Customer Reviews for

Seven Roads to Hell: A Screaming Eagle at Bastogne

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    A True Survivor

    At 19 years old, Donald Burgett, as a member of the legendary 101st Airborne Dividion, has survived Normandy and Market Garden while being wounded twice. In garrison, retrofitting and replacing lost soldiers, the 101st Airborne hurriedly prepares to stop a breakthrough by the Nazis in Belgium. A desperate battle that will have an affect on the outcome in the European Theatre. Burgett describes: the needed, albeit too short, rest of garrison life and being on leave in Paris; the replacements, who are usually the first casualties in combat; the long cold ride in cattle cars to meet the adversary; limited supplies; the endless shelling; hand-to-hand fighting; the long hours freezing in his foxhole; and lost buddies. Often, I was shaking my head in amazement at what these soldiers endured. Being wounded again and one of the few in his platoon left standing, this "old man" of 19 is truly a survivor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Very well written by a man who was actually there, and vividly remembers it all

    This book is a must read for any WWII history buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Made a reader out of me

    I am generally not much of a reader, but I can't put Don Burgett's books down til I'm finished. Seven Roads to Hell tells the story of the amazing stand at Bastogne, from a trooper eye view. I have read both Curahee and Road to Arnhem, and each book is simply amazing. Burgett paints the entire picture, from the beauty of the countryside to the horror of battle. He shows both his best side and worst. Throughout reading you feel a myriad of emotions, joy, sorrow, excitement, fear, pride, disgust, and even humor. But through it all, you feel that this is the reality of a WWII paratrooper. For those of you that always are curious about what really happened or what it was really like, look no further. Mr. Burgett has it all right here in his series of books. He makes you feel a part of his times in Europe both the good and bad. I highly suggest this to anyone, and it has given me an even greater respect for what these brave men did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Excellent

    I have just begun reading military history books, over the past year I have read about 5, and I have to put this on the top of the list. Donald's vivid descriptions put you right in the action of the battle and his chapter 'The Woods Fight' is tense, gripping, exceptional writing. I would strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Great book about the 'battered bastards of bastogne'

    This book was similar to Band of Brothers in writing style, and just as gripping too. To get a true picture of WWII read this and 'road to arnhem' by Burgett also, then read 'Band of Brothers' by ambrose, and then watch the movie 'Band of Brothers' by spielburg and hanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2003

    A Grand Account

    I read this book, then delivered it to my grandfather to read. Given that he served with Team Desobry, the original defenders of Bastogne until the 101st showed up, he claims that Burgett captured in writing the essence of the battle. Indeed, this book gives a soldier's account, not a staff officer's. From the description of life living below the ground like an animal, to the terror of tree-burst artillery, no book that I've read yet can captivate the reader and bring clarity to what life as a dogface grunt is like, quite in the way Burgett does here. This is a wonderful book. The Army and Marines should require it on their reading lists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Very Good!!!!!

    I found this a fast and easy read. You could feel the cold. The authors description of the battles and the conditions they had to endure are excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2001

    I still feel cold!

    Donald Burgett takes us through his time on the defensive very well. His descriptions of his time in the foxholes freezing made me find some blankets while I was reading. He has a gift to put the reader into the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    Outstanding

    This is definately the best book I have ever read. I think it's amazing that he survived 3 campaigns heck I think it's amazing that he survived the whole war. Despite a lot of friends dying around him in the carnage of war he kept going on. It's amazing that he and all of the other men survived the battle in the position they were in with no food, water, ammunition, weapons, and the didn't any winter clothes with them. I'm only 13 years old and I haven't read that many war books but I thought this was the best book I've ever read. I usually read books about the Vietnam War. I'm definately going to bye the rest of them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Real-life Heroes

    All of Donald Burgett's books about the 101st Airborne Division's battles are pure gold. The first-person, soldier-level descriptions of the toughest combat U.S. soldiers have faced during WWII are painful to read, but something those of us who have not served in combat need to understand. These books describe a particular instant in time which will probably never happen again. Seven Roads ... depicts an incredible story of courage and suffering which the reader will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2000

    Meet him in person!

    I thought this book was vary toching even after I meet him in 6th grade he is a friend of Mrs. lucaus's! She had been reading one of his other books in class and that got me interested in his books! the way he's so discriptive is really cool! I think that he is a wounderful man in and out of the fources! I may be in seventh grade but still if any one is that srong to go through ANY of that I think thay desirve all the creadit they can get!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Stunning!!

    Donald Burget's personal accounts of his experience of the defense of Bastogne are STUNNING!! I have read all of Stephen Ambrose's books, but they don't hit nearly as hard as this book. It is an outstanding book from the perspective of one of the GI's who actually fought, bled and won the battles. The first account of the battle for the small town of Noville a few miles outside of Bastogne in the beginning is riveting. Especially battling German tanks with grenades and bazookas. It will lift your heart in spots and bring you to tears in others. To the author and many others we see how much thanks we owe them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1