Customer Reviews for

The Sex-Starved Marriage: A Couple's Guide to Boosting Their Marriage Libido

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great for our marriage!!!

My husband and I have only been married for two and a half years, but it seemed we were already having sexual issues. At first, in our relationship I was very sexual, but after we got married I simply wasn't feeling turned on and started to feel tension rise in our begi...
My husband and I have only been married for two and a half years, but it seemed we were already having sexual issues. At first, in our relationship I was very sexual, but after we got married I simply wasn't feeling turned on and started to feel tension rise in our beginning marriage relationship. We both decided a book was the best starting point to see what we could do to remedy my lack of desire. We got this book on my request and it's been a great tool to help make our marriage stronger and for us to grow closer to each other. The book does have some very "practical" or "duh" solutions but a person is buying this book because you have a problem and need a solution, but then they (referring to bad reviews) don't want to take heed of what the author is conveying. Basically I'm saying that if you come at this book with a closed mind, it won't matter if Einstein wrote the book, you aren't going to get what you need out of the book. With my husband and I, we've come to understand the other side of the sexual desire spectrum as well as have seen that we are not alone in our struggles. This book also helps to explain the causes of low or high sexual desire to each of the spouses which helps with communication with your spouse. We are also able to express our desires, what's working for each of us and what isnt, a lot more effectively after reading this book. I wouldn't go as far as to say every couple needs to read this book, but It honestly doesn't hurt when trying to understand as well as to communicate with your spouse better. I highly recommend this to book to any couple having marrital problems, especially in the bedroom. The sentiments expressed help to bring a couple closer together if one or both are seriously open to improving their relationship. (The author also addresses a single spouse interested in changing the relationship and how to get the other spouse on board.)

posted by cscrapper on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wast of Money & Time!

This book is terrible. It goes so far as to say ' Just have sex and it will be fine'. After 19 years of marriage I know this is not the answer. Says the same thing- over, and over, and over!

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    I thought it a good bok but ...

    I thought this book was worth reading but with a caveat. I bought this book with high hopes. We have spent the past 15 out of the nearly 20 years of marriage with exactly the issue that the author addresses in the title: we are poorly matched sexually: one of us wants lots and lots of sex and foreplay, for the other sex is at the very bottom of a very long list of things to do. The book was an interesting read but, alas, it made little practical difference for us other then, perhaps, realization that this seems to be a more common problem than we both thought and the other person is not a freak. I think that my expectations for this book were unrealistic and this is not the book's fault. Perhaps there is no solution other than either continue to live in misery together or mess up our kids' and our own lives with extramarital affairs or divorce. Wow, what a choice!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Wast of Money & Time!

    This book is terrible. It goes so far as to say ' Just have sex and it will be fine'. After 19 years of marriage I know this is not the answer. Says the same thing- over, and over, and over!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    Great for our marriage!!!

    My husband and I have only been married for two and a half years, but it seemed we were already having sexual issues. At first, in our relationship I was very sexual, but after we got married I simply wasn't feeling turned on and started to feel tension rise in our beginning marriage relationship. We both decided a book was the best starting point to see what we could do to remedy my lack of desire. We got this book on my request and it's been a great tool to help make our marriage stronger and for us to grow closer to each other. The book does have some very "practical" or "duh" solutions but a person is buying this book because you have a problem and need a solution, but then they (referring to bad reviews) don't want to take heed of what the author is conveying. Basically I'm saying that if you come at this book with a closed mind, it won't matter if Einstein wrote the book, you aren't going to get what you need out of the book. With my husband and I, we've come to understand the other side of the sexual desire spectrum as well as have seen that we are not alone in our struggles. This book also helps to explain the causes of low or high sexual desire to each of the spouses which helps with communication with your spouse. We are also able to express our desires, what's working for each of us and what isnt, a lot more effectively after reading this book. I wouldn't go as far as to say every couple needs to read this book, but It honestly doesn't hurt when trying to understand as well as to communicate with your spouse better. I highly recommend this to book to any couple having marrital problems, especially in the bedroom. The sentiments expressed help to bring a couple closer together if one or both are seriously open to improving their relationship. (The author also addresses a single spouse interested in changing the relationship and how to get the other spouse on board.)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    Definitely worth a read!

    I think this book is perfect for couples who are having troubles in the bedroom. After 8 years of marriage and 3 kids, our love life had definitely lost that spark. It gave me the confidence to talk with my wife in an open and honest way about the problems we were having. She read the book as well and it has definitely helped improve our communication and our sex life!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Wake-up call! Life saver! Is it really that common?

    This book not only saved my marriage, but my life. It was as though the author had been living in our home from the beginning. I was amazed at the insight into our marriage. I thought that we were the only ones with these problems. I never believed how my husband felt, although he sure told me enough. She repeated, nearly word for word, the things that he'd been telling me all of these years. Not only that, she was quoting me, too. It completely changed my viewpoint on many issues. As she states, it takes only one person to change a relationship, and it's true. You have to read it and try in order to understand. I wish I would have read it much earlier, as it would have saved a lot of pain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    GottaGetThisBook

    Where was this book ten years ago? My wife and I have been fighting about sex for over ten years. When we first got married, sex was great with each passing year, she wanted less and less. Our fights have gotten uglier because I've been so frustrated. I've suggested that she go to her doctor but her only response is that 'its my problem.' That's how our fights always end. When I saw this book- great title, by the way- I bought it and read it in two days. The author describes what I've been feeling to a tee. I couldn't believe it. I asked my wife if she would read it too and she shocked me and said yes. I'm not sure what happened to her, but I can tell by her actions that the book is making an impression. She's been more affectionate and she even agreed to talk to a counselor. We're not out of the woods yet, but for the first time in a very, very long time, I have hope that things can get better and that I don't have to spend the rest of my life celibate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Quick read with great tips

    This book provided me with a better understanding of who I was and who my partner was. I recommend this book to married couples and to people in relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    Improve your Marriage

    This is an excellent book that could help improve most relationships and marriages. Easy to read and to the point.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Incredibly insightful advice and solutions

    You will think the author truly has been hiding out in your home! Her observations are dead-on and her advice and solutions are extremely helpful. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Great book that can really help

    I was very frustrated and hopeless about my marriage but after reading this book I started looking at it differently, started changing myself and now I am very optimistic that it will be fine. Greatest self-help book I ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Excellent

    This author writes in a very clear manner that helps clearly explain what some of the problems are (and how to fix them) when the two of you dont seem to have the same sex drive. I'd also recommend The Romantic's Guide for its creative tips and ideas on building passion through romance. I found many of the ideas really useful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    Easy read and very helpfuj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Helps so much

    As the lower libido partner, it was refreshing to read. I have tried some of the tips and encouraging my higher libido husband to read it too. I think this will help us a great deal in the long run!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2