Customer Reviews for

Seven Types of Ambiguity

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Absolutely Absorbing

    This is one of the most beautifully written contemporary books I have ever read. Not only does Perlman have an astonishing and humbling command of the English language but he is a master storyteller as well. The 'ambiguity' makes this an unpredictable, page-turning read. This is the first book of Perlman's I have read and I am hungry for more.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    good read

    I highly reccomemd this book. It is a book with alot of twist and turns. I really enjoyed how there are so many different parts of the book...like everyones prospective of the same event is somewhat different from the person before them and so on. This book is a tad on the long side for some people but then again I love a good long read. I could not put this book down! I was suprised at the many different character developments and how attached they are to each other without knowing it. That aspect of the book created a sort of duh factor for me like I kept thinking omg how do they not realize that they are all connected some how. Oh well I thoroughly enjoyed this read and I am sure you will to! I can't wait to pick up some more like it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Tedious!

    I really loved this book for about the first... 450 to 500 pages. The storyline is amazing. It's great to read about what's going on from different points of view. I also really liked some of the detail the author added about the financial markets and psychology and all kinds of other things but by the end I was VERY ready for him to wrap it up and be done with it. If you have plenty of free time, I recommend this book. That's the only way I finished it -- nothing else to do. Otherwise I would have set it down and started something new.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Awesome

    I bought this book looking for something different with a decent level of literary value. I was tired of reading Stephen King, James Patterson, and the like of blockbuster authors. This book has a great 'indie' feel to it and completely absorbs the reader into an atypical storyline. I can't wait to pick up Perlman's book of short stories. I love the way he writes his complex characters and I love how different this book is. If you liked the movie Closer, you will LOVE this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Absolutely Stunning

    WOW!!! I just finished this book and loved it. The way that the story is told from seven different perspectives added a level of depth to the story rarely achieved in literature. This is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. When I finished the last page, I immediately flipped back to page 1 to start it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    awesome book

    I'll be looking for more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    One of, if not the, best books I've ever read, plain and simple.

    One of, if not the, best books I've ever read, plain and simple. Definitely worth the read. I cannot recommend it more highly. Bravo Perlman, bravo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A contemporary favorite

    Not many authors can pull off the first person, much less the second. Perlman's novel not only has an excellent plot and excellent character development but with the perogatives written in either the first or second person he adds an additional layer of complexity to the novel. I found the last chapter that inteded to tie up the story a little self-indulgent, though I'm glad not many ends were left hanging. This is by far his best work yet. His short stories start to sound the same after you've read the third or fourth one. And Three Dollars was a quick read, lacking the complexity and originality that I enjoyed so much with Seven Types of Ambiguity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Consuming, Prolific, Provocative

    Perlman's novel, written in dense yet fluid prose, is rich with suspense, empathy, and wit. The seven strands of narrative - each chapter written in the voice of separate yet intimately connected characters - propel forward a plot that is at once gripping and grave. Often Perlman's novel takes a narrative detour into the realm of the Socratic, with characters engulfed in 'casual' conversations on topics ranging from healthcare to literary criticism to the obligations of a human being to his or her community. While the book can sometimes get bogged down in excesses of ideology, it is the type of novel that both affects emotionally and intrigues intellectually. Upon putting it down, the reader can't quite decide whether to voraciously read up on the literature and ideas spotlighted in the book or to ponder the emotional echoes of the characters' choices and, ultimately, their fates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    A unique and stimulating read for those interested in the human condition!

    Perlman's unique style (the same story told from different perspectives)explores modern society and the significance of personal impact. He denies the de rigeur style/template so prevalent in popular writers today.

    On a personal level Seven Types of Ambiguity resonated as work that refused to take a short cut, instead mirroring the pace of everyday life - I was riveted throughout, constantly impatient for the story to unfold.

    If you value individual integrity... and believe it important that each of us should be aware of/acountable for our actions, this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Forget it

    I read this book last month, but honestly, I can't remember anything about it. I did read the entire book, but it was one of those books that keeps you reading, because I kept hoping that somehow the author would tie it all together, however, for me I just can't remember, and that is not like me. So I guess what I'm telling you is, read it for the literary style, and perhaps a discussion group, but it is truly forgetable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2