Customer Reviews for

Sew Fast Sew Easy: All You Need to Know When You Start to Sew

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Beginner sewing guide

This book rocks! It came with 3 patterns that I followed and made a skirt that fits great and pillows for my mom and a tote bag big enough for my junk I'm always carrying around. I loved this book!

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not sew good

I want to learn to sew, so I took a look at this book. I can't say that I'd recommend it for total beginners like me. The instructions are not very clear. You can follow them and complete the projects, but they don't explain much so it didn't seem like it taught me abou...
I want to learn to sew, so I took a look at this book. I can't say that I'd recommend it for total beginners like me. The instructions are not very clear. You can follow them and complete the projects, but they don't explain much so it didn't seem like it taught me about sewing. There are only 3 projects, and I didn't find them all that attractive (especially the skirt). I also didn't like the cutesy graphics or the style of the writing. A friend recommended Sew Easy, and I'm enjoying that a lot more.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2007

    Awesome Beginner sewing guide

    This book rocks! It came with 3 patterns that I followed and made a skirt that fits great and pillows for my mom and a tote bag big enough for my junk I'm always carrying around. I loved this book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Great if you need to perfect your sewing skills

    I haven't sewn in a while and found this book through a friends blog. It is perfect on learning all of the things you thought you knew but didn't. It has good information on fabric and excellent cutting techniques. I have used these rules for a couple of sewing projects which came out really nicely. I now see this author has a new book out. It is on my list of things to order.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Perfect Beginner Sewing Book

    This book is definitely the best sewing book out there for beginners. The instructions are easy to follow and the illusrtations are clear. The projects are simple and not demanding. They got me comfortable with my machine and I developed my sewing style. I've tried making some stuff from comercial patterns and it was really difficult. This book was a great starting place for me. I've bought other sewing books that were hard to understand being a novice to sewing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    WOW! Sewing is so easy with this book.

    This books makes sewing seem simple. It takes you from threading a sewing machine to using the 3 patterns in the book. I made the cutest tote bag out of this apple print and then did a matching skirt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Just what the beginner needs

    this book is so easy to use and includes the sewing patterns to follow along with the instruction. They should model other craft books after this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    A must for the beginner!!!

    This book is a must for someone who is just beginning to sew. It includes step-by-step instructions and pictures as well as a variety of tips. It also includes three patterns and descriptions on three projects to complete with the book! I've had the honor to meet the author and take a class at her school in NYC, and this book includes the same great tips from her class!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sew Fast Sew Easy. A Very good book>

    Even in my Busy life where I want to do everything and but I can only do one thing at time. I wanted to learn how to sew and here is this book that helps you Sew Fast and Sew Easy. Its a timeless book especially for Pencil Skirt and my favorite the Square bag. The instructions are easy to read and understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST Sewing Book for Beginners

    I bought this book, Rip It and Sew On at the same time as a package. I got Sew On for myself to do more projects with my serger and the Sew Fast Sew Easy book for my teen neice. It is simple enough for her to follow. She asked me very little questions while she did the skirt. She was able to follow the directions as a first time sewer. I found it to be a very good investment because it keeps my niece very busy. She is now working on the pillow (she's doing 4 of them) to decorate her mom's couch. Hey...maybe all this creativeness may inspire her to become a designer...I know she's having fun and her enthusiasm is seeping towards her girlfriends. I'm glad I got these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Mpanpb

    My boio at res 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Tierah's bio

    Name: Tierah Averit. Age: 15 years two months (7 solar sweeps). Gender: Female. Species: Alternian troll (gray skin, always black hair, orange horns, raised by giant white animals, high capacity for violence and interplanetary conquest, otherwise identical to humans), bloodcaste directly in between teal and cobalt (best described as cerulean), making her just higher than middle class. Looks: Her hair is unnaturally straight, going to a point directly in between her shoulders and jawline. She is approximately 5'6". She usually wears black jeans, a black long sleeved T-shirt with her symbol (a J and a backwards J conmected by three lines) emblazoned on it in cerulean, a cerulean vest, and a long silver rope that serves as a decorative belt and incredibly effective weapon. Should she choose to show them, she has large cerulean mothlike wings. History: Raised on Alternia with only her griffin mother for company, Tierah had to learn to survive quickly, which often meant killing other trolls. To ease her conscience, and indulge her growing obsession with law, Tierah often charged them with crimes and held mock trials for them before killing them. Over time, as trolls learned to stay away from her, she found she couldn't stop the habit, which meant she began stalking trolls to see if they committed crimes, then dragged them back to her home to hold trial. If they were found guilty, the punishment was death. This, sadly, made the thirty miles around her home one of the safest places in Alternia. One day, a troll guilty of theft attempted to bribe her with a copy of the game SGRUB- a game which was the only means of surviving the imminent apocalypse. She confirmed this fact through the thief's IM logs, then accepted the bribe. Playing with the thief and his 14 friends, she gained from the game the title Witch of Doom, and eventually ascended to mastery of it and its accompanying power. Unfortunately, somewhere along the line a mistake was made, one that prevented any of them from ever having been born, and as such, they became marked for death by reality itself. With her newfound power, Tierah was the only one (to her knowledge) to escape the ensuing carnage. Then, she ended up here. Powers: Can bring others closer to death, through aging or health reduction. She cannot bring anyone farther away from it, though, with the sole exception of herself (she can remove someone's death entirely, but rarely if ever does this, because it's irreversible). She instantly has full knowledge of any judicial or legal system she comes across. She is near immortal. She can also fly with those wings, too. Personality: Seemingly cold and emotionless, and extremely pessimistic. She has a weakness for incredibly cute things, though. If you talk about her griffinmom, especially about her griffinmom's death during the game, you are more likely than not to be strangled with her rope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Phantom

    Name: Phantom

    Age: 19

    Gender: Male

    Rank: Rogue Assassin

    Appearance: Phantom is 6 feet tall, and has uneven black-as-night hair that stands up in large spikes and tufts, intimidating and intense blood red eyes, dark copper skin, and a lean, muscular yet agile build. A large, gruesome scar winds from across part of his neck, down his shoulder, and across his chest

    Usually Wears: A black and dark red assassin's uniform with a hood that can hide his face, black leather boots, black leather gloves with no openings, and a belt from which several daggers hang. Two swords are strapped over his back with their scabbards on, two pistols strapped over his chest, and his assassin's uniform's many pockets allow him to hide small knives and vials of poison

    Personality: Distant, serious, intimidating, dark, mysterious when it come sto his past, keeps to himself, quiet, thinks things through, cunning, sly, dangerous, but he can be friendly if you get to know him better than most people do

    Crush: Nope

    Status: Single. Not exactly looking

    Family: ...What makes you think he'll tell YOU?

    History: Those who ask light-heartedly are more likely have a dagger thrown through their eye socket than other people

    Theme Song: Just Like You by Three Days Grace

    Other: I'll leave the rest for all of you to wonder about...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Kristine

    Name: Kristine Age: Not telling yall Species: Shadow Runner Desc: A youngish looking female With brown hair and ice blue eyes. She wears jeans and a blue hoodie. Powers: Powers over ice and snow. Also can absord temp. Both warm and cold. Since shes shadow runner she can turn into her shadow and can kick butt by harming your shadow rather than the person. Backround: Came from gem City after being exiled.



    OTHER PLEASE ASK I DONT MIND

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    E

    E

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Tobias, Skya, and Jellal's Bios

    Name: Tobias Pierson <p>
    Age: 22 <p>
    Gender: Male <p>
    Species: Lakertyan, from the planet of Lakertya. <p>
    Species Description: A race born far before the humans, their growth rate is smaller than that of the humans, and they live far longer, sometims up to 500. Tobias, though 22, would look to be around 17. There are two tribes on the planet, called the Fraeyans and the Uriases. The Fraeyans worship the moon, d are an intelligent, peacful people. The Uriases worship their sun, Wryan, and are an warlike, feirce people. <p>
    Powers: As he is of Fraeyan descendant, Tobias has the powers of telepathy, telekinesis, and hypothermesia. For those who dont know, this is the ability to speak through minds, the ability to move objects with your mind, and the ability to remember everything you see, hear, taste, smell, or touch. The defect to these abilities is that the use of any of them save hypothermesia, which he has no control over, causes him to have major bordering on fatal headaches if used too much. <p>
    Hair Color: Brown. As a Lakertyan, his hair has a special quality to it that makes it turn a pure gold color when touched by the light of any star. <p>
    Eye Color: Pure silver, marking him a member of the Fraeyan tribe. <p>
    Height: 6'3 <p>
    Weight: 168. His original planet is bigger than that of the current one, so his weight is less than normal.<p>
    Muscle Tone: He is muscled, but not extremely so. <p>
    Prefered Clothing: A simple t-shirt and jeans, with whatever shoes he can find. <p>
    Crush: None <p>
    Spouse/Significant Other: He had one, but he prefers not to speak of what happened to her. <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    Name: Skya <p>
    Age: 16 <p>
    Gender: Female <p>
    Species: She prefers to call herself an Avian-Human. <p>
    Powers: None <p>
    Wings: Feathered like a bird's, a bronzish red color. <p>
    Hair Color: Bronzish red, curly. <p>
    Eye Color: Bright ocean blue. <p>
    Prefered Clothing: jeans, a tank top, and a brown cover-up. <p>
    Height: 5'2 <p>
    Weight: 78 <p>
    Crush: None <p>
    Signifigant Other: None <p>
    <p>
    <p>
    Name: Jellal <p>
    Age: Unknown <p>
    Gender: Male <p>
    Species: Madoshka (Wizard) <p>
    Powers: He uses heavenly magic, a very rare and dangerous sort of magic, but he only uses it when threatened. <p>
    Hair Color: Blue <p>
    Eye Color: Reddish orange. <p>
    Height/Weight: Unknown. <p>
    Crush: None <p>
    Significant Other: None <p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Sabariam

    Im gona be breif and get to the point
    Age: 17
    Sex: Female
    Apperance: Deep green eyes and long brown hair, a mix of asain and american features. Roundish nose with a american face. Wears blue jeans and a blue shirt. Wears also a sweat shirt with the words in rainbow printed on it : Hecate
    Heritage: hecate
    Strengths: excels in magic and long bows, mediocore with most weapons, preferes assasin technics, exellent with posions and acids
    Personality: very shy, bad with words, graceful, doesnt like social gatherings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Blue

    Name: :) Age: 14 Appearance: neon blue hair and eyes, caramel colored skin, 5"8, wears a suit that looks kinda like deadpool's suit but its blue. ( search up deadpool if u don't know him ). Personality: kind,adventurous,brave,and curious History: ill post in another res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Ice and ruby

    Celestial Ice but call her Ice......... female.......around 2005 years old.but looks 19........powers involve ice snow and frost she can also shapeshift......long ice white hair she is 6 foot 2...she is slim but muscular...her skin is pale her eyes are cobalt blue.........nice friendly and what not...no crush...... she is single but doesnt care ...........
    <p>
    Ruby Constantine.......female.........around 3059 years old. But looks 18...........powers involve fire and shifting she can teleport and read minds.............waist long wavy red hair her eyes are violet with black flecks she is agile and wise.. she is 5 foot 7.......she is shy but once you know her she isnt ..........no crush .....she is single but to shy to talk to any one.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Rusty's Bio. -Remade.-

    Name: Rusty
    <br>
    Age: Not for sure.
    <br>
    Gender: Female.
    <br>
    She is a Cyborg/Human. Generally not accepted by people. She is quiet and keeps to herself most of the time. She has bright green eyes that are made up of a bunch of tiny lights if one looked closely. Her skin is pale with a slight metallic shine. She has short brown hair, Like Pixie cut short. She is roughly 5'4". She doesn't mind not having friends, but she also wouldn't mind having one. Her voice sounds like a girl's voice mixed with a robot. She has AI for part of her brain the other part is human. Contrary to popular belief of Cyborg/Robot people lacking feelings, she has feelings though most of the time she doesn't show them.
    <br>
    Anything else you want to know just ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Cassi bio

    Name: cassi shiva. Age: old. Really frickin old. Gender: seriously? Description: wears all black with a black cloak that shadows her face. None of her skin is ever seen. Powers: energy. Plus i dabble in the mind arts. History: long and complicated. Dont ask. Position: moderator and probbly one of the oldest sewoa members ever. Weapons: all. Other: i an awesome and deadly. Dont cross me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Vivi's Bio

    Name: Vivi.<p>Age: about 16.<p>Gender: &male <p>Looks: Very small, really only 3 foot 10. Wears a yellow wizards cap with a zipper in front, opened so that it looks as if it has a mouth. Also wears an excessivley large blue coat, filled with pockets. Wears brown shorts. Is as black a night, with two round yellow eyes.<p>Species: A Heartless with heightened sentienty.<p>Powers/Skills: Excellent with a club or shortsword, moving with grace and ease. Can communicate with othef Heartless.<p>History: Was part of the original Sewoa rp. Was a little boy when the Iron Leigon ruined all he ever knew. Took refuge in the Druid's Library for years, waiting for someone to return to rebuild Sewoa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2