Customer Reviews for

Sex, Lies, and Vampires (Dark Ones Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I enjoyed this book

    I enjoyed this book. It had action, suspense, twists, love, sex and humor. All the ingredients I look for in a book. I also enjoyed how she (MacAlister) used some of the characters from the last book (Sex and the single vampire). What I didn't like was how it ended. Although it had a happy ending, I don't think she tied up lose end as well as she could have. The ending wasn't as powerful as the build up was. But, in a whole, it was a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I read this book in about a day. I just couldnt put it down. I was constanly trying to figure out how all the characters fit together. It was exciting. The ending, however, was not the best. It left a lot to be imagined when she supposedly died... That is about the only flaw I could find w/ this book. It was great. I currently do not have any more of the series. I will be investing in them soon, because, I really enjoyed the first 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    A Response To Hailey, a fan of the Twilight Series

    Hailey can wash that bad taste out of her mouth now. She obviously hasn't read the Twilight Series. Maggie Shayne started the series in 1993 with Twilight Phantasies. Every book in the series since has the word Twilight in the title. Prince of Twilight, #12 of the series, came out in 2006. I have enjoyed and highly recommend them all. Maggie Shayne is a prolific author and got me interested in this genre in the first place, which led me to Katie MacAlister. Searching for Stephanie Meyer, I see that she is a new writer of teen fiction and has 3 books in her Twilight Saga Series, the first of which is titled Twilight. They recieve good reviews, but I have not read them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    A Response To Kimberly

    I've just noticed something that has left quite a bad taste in my mouth. Even though Kimberly posted the comment nearly 3 years ago, I just thought I would let you know, as a fan of the Twilight series that she mentioned in her recommended books section, the series was written by Stephanie Meyer and not by Maggie Shayne as she had stated. Hailey,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Very good!

    No one had to tell Nell Harris magic is dangerous; an accident using her power to Charm cost the life of a friend and inflicted lifelong damage on her own body. Nothing could make her use her gifts again, until Melissande entreated her to save her nephew and brother from a curse, and maybe in the process save the world as an added bonus. Right off the bat, Nell runs into the Betrayer, the vampire, or Dark One as they prefer to be called, Adrian Tomas. He's supposed to be her enemy, she thinks, but as it turns out, he's not half bad. Moreover, she is his Beloved, the woman whose love saves him from a world of darkness. On the other hand, his brother who she thought she was trying to save, is evil, so now they must stop him, in the process of so doing, run head to head with Christian and Allie, heroes of prior books in the series who think Adrian is the bad guy. There's also a bratty teen aged dark one and a pack of mummies following them around to consider, plus, Nell's facing her own fears about using her powers. ............................................. **** If Katie Macalister is not on your autobuy list, you're missing a bet. Her quality remains consistently high, packing a profound message in a light hearted story. Another constant plus in her writing is the positive way she breaks rules - heroines are not perfect ingenues, heroes don't always agree with each other, and kids don't have to be cute and loveable. Treat yourself, read one of her books today. ****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Wonderful

    I've read many romance novels with vampires and this is the first of Katie MacAlister that I've read. I'm a new fan. I'll see to collecting all her books and adding them to my collection. She has a real gift for making you laugh and keeping it sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Love you, Katie!

    Great read with another appealing less than perfect heroine. If you have read the two previous works, it's fun to catch up with old favorite characters Christian and Allegra. I found the story to be more straight forward and better developed than usual, and I really liked the hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2