Customer Reviews for

The Seven Songs (Merlin Saga Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Merlin Series

    We have just started reading this series, so far we have really enjoyed the first two books. If you are into wizards or history you might like these books. The wording is young reader friendly.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Anonynos

    I have read the 1st and 2nd books in this series and loved them. T a barron has a really descriptive and almost poetic style of writing. You get pulled deeper and deeper into the story as you read. It has a complex plot and compelling characters such as merlin and rhia. I seriously recomend this to any fans of harry potter or the lord of the rings

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Awesome

    This and all books of the merlin seireis are great

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Very good

    This was a very good, kid friendly book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Mark

    Even better than the first book. When he gets in the Otherworld, it gets sad. Couldn't put it down. Look for my review on book 3: The Raging Fires!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Amazing

    A great continuation of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    a great read

    The Seven Songs of Merlin is a great book with a lot of twist and turns along the way. The book is about the great wizard Merlin. Instead of the old all powerful all knowing wizard he usually is, he's a 13 year old boy and instead of going around Camelot with King Arthur he's living in the magical in-between world of Fincayra. Tasked with reviving the Dark Hills Merlin at first makes good progress until he decides to bring his mother to the island, unfortunately shortly after reaching the island she is attacked by a death shadow. With only a month to live and only one cure in existence Merlin, his friend Rhia, and the less than funny jester Bumbelwy set after the legendary seven songs of wizardry to gain access to the otherworld well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    The Seven Songs Of Merlin

    When I was reading this book, I realized that every time the plot became boring the author made sure to make it more exciting. The book is about the great wizard Merlin as a child. The Seven Songs of Merlin are important morals that Merlin must learn in order to save his sickly mother. It was one of the best books I've ever read and I've already recommended it to other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    Thoroughly Enchanting

    This book brings to life a magical adventure of heart, mind, and body. T.A. Barron has delivered a powerful and touching story. He has once again outdone himself in the area of writing with his vivid descriptions and irresistable characters. Any book lover will enjoy the ride that this book takes you on. It is jam-packed with adventure, fun, and lessons that can also be applied in our lives. It is sure not to disappoint. =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I found this book in a Half-Price Books store, and though it sounded good, so I got it. It was done a week later. I really enjoyed it. Most books, Merlin is an old man who is a great wizard. This is Merlin as a kid, and you can relate to some of his feelings. He has to master 7 Songs of Wisdom in order to save his mother. Along the way, each of his ways he learns the Songs are not as you'd expect. The plot can be a bit slow at times, but when the action picks up, it really is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!

    This book was a great fantasy book. I could not put it down. I read this in the 5th grade. I even understood it then. Now I'm in the 8th grade and I'm writing this review. Merlin was awesome. Please read this book. If you don't then something's wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    The Lost Years of Merlin - Book II

    -The series of the Lost Years of Merlin by T.A. Barron is another magical and fantasy series - Merlin is sent upon a quest to beautify the Dark Hills before evil endulges it yet Merlin gets sidetracked and sends his mother to Fincayra. Though as she smells a flower, a shadow consumes her, leaving her only 1 month to live... Merlin has to master the 7 songs left by Tuatha and travel to the Otherworl well and retrieve a potion from Dagda before it's too late, and on the way, he finds out his only sibling... is his best friend... whom will suffer a great injury, almost killing them - a great book, though I had read it out of order, the only flaw was the ending of the book, the fact it seems so short but then again, most good books are like that... -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    As Good as the First!

    I'll give you good advice. If you liked the first book in this series, you'll love this one! We find Merlin-yes, he dropped the Emrys-thing- on a journey to save his mother from certain death. Rhia and a newcomer named Bumblewy accompany him, as he races to find the seven songs of wizardry, which help him discover the true meaning of being a wizard. (ps- any of you hoping for a however-small romance between him and Rhia- well, let's just say you're in for a big surprise!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    This book is great!!!!

    this book is the best book I have ever read and if you have not read it you really should!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    a reviewer

    I have read all of the merlin books and they are all very good and deep with magic and many surprises. This beats every book i have ever read by a long shot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    AWESOME!!!

    this was a awesome addition to the lost years of merlin saga, i cant wait to get my hands on the rest of the series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    mystery and action

    the seven songs of merlin is an exciting book with twists and turns at every page. i foud myself unable to put it down. i can't wait to get into the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Read this book or you are missing out

    This book is an outstanding book for all ages and if you do not read it, you are missing out on one of the best books you can read. I never wanted to put this book down once I started. It always had me guessing at what Merlin¿s next decision would be and how every thing would work out in the end as he defied the rules of Fincayra and made his own path no matter what the consequences might be. The book starts out when Merlin is assigned to heal the lands from a past war before the bad guys return. Out of frustration, he stops his task, leaving the land susceptible to attack. He leaves to try to find his mother on the other side of the mist. He brings her back and she is poisoned by a shadow that was meant to kill Merlin. Merlin must figure out the language of the seven songs and then discover their meanings all in a time limit of one month. The book takes many twists and turns as the young Merlin learns from his mistakes and gathers valuable information on his way to becoming a wise and powerful wizard. I loved this book, and to tell you the truth, I did not read the first book in the series yet. I understood almost the entire book anyway. I do not recommend you do as I did, but if you do, you can understand the book perfectly fine without reading the series in order. I do plan on reading the first book next. This book is great. I did not give it five stars because the book did not adequately address the fact that he had abandoned his original task. I felt like the author forgot about it at times in the book. None the less, this is one of the best books I have read and I recommend that you read it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Rich Blend of Magic and Depth

    This is definitely one of the greatest books I've read in a long time. So rarely does an author come and completely sweep you into his world--I've never read anything other fantasy author with Barron's description. He really takes you there with his wonderful writing. Like with The Lost Years of Merlin, his words paint vivid pictures of the scenery. This is an imaginitive, wonderful work of fantasy that has the depth and meaning that so many books lack. Although it does have a few logical errors (ex. there was no real reason that Cairpre should have kept it from Merlin that Rhia was his sister, or that when he heard about Rhia, he had no reaction. Or why Merlin must learn all seven songs before going to the Otherworld--Merlin used none of the songs when he went went there). There's no children's writer that can match Barron's description skills--vivid, beautiful, and detailed, he defines the meaning of the overused phrase, 'he made me feel as if I was really there.' This book is just as good as The Lost Years of Merlin, the previous book. It has the same blend of characters that are so real. The characterization is great. Merlin is human--arrogant, rash, but brave and kind hearted. He is very likeable, despite his faults. And Rhia--she adds so much to the story. She is cheerfulness and mischievousness, mixed with a bit of oddness that sets her apart from most novel characters. Very original and unique creation, and Barron does a great job with her. She is perfectly crafted. Elen is also exceptionally done--her wisdom, her love, and her beauty naturally comes out in this book. Fortunately, she is not so tragic as in The Lost Years of Merlin. She will always be one of my favorite characters. She is self-sacrificing, wanting little more than for Merlin to be happy. Like Merlin himself said, she gave Merlin everything she could give him without wanting anything back. Elen is truly admirable. There is just nothing wrong with Barron's characterization of her--he manages to convey her self-sacrificing, courageous personality without making it overdone. The only thing that readers might find wrong with her is that she later falls in love with Caipre--but this doesn't come in until The Fires of Merlin, the book after this. Stangmar did terrible things, but the reason? To save her. She could have never forgiven him (she does forgive him, by the way, before he dies in The Wings of Merlin), but she at least should have found it in her heart to never love another man because she had loved him so much. Either that, or it means her love for him wasn't as true as Caipre made it out to be in The Lost Years of Merlin. Stangmar was a very tragic figure, and it was because of Elen. None of it was her fault, but still, he did what he did to save her. Elen, in all her wisdom, should have recognized this. The Seven Songs of Merlin was truly great because it touches the reader. The reader, like Merlin, learns to see with the heart instead of the eyes, and learns the meaning of each of the Seven Songs. This book has all the richness of The Lost Years of Merlin, plus a more continued development of plot. Unfortunately, after this Barron's plots are less well-thought out, and his endings grow considerably weaker. However, all five books in the series are wonderful and should be tried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2002

    Good Book

    Its a very good book, but is a little bit slower than The Lost Years of Merlin, but very exciting. I highly recommend you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4