Customer Reviews for

Sex and the City

Average Rating 3
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Why are you doing this too me?

Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on t...
Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on them selfs.


People use their anger on somebody else. Would you have fun doing sex while getting hurt. A friend told me once that if you have anger issues, sex is not made for you because you are just going to hurt somebody or even hurt yourself. I am not saying you can't ever have sex again just don't hurt any body while doing sex.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pop Culture Phenomenon

I secretely enjoy watching SATC late at night on TBS and thought it would be fun to read the book that started it all. I was worried when I read all these bad reviews but also liked that I was forewarned that this was not a typical novel. It is filled with snippets fr...
I secretely enjoy watching SATC late at night on TBS and thought it would be fun to read the book that started it all. I was worried when I read all these bad reviews but also liked that I was forewarned that this was not a typical novel. It is filled with snippets from Bushnell's column. Therefore, I enjoyed the book more than most people. I am appalled at the New York lifestyle and hope this is not really the way people live. Bushnell does a great job though at showing the pain behind the facade of these single women--life isn't really that glamorous for these people. They are all pretty unhappy searchers. Either way, this book and show is a pop culture phenomenon and therefore it has merit...something rang true in it for a lot of people. I have a bone to pick with a few reviewers: this book is very much in the SATC show. In fact, the first episode literally quotes this book for about half the show. Also, characters are the same and the themes from this book pop up everywhere in each episode. The show was based on the book and I can see that VERY clearly...it doesn't have to be a typical 'story' novel for this to happen...think outside the box people.

posted by Anonymous on February 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Sex and the City

    Believe it or not, this is Candace Bushnell's worst book. I read all of her novels in reverse order, starting with "One Fifth Avenue" and ending with "Sex and the City". One Fifth is clearly her best book. I think that it captures the essence of modern times and modern life for women in a creative style which reads well and flows beautifully. It is noteworthy as bordering on a great piece of literature for the 21st century.

    With Sex and the city, the flow simply wasn't there. But it is a worthwhile novel in that she dared to right about the sexual escapades of the single woman....which can be true...depending on how independent and daring a woman wants to be in her lifestyle. Modern times haven't changed much for women, although, some of us don't seem to care what others think. However, content, is not what I criticize, it's presentation of that content and the development of a connecting thread through the pieces. However, what do I know, it was liked well enough to become a hit TV series.

    Interestingly enough, Sex and the City, was catalogued in the Social Psychology section.

    I like that way I approached reading all of Bushnell's novels. And, I have recommended to friends to read them all in the reverse order. But, I would give Sex and the City 1 or 2 stars compared to the 5 that I would give One Fifth.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    Pop Culture Phenomenon

    I secretely enjoy watching SATC late at night on TBS and thought it would be fun to read the book that started it all. I was worried when I read all these bad reviews but also liked that I was forewarned that this was not a typical novel. It is filled with snippets from Bushnell's column. Therefore, I enjoyed the book more than most people. I am appalled at the New York lifestyle and hope this is not really the way people live. Bushnell does a great job though at showing the pain behind the facade of these single women--life isn't really that glamorous for these people. They are all pretty unhappy searchers. Either way, this book and show is a pop culture phenomenon and therefore it has merit...something rang true in it for a lot of people. I have a bone to pick with a few reviewers: this book is very much in the SATC show. In fact, the first episode literally quotes this book for about half the show. Also, characters are the same and the themes from this book pop up everywhere in each episode. The show was based on the book and I can see that VERY clearly...it doesn't have to be a typical 'story' novel for this to happen...think outside the box people.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Eh...It's OK

    Don't not pick up this book, but don't make a special trip either. Hate to say it but Ms. Bushnell isn't as clever as she thinks she is, nor as she has been marketed to be. Thank goodness, however, that the producers saw past the vapid picture she paints in this work and to the potential that the series held. A few well thought out tweaks and additions to these original characters yielded a great series. If you love the series, you might not like the book. Carrie is a puke, she and Samantha don't really get along and the others are inconsequential. All in all I say again, it's OK.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    So Not What I Expected

    I was completely and utterly dissatisified with this book. The writing style alone was all over the place. Although I am a huge fan of the HBO series, I wonder how this book made it to the best seller list. It had no real direction and seemed to glorify the drug abuse more than anything among everyone in the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am a huge SATC fan and have watched each episode multiple times. I purchased this book likely for nostalgia only. I anticipated an interesting tale which outlined the foundation of the show. I was painfully surprised to read not a story, but rather small paragraphs of information that, at times, made little sense. Yes, there are aspects of this book which will ring true to SATC viewers. However, I believe that for many fans, this book will be very disappointing. Honestly, I am amazed that the book attracted enough attention to even be considered for a television series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Why are you doing this too me?

    Why are you watching the shows and reading the books. That is just nasty. I know God made sex but people are using it different. People are using sex on their anger, and all sorts of stuff. God made sex too have fun while doing sex. But everyone makes it harder on them selfs.


    People use their anger on somebody else. Would you have fun doing sex while getting hurt. A friend told me once that if you have anger issues, sex is not made for you because you are just going to hurt somebody or even hurt yourself. I am not saying you can't ever have sex again just don't hurt any body while doing sex.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sex and the City.

    A wonderful read, it was intelligent, witty. Sometimes suprising. Carrie Bradshaw is deffinatly my conection in the book. And it's a very realistic story. There are things in there I've discussed with people, in conversation and found it in this book. So it is relatible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Horrible

    I thought the book was gonna be one of those great reads since it took so long to come out in paper back and i love love love the show!!! I was to discover that it was the worst thing ever written and i want a refund!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Sex and the City

    I read this book because I absolutly love the show.....but the book is horrible!!!...with all the tittles this book does not keep my attention at all....In fact this is one of the worst books I have read...take my advice and watch the show!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    ITS A SERIES!!!!!!

    All of you who are giving bad reviews would get it if you read the Carrie Diaries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Uw

    U

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Leo

    His nine inch co ck sits on his bed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    If you want it to be the series I would pass.

    I am a huge fan of the show. The book is similar to the first season where she speaks to many people and stops to look at the camera. but it is not a novel. It is too choppy for my taste and I wanted to read about the characters on the show. It did not keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exactly like SATC

    This book is exactly like the first season of SATC. Looking back, it annoys me how Carrie would freeze frame and comment, but that's exactly what the book does with it's small clips of articles. A lot of the titles for the articles are even the same as episodes from the show. The characters are loosely based, and you can usually guess which book character is the respective show lady. And, Carrie actually makes it big in the show from writing this exact kind of book (she did her book reading in CA, reading snippets about Big.)

    I got half way through before I lost interest, but the book is true to form. Don't let other reviews get in the way. It's not a book about the show and if you expect that, then you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Question

    Is that Candace Bushnell on the cover?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Horrible book. The characters are underdeveloped and therefore u

    Horrible book. The characters are underdeveloped and therefore unlikeable. The whole thing is hard to follow and lacks flow. It could have been really great, but it just fell painfully short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Mind numbingly boring

    I was looking forward to reading this based on the recommendations of numerous friends. I made it through 5 chapters before I could read no more. It is without a doubt the worst book I have ever tried to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    IF You Are a Fan of the TV Series (And I'm Assuming You Are)

    As a young writer and lover of the grand city called New York, I am completely appalled by the people who clearly didn't take Sex and the City as what it was--the TV series, based on this book of essays, is a classic, I'll admit. I used to watch it with my Mother every night after I turned fifteen. We would watch the reruns on HBO OnDemand and I became absolutely infatuated with the concept of Carrie trying to find love in all the wrong places. When I picked up this book, I had realized that it wasn't a novel from the very beginning, and I once I dove into the pages I saw that the show had been loosely based on the life of Candance, who in my opinion is a magnificent writer. Her columns put into this print are honest, insightful, and undoubtedly witty. This book is stunningly brilliant.
    All of the bad reviews are by people who didn't seem to realize that SATC was NOT based on a novel. The story came from the REAL-LIFE columns of Bushnell. If you are looking for the novelization of the story of Carrie, you need to read The Carrie Diaries and Summer in the City (which I also loved like crazy), because you won't find that here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Horrible

    How did this become a show? How did this become a BEST SELLER?! The sample I read prior to buying the book was too short. If it had been longer & had seen the layout of the stories, I NEVER would have purchased this book. I feel duped because I was expecting it to be like the show. I'd gladly accept my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Lame

    I hated it and i mean i hated it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8