Customer Reviews for

The Seven Storey Mountain

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. To read about Merton's journey from basically being an atheist to a devout Catholic is remarkable and inspiring. In the true spirit of every man thinking for himself, he followed his heart and path to God. I recommend this book to anyone interest in learning about an every day individual doing extraordinary things through faith and love.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Seven Story Mountain

    I really loved this book. I actually read it several years ago and bought this copy for my son. Not sure if he read it yet.

    I enjoyed it very much and did not want to give away my copy so I bought him a new one.

    It's a very powerful book of a faith journey. I will probably read it again in the future.

    I am a convert to Catholisism 50 years ago but did not read Thomas Merton's story until quite a few years later. But I remember at the time of reading it how I felt alot of the way he did. I too became a Catholic prior to Vatican 2. I was 20yrs old at the time.

    It's a wonderful book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. To read about Merton's journey from basically being an atheist to a devout Catholic is remarkable and inspiring. In the true spirit of every man thinking for himself, he followed his heart and path to God. I recommend this book to anyone interest in learning about an every day individual doing extraordinary things through faith and love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    Contiues to touch lives

    Merton's journey to Christ is as moving today as it was 50 years ago. Anyone bitten by the Merton bug wants more and more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    You are not alone.

    I enjoyed walking with Thomas Merton through his journey form the darkness of an empty life to the light of fullness. A very honest (sometimes too honest) account of his perspectives and realities. I could not put it down.... this book will draw the reader in and keep your attention throughout.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    A spiritual journey

    May I recommend to you Thomas Merton's Seven Storey Mountain.<P> Thomas Merton was a Catholic mystic, whose spiritual quest resulted in one of the truly great teachers of our time.<P> It was my good fortune to have some correspondence with him. I highly recommend his writing. It might change your life.<P>

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    A 20th Century Masterpiece

    Merton's autobiography is remarkably descriptive, both of his own spiritual journey and of the world of his youth. His writing is lively and thoughful. Some of the descriptions of his youthful indiscretions aren't as detailed as in a modern autobiography, but the writing style is so passionate that the reader need not always see all the details to empathize with the author. For me, the fascination of this book comes from the knowledge that the experiences of the author's life have brought him to the monastery from which he writes. A reader who is interested (as I am) in spiritual thinking will enjoy reading how Merton's spirituality developed and may well compare Merton's journey to the reader's own.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    7 storey mountain

    great book.should be read by all christianz

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Inspiring

    This was the first book I have read of Merton's. It is inspiring of how his life and spiritual journey developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1