reviews it got and boy do I feel

    I bought this based on the good reviews it got and boy do I feel suckered. Couldn't make it past 20 pages before stopping. Might be a good story, I'll never know because the writing is just too painful to read. It was like a High School English project; forced, tedious, and very impressed with itself. I've read too many good "writers" to have patience anymore for bad writing no matter how entertaining the story may be. Will not be trying any others in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I had Seven Forges in my reading queue for about 3 months, never

    I had Seven Forges in my reading queue for about 3 months, never quite getting to it. I am so glad I did, because it is an excellent read. Great world building, with many elements of fantasy and post cataclysm world types. There is magic, although what can be done with it is slowly revealed across the book. The character building is strong, with realistic motivations for the characters. I really liked the main protagonist, and the twist at the end left me stunned, since I though I had it figured out, and them bam, twist! I will recommend this book to anyone, and will definitely be getting book 2, The Blasted Lands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Poor writing

    Very amateurish as if written by a teenage boy who is trying to impress other bigger boys

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Fantastic

    Fantastic read, 300+ pages and wish there were 300 more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Ditto on the bad writing

    Want to echo the poor writing reviews posted earlier. I wish i had read them before i bought this book. The author attempts to be mysterious and fails horribly. If you stick it out to the end you will be curious about the next book but i would encourage you not to bother because the writing gets even worse

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Caveat: I read this after I had finished The Republic of Thieves

    Caveat: I read this after I had finished The Republic of Thieves. The plot was not nearly so intriguing,
    nor was it intricate. In fact, the first half of the book felt dull and forced at times. Still, it picked up and once some more interesting twist were woven, it caught my attention. So, I guess I'll be reading Blasted Lands-if for no other reason, to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Good

    Characters take a bit to get to know but once I did I liked them a lot. Great read and bought the second book right away after I finished this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    I'm glad I stumbled upon this author. I thoroughly enjoyed the

    I'm glad I stumbled upon this author. I thoroughly enjoyed the Seven Forges and the second book Blasted Lands. Hopefully we don't have to wait too long for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Keeps you wanting more

    Except for the fact that the book needed some editing help (some incorrect jumps in storyline), it still was a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    A very entertaining read. 

    A very entertaining read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Crypt

    "Bleh..."

    0 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Grace

    Hey me....

    0 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Jake

    Hey you...

    0 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2