Customer Reviews for

Seven Year Switch

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

SEVEN YEAR SWITCH, by Claire Cook,

Jill Murray, a single mom with a 10-year-old daughter named Anastasia, does her best to keep her head above water. Having been abandoned by her husband seven years ago, she has survived without child support or assistance from loved ones. Despite her unfortunate circums...
Jill Murray, a single mom with a 10-year-old daughter named Anastasia, does her best to keep her head above water. Having been abandoned by her husband seven years ago, she has survived without child support or assistance from loved ones. Despite her unfortunate circumstances, her home is filled with laughter and love. This is the tale of Jill's personal journey towards inner strength and independence told with humor, poignancy, and great insight. A wonderful reinvention of oneself book! Other good ones: THE BOY WHO CAME BACK FROM HEAVEN, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE, ICE COLD

posted by sweetpeaSP on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an

Has this author lost her mind?? I would never pay $18.99 for an e-book. Especially, since she wants the same amount for her hardback book. Claire Cook is off my e-list.

posted by NewYork24 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book. My only disappointment was the abrupt ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CHARMING, WARM, FUNNY!

    Seven Year Switch is a warm, touching, funny and charming story, a ride through the imperfections of life on the way to find out what true love is. A fun easy read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A serious topic with a light touch, take this one to the beach!

    Jill Murray feels like she finally has it all together, seven years after her husband Seth left her and their three-year-old daughter Anastasia in the middle of the night, leaving only a note behind. Sure, she's working three jobs to make ends meet, and sure, their house isn't as nice as the others in the neighborhood, but she's managing it, and all that really matters to her anyways is Anastasia.

    When Seth reappears out of the blue, apparently finished with his stint in the Peace Corps and ready to be a father again, Jill is terrified that he will disappoint them, and especially their daughter, again. Anastasia is thrilled to have her dad back in her life, but Jill can't help but have her reservations.

    Meanwhile, things are getting even more complicated on the man front. Jill is finding it next to impossible to resist her sweet and charming client, Billy, but is afraid to introduce yet another thing into her already chaotic life. Unable to figure out what to do, Jill takes a giant leap and takes a solo trip to Costa Rica, hoping that she'll be able to find out some answers while she's there.

    Jill Murray is the protaganist that you're rooting for from the very beginning. She's sweet and lovable, yet closed off. She's been hurt before- big-time- and she's not keen to let anyone into her carefully constructed bubble. As a reader, I rooted for her all the way through. I hoped that she would come out of her shell, live a little, and realize that although she had been hurt before, not all men would be like her husband. Jill's neighbor, Cynthia, who likes to appear vapid but is anything but, was a welcome addition to the cast of characters. The fact that she was Jill's complete opposite made for an interesting comparison, and an even more entertaining friendship.

    I loved the underlying theme about change and growth. The title comes from the concept that every seven years our skin completely regenerates itself, making us essentially a whole new person. Throughout the book we are presented with the concept that change, and especially personal growth, can be a good thing, if only we open ourselves up to it.

    I really enjoyed "Seven Year Switch" and read it in less than a day! Claire Cook takes a situation that is serious and all too real (abandonment) and turns it into something fun, heartwarming, and empowering for the people involved. I highly recommend that you slip this one into your bag the next time you're headed for the beach- you won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    I felt this story from several sides

    I was set to enjoy this book before I started it, and once I started reading...I wasn't disappointed! The key thing that tugged at me was Jill's responsibility to her daughter -vs.- responsibility to her new self. Having been both a child of divorce, and a divorced mother learning to reinvent my life (with all the angst that goes along with it!), that will really stick with me for a long time. Great job!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Recommend

    Very easy read. Gives a very good insight to a single mother's feelings and struggles. Everyone in our book club enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    A nice soothing quick read

    I picked it up on a librarian's suggestion. I liked the characters and the easy tone Cook writes in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    Great Read!

    I live on the beach. This is an absolutely beach day, rainy day, no kids day kinda read! You will not put this book down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this book. This is my first read of Claire Cook's work, and I'll definitely look into more of her books right away! I really liked the main character, Jill, who was someone I could respect, admire and find human at the same time. Her efforts in her relationship with her daughter exhibited a strength and power, and as we watched her open herself up to the changes of their journey as mother and daughter as her ex-husband returned to their lives, I felt her grow and feel more and more "real" to me. I definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Seven Year Switch is a must for summer beach reading.

    It was hard to put down and I was sorry to have it end. I read slower toward the end to make it last.
    Claire Cook captures the imagination while utilizing real life situations. Her research into
    subplots is educational as well as fun to explore. There is something in the story to identify with for women of all ages. Rush to the bookstore and grab a copy for your
    vacation or staycation reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1