Customer Reviews for

Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    One of my favorite Christian books

    I can't keep a copy of this, as i want to give it to everyone! (And i'm usually a book hoarder!) I will buy this on my nook just to have this, as it's a great inspiration to pray, read the Bible, and a fun, easy read. It's written with a very unique poetic style (spoke right to my heart). I felt like i knew more of who God was (which is quite a wonderful journey!) as i was reading it, and i couldn't put it down. I say it's a fun read, because to me it's a joy to read about God and humanity, yet i also remember going through quite a few kleenex. I'm having a hard time writing this review as words can't even express the insight and value i got out of this book. It is on my top absolute favorites, along with my Bible, The Shack, and Heaven is for Real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ FOR WOMEN

    This book is absolutely incredible. I learned so much from it about myself and why I have made some of the choices that I have as well as the world around me. This isn't a know all book, but it's a great book to read if you are open to learning more. I love Rob Bell. He is so insightful and I really enjoy his different perspective. It makes me stop and think about things. Truly worth the time to read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Connecting our sexuality with our spirituality

    Rob Bell's unique non-fiction "SexGod" is a beautiful, bold look at the comparisons between sexuality and spirituality. Digging underneath our human nature, he brings to light that we are meant to be sexual beings. Not in the essence that we must constantly be divulging on the act of sex, but that we are sexual beings as a comparison to our intimate relationship with God and how He made us. "You cannot talk about this without talking about that" is his ultimate premise. "This" being sex and "that" being God, therefore "SexGod."

    The style in which Bell writes in is very Eastern, in the essence that it is not linear and does not go in a solid, straight line. Instead the writing goes in circles and comes back on itself, allowing your mind to digest Bell's thoughts. He uses an almost gatekeeper like style, expanding on information that he has collected over the years and distributing it in a first person account. Jumping from meaningful conversations to Biblical reflections, Bell connects with his audience making a strong case on just how disconnected we really are. Disconnected from the earth. Disconnected from each other. Disconnected from God. One of the most sexual cities in the world is Amsterdam, however they are some of the least intimate people. The most sexual yet the least intimate; it almost sounds like an oxymoron. Shouldn't intimacy and sexuality go hand in hand? This is what Bell argues, that our extreme desire for sex is really a desire for a relationship with God. Bell is not saying we should do without sex, but rather, sex is a physical expression of our truest desire: to be completely naked in front of someone and be unashamed; to be unconditionally loved and swallowed whole; to be connected with someone in the deepest way possible.
    Covering all sorts of topics which include, but are not limited to pornography, male/female relationships, why marriages fail, and masturbation, Bell writes in his signature style with short paragraphs, some of them only lasting a sentence. This is a beautiful attempt at breaking down language barriers between the writer and the reader. You will not find yourself trudging through muddy sentences or fanciful florid words. Clean. Simple. Pure. Reflective. Even the cover of the book reflects on the pages inside with its fresh, pristine peach and graham cracker colored stripes. It reminds me of a dessert, soft pink pages inside that crackle with a crispness that is likened to strawberry cheesecake.

    With his extremely gifted communication skills, Bell delivers his knowledge through concepts of spirituality and sexuality unlike anything I've read or heard before. "SexGod" is a culturally rich read that integrates patterns of human knowledge, belief, and behaviour which make the concepts that much more impactful. Transmitting this culture, he takes what the world has told our society about what sex should be and about what spirituality should be and explains to us how it could be if we only realize that the two are connected more wonderfully than we could know. Sex is about bringing the disconnected back to the connected. A connection that shows that we are all image-bearers of God. A connection that shows how you treat the creation reflects on how you feel about the Creator.

    Sex. God. As Bell states, they are connected and cannot be separated. To make sense of one, we must explore the other. And that is what this book is about.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    The meaning of sex

    This is a fresh word on God's design for sex in marriage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Chris

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Aly

    Why baby?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    A must read!

    Perhaps the most influential and detailed explanation of true relationship matters in relation to us and the creator. As Rob Bell so eloquently does through his words, he spells out in great artistic form what love really is and means. Bell's writing style is supreme and informative. You will truly enjoy the knowledge received through this spectacular display in theology as it relates to sex and love and God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    not you avarage dating book

    This book takes the so often ignorred topic of sex and puts it into a complete new perspective. You get to connect yourself with why we have been created and how, if used the way God intended, sex in NOT negative but very powerful. It also explains how sexuality is not just about "sex" it's about our entire lives and our purpose in Gods plan I highly recomend this book to EVERY person. It will open your mind and your spirit. Sex. God. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Solid Read by Bell

    I highly recommend this book. Though it is an easy read, the words are crafted very well and very thought provoking. I walked away from the book with a changed view of marriage, sex, and my relationship with Christ and Him as my Groom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This book should be read by everyone, particularly teens. It puts a whole new perspective on God and his relationship with us and how that relationship is reflected in our lives and our actions. This is one of the top two books I have read this year and I whole heartedly recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2