Customer Reviews for

Seven Year Switch

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

SEVEN YEAR SWITCH, by Claire Cook,

Jill Murray, a single mom with a 10-year-old daughter named Anastasia, does her best to keep her head above water. Having been abandoned by her husband seven years ago, she has survived without child support or assistance from loved ones. Despite her unfortunate circums...
Jill Murray, a single mom with a 10-year-old daughter named Anastasia, does her best to keep her head above water. Having been abandoned by her husband seven years ago, she has survived without child support or assistance from loved ones. Despite her unfortunate circumstances, her home is filled with laughter and love. This is the tale of Jill's personal journey towards inner strength and independence told with humor, poignancy, and great insight. A wonderful reinvention of oneself book! Other good ones: THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE, ICE COLD

posted by sweetpeaSP on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an

Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an e-book. Especially, since she wants the same amount for her hardback book. Claire Cook is off my e-list.

posted by NewYork24 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SEVEN YEAR SWITCH, by Claire Cook,

    Jill Murray, a single mom with a 10-year-old daughter named Anastasia, does her best to keep her head above water. Having been abandoned by her husband seven years ago, she has survived without child support or assistance from loved ones. Despite her unfortunate circumstances, her home is filled with laughter and love. This is the tale of Jill's personal journey towards inner strength and independence told with humor, poignancy, and great insight. A wonderful reinvention of oneself book! Other good ones: THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE, ICE COLD

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cook Switches on another Winner with SEVEN YEAR SWITCH

    Claire Cook never fails to come through. Since my first book review, which was for Claire's book SUMMER BLOWOUT, she has never let me down when I pick up a new book of hers to read. She has a way of making even the toughest things in life bearable and her talented writing draws readers in through her marvelous stories, clever dialogue, and her captivating characters. In SEVEN YEAR SWITCH, readers meet Jill Murray who is one of those characters I just mentioned who captured my interest right off and had me rooting for her all the way. I found Jill to be a witty, bright, compelling and caring mother and an independent woman who didn't deserve the agony she felt when suddenly her ex-husband pops back into her and her daughter Anastasia's lives. Although Anastasia is delighted to have her father there, Jill is dubious of his motives and commitment.

    The idea from the title that every seven years our body's skin rejuvenates thus making us into a "new" person, goes right along with the book's concept of personal change and growth being a positive thing in our lives. Cook surrounds Jill with intriguing characters that move the story along and fit into that principal premise of the book that was based on transformation and progression. With Jill's neighbor, Cynthia, being almost the opposite of Jill in most ways, she provided a strong character for Jill to play off of. She was entertaining and feisty, and quite a welcome addition in the story.

    Of course, there was suddenly these men surrounding Jill, quite a change from the start of the story.a feast or famine situation. Besides her ex, Seth, there is the caring and amusing Billy who is a client of Jill's and who is hard to resist. How Jill handles all of this is to take off on her own for a gal pal trip to Costa Rica and hope to find what she is looking for there.or at least some peace for her to be able to think and relax.

    How Jill deals with everything and everyone is trademark Claire Cook as she takes a serious subject and deals with it gently, with warmth and fun, and creates an answer that educates, amuses, and involves the reader. The story of SEVEN YEAR SWITCH will entertain you while it also will endear itself to you as well. If like me, you start the book early enough, you will at least get a good night's sleep as I read it in one sitting and was happy I hadn't started it late in the day because I couldn't put it down. Another delightful gift, and perfect for the summer read, but wouldn't be bad by a cozy fire in winter as well, is SEVEN YEAR SWITCH from a favorite author, Claire Cook!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to read it again!

    SEVEN YEAR SWITCH is instantly absorbing, absolutely endearing, and has characters who feel like real people. Jill is smart, kind, creative, and has a dry sense of humor. I absolutely loved her. The conversations between Jill and her neighbor had me laughing out loud, and I identified with her moments of insecurity and doubt. I love the way Jill works to do what's best for Anastasia, even when it's hard for her, and I love the way she's honest about her struggles. Because Jill has such a strong interest in other cultures, there are fun facts scattered throughout, and the multi-cultural cooking class she teaches provides for some rich scenes with colorful characters. Once I started the book, I couldn't put it down, and the characters have really stuck with me. It was the perfect way to spend a weekend afternoon. SEVEN YEAR SWITCH is one of the rare books I plan to read again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an

    Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an e-book. Especially, since she wants the same amount for her hardback book. Claire Cook is off my e-list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Claire Cook!!

    I have read all of Claire's books. Each one just sucks you right in to the story and the character's lives to where you cant put the book down! I have this problem everytime I start her books. I say I'm going to take my time with it and POOF its all over! Then I have to wait for the next one to come out.

    Her style of writing makes it easy to relate to the characters and what they are going through. Real life stories for real life people. And Claire is very invovled with her readers. I dont know of another author that really makes such an effort at this. She has made a very special moment of my life a memorable one with a signed copy of "The Wildwater Walking Club" given to me on my 5 yr. anniversary.

    Take the time to read all of her books! You will be glad you did!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    Seven Year Switch Is A Winner

    As a journalist I'm lucky to get advance copies of books, and always look forward to getting Claire Cook's newest tome.

    I receive and read a lot of books, but I have to say "Seven Year Switch" was one of the few of late I hadn't been able to wait to get to every night when I crawled into bed.

    I have very much enjoyed all of Cook's books, but there was a level of depth and realism in this story of single mom, Jill, that pulled me in from page one. Of course there was the humor Cook is known for, but Jill's life isn't easy, and we get to experience the tough choices she has to make right along with her.

    Claire Cook has the talent to move a reader while also making them laugh. Folks who already fans of Cook's will love it, and I think this one may herald in lots of new readers as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. My only disappointment was the abrupt ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CHARMING, WARM, FUNNY!

    Seven Year Switch is a warm, touching, funny and charming story, a ride through the imperfections of life on the way to find out what true love is. A fun easy read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    Loved this book!

    What a great book! a summer must read for all woman. An escape, a love story, adventure, laughs, smiles and some truisms. I read this in two nights, could have been one if i was not on vacation with girlfriends. I will definitely read more of ms. cook's books.
    I would recommend this novel to book clubs also. I especially like the last page of seven rules. Would like to pass them on to my children who are going away to school. Great rules to live by for all.
    I have seen Must Love Dogs as a movie and did not realize that it was written by ms. cook.
    thanks again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    Warm and Witty

    Jill Murray has to figure out how to raise her daughter, Anastasia, alone when her husband deserts them. She awkwardly stumbles through life, though to some degree she is successful in creating a life for herself and her daughter. When her ex-husband suddenly reappears seven years later, she has to make adjustments to the life she had built. Jill had finally met a handsome, charismatic man who she can imagine developing feeling for. What will she do now that her ex has made an untimely and uninvited homecoming?
    Claire Cook has produced another fun novel. As in her other books, Claire creates characters who are flawed and easy to relate to; like real people! Full of wit and humor, Seven Year Switch is a pleasure to read and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Claire Cook doesn't disappoint

    I have read all Claire Cook's books and have loved them all. Seven Year Switch did not disappoint, it was fast moving - I read it in just a day. I always love the characters in her books and once again loved the characters in this book. Claire always adds humor and you always finish the book learning something about yourself. The way Jill changed over the course of the book makes you take a look at your own life. It showed the relationship between Jill and her daughter, Anastasia. Her husband left them to join the peace corps and comes back 7 years later. It shows how Jill coped with him coming back into their lives, and then there is Billy... I loved the book from start to finish and loved the way the book ended. If you have never read a Claire Cook Book, you are missing out. I wait each summer for the next book to come out. Buy the book, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A serious topic with a light touch, take this one to the beach!

    Jill Murray feels like she finally has it all together, seven years after her husband Seth left her and their three-year-old daughter Anastasia in the middle of the night, leaving only a note behind. Sure, she's working three jobs to make ends meet, and sure, their house isn't as nice as the others in the neighborhood, but she's managing it, and all that really matters to her anyways is Anastasia.

    When Seth reappears out of the blue, apparently finished with his stint in the Peace Corps and ready to be a father again, Jill is terrified that he will disappoint them, and especially their daughter, again. Anastasia is thrilled to have her dad back in her life, but Jill can't help but have her reservations.

    Meanwhile, things are getting even more complicated on the man front. Jill is finding it next to impossible to resist her sweet and charming client, Billy, but is afraid to introduce yet another thing into her already chaotic life. Unable to figure out what to do, Jill takes a giant leap and takes a solo trip to Costa Rica, hoping that she'll be able to find out some answers while she's there.

    Jill Murray is the protaganist that you're rooting for from the very beginning. She's sweet and lovable, yet closed off. She's been hurt before- big-time- and she's not keen to let anyone into her carefully constructed bubble. As a reader, I rooted for her all the way through. I hoped that she would come out of her shell, live a little, and realize that although she had been hurt before, not all men would be like her husband. Jill's neighbor, Cynthia, who likes to appear vapid but is anything but, was a welcome addition to the cast of characters. The fact that she was Jill's complete opposite made for an interesting comparison, and an even more entertaining friendship.

    I loved the underlying theme about change and growth. The title comes from the concept that every seven years our skin completely regenerates itself, making us essentially a whole new person. Throughout the book we are presented with the concept that change, and especially personal growth, can be a good thing, if only we open ourselves up to it.

    I really enjoyed "Seven Year Switch" and read it in less than a day! Claire Cook takes a situation that is serious and all too real (abandonment) and turns it into something fun, heartwarming, and empowering for the people involved. I highly recommend that you slip this one into your bag the next time you're headed for the beach- you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved it!

    If you like to read books that make you forget everything that's going on around you, then this is one for you.
    Everyone deserves happiness and love-but what exactly is true love? This a delightful ride through the imperfections of life on the way to find out if true love is real. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A New Favorite

    This was my first Claire Cook book. If I'd known how much I would love her writing style, I would have read all of her books by now.

    The book is laugh out loud funny from the very beginning. Every "Lunch Around The World" story was hilarious, especially the descriptions of the members like "T-shirt Tom". My favorite character was Jill. She isn't perfect, she has doubts, fears and worries just like we all do. When her ex shows up she wants to tell him what she really thinks about him and send him back to wherever he came from. But, for the sake of her daughter, she lets him back into their lives. She's a mom who cares about everything that effects her daughter, but knows when to back off and give her room to make her own decisions and be herself.

    Another character, Billy was a favorite. Billy is a business man who wears bike shorts to meetings and dressier clothes to ride bikes. Now that's funny!! Jill doesn't feel she is good enough a catch for Billy, and I was so glad the author thought different. He saw the real Jill and made her feel special.

    I also thought Jill's friend Cynthia was a great character. I liked that the two women were like night and day. Cynthia always seemed to be in a tennis outfit and was always "playing dumb", although she was in fact very smart. I've know a few women like that.

    This book will have you thinking of Jill as a friend. I laughed, cried and worried right along with her.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an easy, funny, feel good book. I can't wait to read the other books by Claire Cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    Seven Year Switch Better Than the Seven Year Itch!

    Claire Cook writes an inspirational novel for all mid-life women who believe that career & romance have passed them by. Unshackle, untether yourselves, ladies, from your own self-created prisons, & curl up with this book that will allow you to dream, & dream big, & to believe that all is possible, no matter how old you are, or what unresolved baggage you are carrying from your past. Claire Cook gives us memorable characters that we care about, identify with, & want to find out more about even after the last page is read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    I felt this story from several sides

    I was set to enjoy this book before I started it, and once I started reading...I wasn't disappointed! The key thing that tugged at me was Jill's responsibility to her daughter -vs.- responsibility to her new self. Having been both a child of divorce, and a divorced mother learning to reinvent my life (with all the angst that goes along with it!), that will really stick with me for a long time. Great job!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    Fantastic Summer Read

    For me, the beach reading season hasn't officially begun until I read the latest from Claire Cook. And Seven Year Switch got my summer off to a perfect start. I love the warmth and humor that fill Claire's books, and I find myself feeling like her characters and I are old friends. This book brought all of the best - a great story that had me turning pages with anticipation and characters I will never forget. Thanks for giving me such a wonderful summer tradition to look forward to each year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulously funny, loving, heartfelt, Claire Cook is wonderful.

    Loved this book...heartwarming, real, funny...perfectly depicts a single mom struggling with raising her daughter and the emotions and relationship challenges that happen...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    Delightful ...

    Claire Cook has crafted another winner. With her trademark wit and tenderness, she sweeps us into the topsy-turvy life of Jill Murray, a feisty single mom trying to stitch together a future after she and her little girl, Anastasia, are abandoned by her husband. SEVEN YEAR SWITCH explores love, loss, anger, recovery, and the surprising events that healed the hearts of a young mother and her daughter.

    The characters are fully developed, and each has endearing quirks, fobiles, and very real (sometimes delightfully convoluted) emotions. From page one to the end, I cheered for Jill the entire way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Funny Beach Read!

    This is a great book to read to kick off the summer beach reading season! Jill Murray is a single mom raising her 10 year old daughter, Anastasia. Jill is "man-free" after her husband abandoned both her and her daughter 7 years ago. Jill is a strong woman who has worked hard at being a good parent. She works two jobs answering phones for Great Girls Getaways and also teaches a cultural cooking class. She meets Billy who hires her as a consultant around the same time Seth, the ex-husband decides he needs to get to know his daughter. Jill finds herself smitten with Billy but finds herself spending time with Seth and their daughter. All of a sudden Jill's man-free life is anything but man-free! There are quite a few interesting characters in the book. I loved Cynthia, Jill's well-to-do and crazy neighbor. I love how light hearted and fun this book is! I found myself laughing many time throughout the book! I think anyone in Jill's situation needs to have a good sense of humor and she definitely has that! Some of the situations she finds herself in are quite humorous! Take this book to the beach but bring plenty of sunscreen with you because you won't want to put it down until you've finished it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3