Customer Reviews for

The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Started a new chapter in my life!

A few years ago, my marriage was going down the drain. I had no idea what was going on or what I could do about it. I felt helpless, hopeless and unhappy. Until then, I was very skeptical about these types of books so I never read them. But became so desperate that I op...
A few years ago, my marriage was going down the drain. I had no idea what was going on or what I could do about it. I felt helpless, hopeless and unhappy. Until then, I was very skeptical about these types of books so I never read them. But became so desperate that I opened this book in a store like a drowning person reaching for a straw. That was the beginning of the end. This book forced me to see my marriage from a completely objective point of view and helped me realize how I was part of the problem. Bad habits die hard but I kept making an effort to change. After a month or two, my spouse noticed this change and became curious about the book as well. We became even more interested in these things and read another book called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato (I'd highly recommend this fabulous book too if you are ready to take one more positive step in your relationships). Now we appreciate each other. Now we talk about meaningful and interesting things in life. Even though this may sound very cheesy, in many ways we could say that our marriage is in a renaissance period. We still have a long way to go but there already is a newfound calmness in our lives that was never there before.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Painfully dull, highly clinical, but good for couples in trouble.

This book was recommended to me by my premarital counselor. I found it to be a painfully dull read and very clinical. I would however recommend it to a couple that fights a lot and would like to work though it as there is quite a bit of good advice for saving a marriage...
This book was recommended to me by my premarital counselor. I found it to be a painfully dull read and very clinical. I would however recommend it to a couple that fights a lot and would like to work though it as there is quite a bit of good advice for saving a marriage and recognizing when a fight is at a point where nothing will be accomplished aside from hurting someone's feelings.

If you think your relationship is rocky or of it gets really bad when you fight, I could see this as a good book for you, also if you guys feel like you need to get to know each other better. I however do not have difficulty with the problems that this book addresses in my relationship. I hope that it can help others more than it helped me.

I would have one recommendation - read it as a couple and do the exercises together... it can't hurt right?

posted by KaraAgnarsdottir on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Started a new chapter in my life!

    A few years ago, my marriage was going down the drain. I had no idea what was going on or what I could do about it. I felt helpless, hopeless and unhappy. Until then, I was very skeptical about these types of books so I never read them. But became so desperate that I opened this book in a store like a drowning person reaching for a straw. That was the beginning of the end. This book forced me to see my marriage from a completely objective point of view and helped me realize how I was part of the problem. Bad habits die hard but I kept making an effort to change. After a month or two, my spouse noticed this change and became curious about the book as well. We became even more interested in these things and read another book called 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato (I'd highly recommend this fabulous book too if you are ready to take one more positive step in your relationships). Now we appreciate each other. Now we talk about meaningful and interesting things in life. Even though this may sound very cheesy, in many ways we could say that our marriage is in a renaissance period. We still have a long way to go but there already is a newfound calmness in our lives that was never there before.

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Harmonious Relationships John M. Gottman has great suggestions

    Harmonious Relationships

    John M. Gottman has great suggestions that have supported my relationship with my husband. Of the “seven principles”, my favorite is “Turn toward Each Other Instead of Away”. I found the questionnaires inspiring and with Gottman’s discoveries, I can see that my husband and I have strength in our marriage and our “emotional bank account” is full. I enjoyed Gottman’s observations on couples he worked with and his tenacity to discover principles that can help couples experience harmonious relationships.

    Another relationship book that I highly recommend is Ariel & Shya Kane’s “How to Have A Match Made in Heaven”. Like Gottman, the Kanes write about sessions they have with their clients – with a BONUS – links to companion videos & audios of the Kanes working with their clients. So you get to “see” what you just “read”! I have discovered a sense of ease with all my relating since reading this book. It’s an amazing book. I applaud both Gottman and the Kanes for writing successful books that support relationship.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    I so enjoyed reading John Gottman's "The Seven Principles f

    I so enjoyed reading John Gottman's "The Seven Principles for Making
    Marriage Work".  I was half way through the book when I
    realized it's already working! I had been behaving in a more sweet and
    tender way with my husband since I'd started reading it.  We already have a
    lovely relationship but throughout "7 Principles" I noticed my thoughts and
    actions were even more gentle and held even greater fondness for my husband
    and for our relationship.  Gottman takes readers through the early moments
    in a marriage, reviving the feelings of falling in love and recharging the
    magic of wedding celebrations.  On this journey I got to recall the
    admiration, respect and fun of being partners in my marriage.
    I highly recommend this book to those in great relationships, less than
    great
    relationships and of course, troubled relationships.  "7 Principles" can
    give you great comfort and joy.  Gottman has created a simple roadmap that
    leads to a great marriage.  Well worth the trip.

    Those who enjoy this book will also enjoy Ariel and Shya Kane's latest book:
    How to Have A Match Made in Heaven.  It's terrific.  I know I'm
    interested in having the best possible marriage and the Kanes illustrate
    how easy it can be to have such a relationship.  In reading the
    touching true stories and accompanying videos, I got to see how
    potentially relationship
    injuring behaviors can dissolve just by observing them
    non-judgmentally.  Yep, I said it: issues just dissolve. Just by
    seeing it. I know.... that simple.

    These two books Gottman's The Seven Principles for Making Marriage
    Work and the Kanes': How to Have a Match Made in Heaven can rock your
    world in a fantastic way!  Buy them, read them, have sweet
    relationships.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Men Should Read This Book Too

    This is probably the best book on marriage on the market. Gottman thinks outside the box, making understanding how to have a good marriage both practical and possible. Men, especially, need to read this book.

    I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score" for anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain. I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. It was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it. It is on sale here on BN.com.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Standard

    This book should be standard reading for couples. It is clear, concise and makes total sense. This book is for anyone wishing to improve their relationship, get back on track or learn how to not make the same mistakes over and over. When reading this book, I had many moments of "I knew that!" but had somehow forgotten over the many years of being married.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2003

    For Any Relationship You Want to Improve

    When I was first introduced to this book, I was a bit skeptical since I have heard different perspectives on marriage counseling. After I started reading this book, I found myself identifying with the information that Gottman was telling me. I believe that this book is more personal and gives a person a sense of taking control of his/her own relationship. There are practical strategies that take time to work through, but are definitely worth your time. One of the best aspects about this book is that it isn't preaching or using "Christian" based lessons. I am not saying that it isn't spiritual, I am saying that Gottman has a way of presenting the facts that he found without slighting your religious beliefs. I would recommend this book for any couple who is in a serious relationship because this book only for married couples.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Janelle Matheny The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work By

    Janelle Matheny
    The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work
    By John M. Gottman, Ph.D. and Nan Silver
    The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work is one of the most insightful books I’ve read in a long time. Not only does John Gottman establish credibility in the first five pages, but he is full of valid information and leads you to believe that he really does know what he’s talking about. I’m sure you’re asking yourself right now, “What is the point of this book?” or, “what is the book even about?” To put it quite simply, this book is a very good guide to making your marriage work and how to have successful relationships in your intrapersonal life. In the first chapter of the book, Dr. Gottman explains how he can usually tell if a marriage will last in the first three minutes he meets with the couple. He reveals the truth behind all happy relationships and marriages and that is happiness. If a couple has had a good friendship and great mutual sense of respect for each other before they had romantic feelings for each other, according to Dr. Gottman, the relationship will last and it can be salvageable if at any time in the future it is suffering. It was very interesting to read this book because he had some very valid points that really made me stop and think about my relationships in my life currently. Not only does he explain in every chapter the tips and tricks to making relationships work, but he also has activities and short quizzes throughout the book to help you understand what happened in the previous chapter and to make sure you’re on the right path to a successful relationship.The 7 principles for making a marriage work was a book I could not put down. I found that in every chapter, while he was explaining each principle that he really understood and he’s an educated man that knows what he’s talking about. It was such an intriguing book and I highly suggest you read this with your loved one and help improve the way you communicate and love each other.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    Interesting, base in proves

    I am a soon-to-be-married and I really like it. It gave a lot of examples of happily married people and not so happy that gives you an idea of what to do or if your marriage is directing to divorce. A lot of exercises that you have to do with your spouse to improve your marriage. Excellent information and easy to read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Excellent help for any relationship

    I finally admitted that we needed help in our relationship, I bought this book with a little reservation.... I'm sorry I waited so long. If you practice what's in this book, I'm sure that you can make it. Everything can be related to in an easy understandable manner. If your willing, this book will definately help!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Do the dance... and enjoy it...

    This book has lots of excellent and interesting advice about how to keep a relationship together. It is written in a way that everyone can understand and is full of practical suggestions. If you are in a relationship and want to figure out some ways to keep two souls dancing together to the wide variety of tunes life throws at us, read this book. Chances are, you will learn numerous things that are very helpful. If you want to go one step further and develop a deeper understanding of your relationship and what it means, you should read, 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It is simply the best book I have ever read on this topic! Meanwhile, enjoy the dance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Painfully dull, highly clinical, but good for couples in trouble.

    This book was recommended to me by my premarital counselor. I found it to be a painfully dull read and very clinical. I would however recommend it to a couple that fights a lot and would like to work though it as there is quite a bit of good advice for saving a marriage and recognizing when a fight is at a point where nothing will be accomplished aside from hurting someone's feelings.

    If you think your relationship is rocky or of it gets really bad when you fight, I could see this as a good book for you, also if you guys feel like you need to get to know each other better. I however do not have difficulty with the problems that this book addresses in my relationship. I hope that it can help others more than it helped me.

    I would have one recommendation - read it as a couple and do the exercises together... it can't hurt right?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    If you have questions about relationships. . .

    This book is a "must read" for anyone in a committed relationship. Helpful, informative, and if so motivated, effective!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    great advice for all relationships

    This book was really amazing, and even though I am not in a relationship now, most of the principles apply to relationships in general, whether they be familial or otherwise. Gottman bases his advice on sound scientific evidence and removes personal, religious, and social biases. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who is looking to improve relationships in their lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2002

    Two Books Saved My Marriage!

    Thank you 'Seven Principles' for starting to put my marriage back on solid ground. The book that completed the difficult task and ensures our longivity for now on is 'Loving Vows: Inspiring Promises For Building and Renewing Your Marriage' by Barbara Eklof. It took our wedding vows to a higher level by showing us how to KEEP each one during the day-to-day reality of marriage. Now, thanks to these two great books, we're discussing a second honeymoon instead of a divorce.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Great summary for making marriage work.

    Dr Gottman does a great job of outlining some of the common problems that plague relationships. I have started using this book as a tool in helping couples get stated on the path of healing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Among the Best Books in it's Class

    Dr. Gottman is THE most prolific and authoritative researcher on marriage in the field. He doesn't write about his personal ideas but bases his writings on sound, exceptionally-crafted research. What he says is vital to your relationship. Paul Coleman, author of 'The Complete Idiot's Guide to Intimacy'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    The best advice I have heard or read...

    I was a bit skeptical that this book would help me out in any way. What I found was that this was an amazing book that gave me a lot of insight on marriage that your friends and family don't tell you because they don't want to 'air their dirty laundry'. This book keeps it real based on extensive research of real-life couples who experience the same problems that almost all married couples do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2000

    It is a very useful guide for couples who want to improve their relationship.

    I think this book can help strenghten the friendship of a married couple.It mainly concentrates on communication between man and woman and provides guidelines for working with the partner from an optimistic point of view. I strongly recommend it!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Top notch

    This book is really a treasure trove of all the important data on marriage, and spells out what to do,and why, to make marriage great. I recommend it highly, and have used some of the data in it for my own book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    To below

    Under that layer of Christianity that you place on your words, l only see blatant misogyny. Men and women are equal. And about your 'men are the head of the house' crap, it depends on the family. Women are not the assistants of men. They are people too, and ALSO have the right to discipline the children and decide which church/synagogue/temple they go to. I am in a family where my mother raises me. She does the discipline. Does that mean l am not as good as the kids whose fathers have the job of disciplining? No. This is why l am an agnostic; l hate this stuff about men being more powerful than women in religion. If you asked my opinion, l would say that being a woman is more powerful, because she can create life. And being an emotionally sensitive man does not mean you are any less manly. It just means you are BETTER. And even if an emotionally sensitive man was not manly, what's wrong with being like a woman? Women are AWESOME. You have a messed up brain. This is an amazing and helpful book, as well.<p>
    ~A sixteen-year-old girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7