Customer Reviews for

Sex, Lies, and Handwriting: A Top Expert Reveals the Secrets Hidden in Your Handwriting

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Do yourself a favor and buy this fantastic book!

    Dresbold knows what she's doing, and her analysis of the Ramsey ransom note is not only accurate, but shows her complete mastery of the science of handwriting analysis. No one can copy another person's handwriting and linguistics for three pages. There are variables which only trained analysts can spot. As a handwriting analyst myself, I can testify to Dresbold's expertise. Ms. Dresbold is a credit to the profession.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    You Have to Read this Book

    Not only is this book fun to read, but it's very informative. You should try it - even if you are skeptical you will become a believer. If you doubt that, apply Michelle's analysis to your mother's or spouse's (even your own) handwriting - it works! As for the Jon Benet Ramsey note, Michelle does NOT say that Patsy killed Jon Benet, what she says and shows is that a reasonable analysis of the note's writing points to the fact that Patsy wrote it. It's inconceivable, as another reviewer wrote, that the culprit broke into the house and copied Patsy's writing. In short, this book is recommended reading for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Analyzing mine and everyone else's handwriting

    Definitely a must-read, especially for those who have been curious about the company they keep. I certainly appreciate the sections in which the author tells those who have creepers in their lives to run, as fast and far as they can. I will be recommending this book and others like it to everyone I know and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    I couldn't put it down

    I have read other handwriting books, this author keeps your attention and teaches the material in a fun way. The other handwriting books are hard to comprehend and not easy to decipher unless you are already knowledgeable about the subject. This book takes you from beginner to expert (or near expert)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Investigative speculation, not educational analysis

    I spent an entire Saturday afternoon in Barnes and Noble reading this book of apparent non-fiction. Michelle Dresbold is a handwriting analyst/expert who has been employed by a variety of criminal departments for analyzing and profiling criminal suspects based on their handwriting. It is clear that she has some sort of gift in handwriting analysis, however¿ Sex, Lies, and Handwriting is an attempt by the author to educate the reader about and teach the reader how to analyze handwriting by using writing and signature samples throughout the book. But while she clearly possesses this gift, she fails in teaching the reader, for she uses the easiest examples possible. That is not her major flaw, however. Dresbold also profiles a number of serial killers and other people of infamy based on their handwriting. The problem here is that she is not able to convince the reader that she has accurately profiled them without previous knowledge ¿ it seemed to me that she knew her subject¿s personality and criminal details, then made the handwriting fit the subject. Ted Bundy was a serial killer? Well, if we had only looked at his handwriting, we could have figured that out long before he killed dozens of innocent co-eds. I don¿t think so. And therein lies two problems. First, as said before, she is profiling subjects of whom she already has distinct knowledge. Second, however, is the idea that a certain characteristic in one¿s handwriting can give way to an individual¿s actions, intentions, personality, perceptions of self, and relationships with his or her mother and father. I don¿t think so. Uh oh¿I noticed my girlfriend doesn¿t close her lowercase cursive `o.¿ This means she is untrustworthy and is likely to lie or not keep a secret. I guess I should break up with her before she cheats and lies to me. Well I don¿t buy it, but perhaps I will become a believer in the future if something occurs. Her book would be more convincing if she also spoke of times where she has been completely wrong or if she gave examples of people who did not match the handwriting profile ¿ every marketer knows the value of gaining trust by giving negative examples as well. Despite her failure to convince the reader of profiling people based on handwriting, she fascinates when discussing her beliefs about who really killed JonBenet Ramsey and the true identity of Jack the Ripper. Her handwriting analysis combined with other circumstantial evidence in both cases is quite convincing, but I will leave you to investigate on your own. Ultimately, Michelle Dresbold¿s Sex, Lies, and Handwriting is an unconvincing look at profiling a person based on handwriting but does give a scintillating new look into at least two fascinating unsolved mysteries in the history of modern times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    Michelle lies

    How can she say Patsy Ramsay had anything to do with her daughters death just because the letters were similar in the ransom note.Duh do you think the murderer could have copied those letters?Shame on Michelle dont buy her book it is full of lies.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1