Customer Reviews for

Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    This book is about seven men┬┐George Washington, William Wilberfo

    This book is about seven men—George Washington, William Wilberforce, Eric Liddell, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Jackie Robinson, Pope John Paul II and Charles Colson—who lived lives well worth emulating.  The author makes it clear that his goal in writing such a book is to provide role models for those in today’s world who emulate no one.  
    Metaxas shows us how Washington determinedly refused personal power for the sake of the country; Wilberforce persisted in work that changed the world through social reform; Liddell chose principle above fame; Bonhoeffer sacrificed his life to save victims of the Nazi regime; Jackie Robinson pioneered breaking through racial barriers at great personal cost; Pope John Paul II set an example of compassion, intelligence, and humility; and Colson faithfully used his deserved incarceration to give birth to a new work:  prison ministry. 
    This book was very interesting, as Metaxas writes in an appealing and compelling way.  It inspires the reader to want to be deliberate about choosing character and principle as life compass points.  
    I would recommend this book to others, as it describes lives well worth emulating.  It was an interesting, enlightening read.
    I received this book for free in exchange for my unbiased review through the Thomas Nelson BookSneeze Program.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Excellent book!

    Eric Metaxas does an excellent job of hitting the highlights of the lives of these 7 men and what helped them to succeed in difficult circumstances. He brings out little known facts about each man. This is an easy read written as if the author is sitting down with you having a conversation.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Heroic Word Portraits of Seven Notable Men ┬┐ Men of Courage, Sac

    Heroic Word Portraits of Seven Notable Men – Men of Courage, Sacrifice, and True Greatness

    “7 Men and the Secret of their Greatness” features short biographical sketches which highlight the lives of seven men who have demonstrated strength in their commitment to a cause, personal conviction, courage in crisis, and bravery in the face of battle. Metaxas has created inspiring positive role models represented by men in government, sports, and church leadership. These men have made significant contributions to social reform, breaking down racial barriers, and religious bias. Eric Metaxas writes with a passion which inspires his reader to pursue excellence, motivate patriotism, and in making right choices. 

    This may not be the book for real history buffs, however it is suited perfectly for reading together as a part of your family night, included in home school reading assignments, and as a part of every church and Christian school library. 

    “7 Men and the Secret of their Greatness” is widely endorsed by recognized leaders, is highly readable, and deeply moving. I am recommending it to my family and friends.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A fine book about what it takes to be a great man in today's age

    A fine book about what it takes to be a great man in today's age

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Very good...

    Just started the book but so far, it's excellent. It's very interesting and very readable. Metaxas is a wonderful writer. His book on Bonhoeffer was one you couldn't put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    Excellent!

    I thoroughly enjoyed each man's mini-biography and look forward to reading more about each of them. I have already read Eric's biography on Dietrich Bonhoeffer and was moved deeply by Pastor Bonhoeffer's commitment to his faith. I would love to read more about Chuck Colson and Pope John Paul II, since I saw the world evolve while their were ministering.

    Very readable and very well executed, a high recommendation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    This is the BEST!

    This book is a fantastic buy. It is made up of biographies of seven different men. These biographies aren't copies of existing biographies. In almost all of them, areas of the men's personalities and values that help you understand them better in a more personal way are brought out. I had read biographies of most of the seven men before, but these biographies are fresh and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    OK, But. . .

    This is an interesting book, long on aspiration, short on driving home its thesis about the meaning of manhood. Except for that emphasis, it reminds me of Alistair Cooke's 1977 book, 'Six Men' (which featured Humphrey Bogart, Charlie Chaplin, Edward VIII, H.L. Mencken, Bertrand Russell, and Adlai Stevenson). Mr. Cooke was a man of the Left, and his choices, except for Mencken, leaned that way. I suspect the 'Sage of Baltimore was there because, for sheer writing punch and panache, he is the champ.

    Unlike Metaxas, Cooke did not admire each of his six subjects. For Edward VIII, he gave a searing send-off: "The most damning thing you can say about Edward--as a prince, as a king, as a man--is one that all comfortable people should cower from deserving: he was at his best only when the going was good."

    Cooke describes the six thusly: ". . .they all seem to me to be deeply conservative men who, for various psychological reasons, yearned to be recognized as hellions or brave progressives. Perhaps that is their real link to this writer." Indeed. I hear Mencken roaring from the grave, convulsed in laughter at being labeled a 'brave progressive.'

    Metaxas comes from a different perspective. '7 Men' comprises minibiographies of George Washington, William Wilburforce (the 18th-19th century English abolitionist, about whom Mr. Metaxas wrote a well-received biography), Eric Liddell (one of the runners featured in the 1981 Oscar-winning film, 'Chariots of Fire'), Dietrich Bonhoeffer (German theologian and spy executed in 1945 for his part in the plot to kill Hitler - Mr. Metaxas also wrote his biography, which received glowing reviews), Jackie Robinson, Pope John Paul II, and Charles Colson, the Nixon hatchet-man-turned-Christian supplicant to imprisoned criminals.

    Instead of preaching about what it means to be a man, Metaxas lets the meaning emanate from the stories he tells. Those familiar with his philosophy won't be surprised to hear that all were serious Christians.

    The book is an interesting collection, unevenly written. One wonders if its author wanted some scale economies from his earlier efforts with the inclusion of Bonhoeffer and Wilburforce. Colson is an offbeat choice, included perhaps to show that redemption is real. With Dodger owner Branch Rickey's unshakable support, Jackie Robinson survived the slings and slurs of racism in major league baseball to become one of its premier players in the mid-twentieth century; I heard him speak during the 1968 political campaign (he was for Nixon), and he remained livid about his treatment two decades earlier. Of course, Washington was the most remarkable of men. But I found the portrait of Liddell most compelling, especially in the way he chose to die at such an early age (he was barely 43).

    My loud complaint about this book is the inclusion of Pope John Paul II. As I write this, we are but four days from his hurry-up canonization. I stipulate that he was one of the three singular forces who took down the Soviet Union--Ronald Reagan and Maggie Thatcher were the two titans in that triumvirate.

    But stories have emerged about JPII's role in covering up the widespread pedophilia by Catholic priests. In particular, I wish that Metaxas had explored JPII's cover-up of the allegations by nine priests against Fr. Marcial Maciel Degollado. I believe that Pope Francis, whom I greatly admire, will rue the day that he allowed John Paul II to be sainted in a veritable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Excellent and inspiring

    Very inspiring. Highly recommend. Every man should read about these men.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Well done - I have recommended it to friends.

    You will enjoy this book. It is a quick way to learn about 7 great men in history and their spiritual contribution to this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1