Customer Reviews for

Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto

Average Rating 4
( 227 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sex, Drugs, Coco Puffs and Almost everything Else

Have you ever eaten Coco Puffs? I bet you didn't realize the sugary cereal you were ingesting was original conceived by the ideal to help prevent ailments or that there commercial maybe unintentionally teaching you how to be cool. If you did realize it is likely you are...
Have you ever eaten Coco Puffs? I bet you didn't realize the sugary cereal you were ingesting was original conceived by the ideal to help prevent ailments or that there commercial maybe unintentionally teaching you how to be cool. If you did realize it is likely you are either: A. Chuck Klosterman B. Simultaneously a sociologist focusing on media and a breakfast historian or C. person that has already read the book Sex, Drugs and Coco Puffs.

Chuck Klosterman Is a writer for Spin and Esquire magazine. He is most prominently known for his work about classic rock bands but also has an almost infinite amount of cultural knowledge that makes SD&CP a very enjoyable collection of essays. Because of the fact that it is essays and not s story SD&CP should be a very easy book to pick up and put down, but I actually found it was not. His insights make him seem genius and the different perspectives he offers are as addictive as Cinnamon Toast Crutch.

Despite my plethora of cereal related references SD&CP is about far more then breakfast with themes that cover everything including The Real World, The Sims, Say Anything, and Vanilla Sky and few others that it is unlikely you could think of in your wildest dreams.

Usually The stories lack focus on the thing itself and look at a broader theme represented by the item, and while these are all only Mr. Klosterman's opinions even if you disagree they are very entertaining. The most common criticism of his work is his writing style that at sometimes seems intentionally overly wordy. I had no problem with it at, but I could defiantly see the potential for it to become annoying.

On the whole I found the book to be a very entertain and thought provoking, but would not recommended it to someone who wants a story but rather for someone who is interested in both reading random facts and learning to think differently.

posted by NerdFighter_92 on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Meh.

I thought this book would make me think differently about things and maybe laugh at pop culture, but it is just the ramblings of a man who was bullied in school. A former outcast made famous by being an annoying a**hole. I couldn't make myself finish it.

Only read this...
I thought this book would make me think differently about things and maybe laugh at pop culture, but it is just the ramblings of a man who was bullied in school. A former outcast made famous by being an annoying a**hole. I couldn't make myself finish it.

Only read this if you have nothing better to do.

posted by 12504765 on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Meh.

    I thought this book would make me think differently about things and maybe laugh at pop culture, but it is just the ramblings of a man who was bullied in school. A former outcast made famous by being an annoying a**hole. I couldn't make myself finish it.

    Only read this if you have nothing better to do.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sex, Drugs, Coco Puffs and Almost everything Else

    Have you ever eaten Coco Puffs? I bet you didn't realize the sugary cereal you were ingesting was original conceived by the ideal to help prevent ailments or that there commercial maybe unintentionally teaching you how to be cool. If you did realize it is likely you are either: A. Chuck Klosterman B. Simultaneously a sociologist focusing on media and a breakfast historian or C. person that has already read the book Sex, Drugs and Coco Puffs.

    Chuck Klosterman Is a writer for Spin and Esquire magazine. He is most prominently known for his work about classic rock bands but also has an almost infinite amount of cultural knowledge that makes SD&CP a very enjoyable collection of essays. Because of the fact that it is essays and not s story SD&CP should be a very easy book to pick up and put down, but I actually found it was not. His insights make him seem genius and the different perspectives he offers are as addictive as Cinnamon Toast Crutch.

    Despite my plethora of cereal related references SD&CP is about far more then breakfast with themes that cover everything including The Real World, The Sims, Say Anything, and Vanilla Sky and few others that it is unlikely you could think of in your wildest dreams.

    Usually The stories lack focus on the thing itself and look at a broader theme represented by the item, and while these are all only Mr. Klosterman's opinions even if you disagree they are very entertaining. The most common criticism of his work is his writing style that at sometimes seems intentionally overly wordy. I had no problem with it at, but I could defiantly see the potential for it to become annoying.

    On the whole I found the book to be a very entertain and thought provoking, but would not recommended it to someone who wants a story but rather for someone who is interested in both reading random facts and learning to think differently.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Bored

    I just read the chapter all about that horrible show, the real world. Agonizing. I was hoping it would get better, but i was wrong. This guy just rambles on about crap. I will finish this book, but only because i paid for it. I would not recommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Terrible

    Felt like a homework assignment to read this book. Non-stop pointless dribble. Some funny comments, but not enough to compensate for the rest. Waste of time and money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Klosterman ROCKS!

    So far this has been my favorite of all Klosterman's books. His views on life are comically wonderful. The only time I'm remotely bored by his stories are the in depth sports analysis. The short fillers between stories are hysterical. I'm giving this as a gift this Christmas to introduce his writing to a friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny and Enlightening

    This book is a collection of short essays in which Klosterman amalyzes how sports, tv, music, and food influence the way we think and act . At the same time, he incorporates humor and makes you think.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    not worth time

    I had to stop reading this about 1/3 of the way through. The author comes across as very self-centered and obnoxious. A friend of mine recommended it because it was "hysterical and made you think". It made me think "how long until this is over". I had to call it quits and give up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Excellent!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 15, 2011

    STUPID IDIOTIC AND BORING

    Really just a collection of rambling thoughts. If you like to read an entire chapter of the Real World being disected...well spend your money. I DO recommend it if you cant sleep..This should have you snoring in 10 minutes

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought provoking

    I like Chuck Klosterman's writing. He takes pop culture and writes about it in such a way that it really makes you think and starts conversations with others. Often, I end up reading passages from the book to my family members and we have a discussion about the topics. I recommend this book for anyone that has an interest in pop culture and music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrific writing, awesome pop-culture observations

    There are two reasons to read this book and two reasons to not read this book. Firstly, the style of writing. The writing is wonderful. I enjoy the style. You really get the feeling that a highly intelligent Gen X journalist is sitting there in your living room in his jeans ant T-shirt and telling you his observations. If that style drives you crazy (in a bad way), you will know it from the sample and can save your money. If that styles drives you crazy (in a good way), you will know it from the sample and safely give B&N your money. Secondly, the wise observations of our modern world. His observations of the absurdity and ridiculousness of current culture is astute. Yes, he over-analyzes, but he does so in an entertaining way. If you think modern mainstream media and culture is awesome, then avoid this like a zombie plague. If you think modern mainstream media and culture are absurd, then this will be a very entertaining and enlightening read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good Read

    Sex, Drugs, and Coco Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto written by one of the more astute minds in pop culture Chuck Klosterman, now I won't bore you with my favorite quotes from the book, or a long winded description of who Chuck Klosterman is as a person, an author, or what his career has looked like. Rather I will point out the fact that I tremendously respect and almost envy (if that's an appropriate use of the word) his writing style. Klosterman has an uncanny ability to take seemingly obscure pop culture information, or phenomena and turn them into very thought provoking essays. Whether it was the discussion of how Pam Anderson is not our generation's Marilyn Monroe, Or how Saved by the Bell shaped and help to define popular culture for the generation that grew up watching it in syndication, or even how the MTV hit show The Real World destroyed the social norms of functioning relationships among twenty and thrity-somethings, Klosterman no doubt is far more brilliant in the way he writes about culture and art and tells stories.

    Now, don't get me wrong, this isn't the BEST book ever written, that is obviously reserved for Perks of Being a Wallflower, that is not true, it's a lie. However, it does take a non traditional approach to looking at culture as a functioning system. How the stuff we consume as a culture regurgitates itself into shaping culture. This is akin to the idea of how a girl can read a magazine with an article about a supermodel (consumption) and then all of the sudden think she is fat, and worthless as a result (regurgitation).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    Not that interesting

    This is one of the few books that I've thrown out. I thought it was dull and plodding, and I regretted ever buying it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Queenpaw to the kit

    Puts marigold on the wounds then a juniper berry to eat to stop the pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Winterclans medcat den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book.

    Excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    My feelings towards this book are VERY ambivalent. A high and lo

    My feelings towards this book are VERY ambivalent. A high and low rollercoaster ride is my analogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Funny, talented and oh so relevant to those of us who like to th

    Funny, talented and oh so relevant to those of us who like to think things out from a comical perspective with satire. Chuck does that for us and it's fun to read and you'll think all kinds of thoughts because of his insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Goof for some laughs and so easy to relate to

    I've read this book multiple times and sometimes just reread my favorite parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    pure genius

    probably one of the best book i've read which attempts to explain every aspect of human existence

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12